Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glen Oak Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 500 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Covina

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $321,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 14, 2008

I had reasonable hopes for this school based upon the districts' reputation but have been disappointed. The resolution process leads towards teacher favoratism from the principal and the scores have been considerably lower than the other schools in the area. Some of the teachers seem harsh and impatient with the students in the classroom. As a working parent outside of the home, I wanted to contribute to the school but attempts to participate in the PTA went ignored although they readily accepted payment for the PTA fees. However, the office staff are pleasant and the staff seem to care about the safety of the children which is definately a positive aspect of the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2008

My family has been at Glen Oak for the past two years and love it. The principals goals are right on target and my family is happy to be along for the ride. The principal has offered cross-aged tutoring this year and the 6th graders have loved the opportunity to work with younger students during tutor time. At the same time the younger students are benefitting from the 6th grade examples that have been wonderful. We have a buddy reading program where the older classes buddy with a younger class and have reading time, again an opportunity for a great experience for both age groups. I take full advantage of the opportunity to volunteer both in my childrens class as well as helping out with anything the office needs. Our office manager is wonderful and is always helpful. My children love school and look forward to going to school everyday.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2007

I feel that this school would better benefit from a more proactive educational individual who is not as stoic in their thinking but actually encourages a more exciting way of learning & can actually pass it on to the students. Be more creative as this school once had. If this happens, maybe the overall scores will improve.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2007

The principal at Glen Oak is never there when needed. The office manager is very rude and treats parents and students as an interruption. She acts as she is better than everyone else. The school is in need of a new principal and office manager!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2007

I have a kindergartener that will be a 'grader' next year. As a member of the school site council, I have first hand knowledge of the lack of parent participation. The new teaching method has been instituted this year. It will integrate throughout the entire district. This will add much needed consistency throughout all grades, into high school. Overall, I think Glen Oak is a good school. Not the best, but certainly not the worst.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2006

This school has had three different principals in the past three years! teacher's just learned what graphic organizers are and how to use them in the classroom! hello, what is going on? According to no child left behind there should be research based professional development.They send projects home so parents can do them for their children and if a student does their own work they are graded down. Parents open your eyes and look closer at the teaching methods and ask about professional development and state standards. If your child can not write they are going to struggle throughout their education. My child and many others are not receiving the proper teaching techniques and strategies that the teachers should be using for struggling students to succeed. I work hard with my child at home,i expect the teachers to work twice as hard, that is why they are getting paid.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2006

My two older daughters went to this elementary school and now my youngest goes there. I guess it's an okay school. I think that they more emphasis on working with children who may be struggling with behavioral problems. Instead of just getting them out of the classroom, I believe that they need to work with them a little more.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

This is our second year at Glen Oak, and so far the experience here has been great. My daughters have had 2 years of wonderful teachers. Thus far it has been a good transition
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

I have to say I am dissapointed in this school. My children have gone to this school and I don't feel that their needs were addressed. The blame was put entirely on my children and it was not all their fault. My daughter is now in Jr High and the difference in her grades is amazing, I can't understand how she would do so bad the last 2 years (almost failing) to getting good grades (nothing below a B). I do still have one child at this school and am contiplating transfering next year to another district. I don't feel that my child will get then help needed, my daughter sure did not. When I first started sending my children to this school it was good, now I am not so sure any more. Its something to think about.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2005

I am very dissapointed with the teachers at this school. With the exception of a few good teachers, most of them are rude and yell at the students and don't belong teaching at this level. My daughter who went there almost failed the last 2 years she was there, and struggled to keep up because the teachers were no help. When she graduated I had her transfered out of the district so she would not go to Royal Oak Middle school because I felt she would fall further behind. I could not be happier and can't wait to be done with this school district completely. If I had known then what I know now neither of my children would have attended this school and would be doing better right now. On a scale of 1-10 I give this school a 0. In my opinion this is NOT a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2004

My daughter is thriving at this school! She went from being an average student (struggling a bit) to being on the honnor roll the entire school year! Thank you Glen Oak 5th. Grade Teachers for making such a differance in a childs selfesteem and general out look on there education!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2004

Glen Oak is a good school. I recently moved to this area and have been quite satisfied with the education that my child has received thus far. However, I am not happy with the issues that the district is currently facing. It is time for the district to settle with the teachers and put their contact negotiations behind us. My daughter has attended Glen Oak for two years now & I would hate to see the quality of the education provided go down the tubes. I am also concerned about the 30 to 1 ratio. It is hard enough to teach 20 kids at one time. It is my hope that all of this can be resolved so that Glen Oak can continue to provide World Class Education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2004

I dont think it is right that they are firing alot of staff members. Not all charter oak unified is doing this. Why dont they lay of board members, raising class size will lower test scores
—Submitted by a former student


Posted October 7, 2003

I had excellent report from my first son in this school I requested same teacher for my twins. All my kids are looking forward to go to school every morning. This is the sign for me, reading , spelling , math trips to library and homework heep us on our toes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2003

Glen Oak is a great school with a friendly family atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

832

Change from
2012 to 2013

+6

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

832

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+6

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females78%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)84%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students68%
Females62%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females55%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students73%
Females68%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females84%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state82%

Math

All Students78%
Females88%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Females70%
Males36%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)45%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students61%
Females70%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students51%
Females63%
Males36%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)36%
Parent education - college graduate59%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Females55%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students58%
Females55%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 65%
White 19%
Asian 5%
Black 4%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 66%N/AN/A
English language learners 8%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Title 1 Academic Achievement Award (2006)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: Ballet
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 a.m.
School end time
  • 2:20 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Margaret GrosJean
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (626) 331-5312

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: Ballet
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Our academic performance index score (API) increased 25 points this year. Our API is currently 802. In the past four years, Glen Oak has implemented several new programs to improve student achievement and the school's culture. These are: Thinking Maps, Write From the Beginning, Enterprise Accelerated Reader, Accelerated Math, Standards Plus, Excellent Eagles, Character Counts, newly adopted art, music, p.e., social studies, science, and math core curriculum programs. We installed a brand new computer lab in the summer of 2007. This year every classroom received a document camera and LCD projector. These are used to project resources from the internet as well as for teachers to model during their direct instruction lessons. Our school is focused on improving the academic achievement of all students as well as helping each student to grow socially and emotionally. We work with students and their families as a collaborative team. At Glen Oak, we teach students, not subjects. Our students are excellent eagles who soar to excellence!
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school
Middle school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Royal Oak Intermediate School
Lone Hill Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 North Sunflower Ave
Covina, CA 91724
Website: Click here
Phone: (626) 331-5341

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Canyon View School
San Dimas, CA




Quest Academy
Covina, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT