Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Glen Oak Elementary School

Public | K-6 | 500 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Covina

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $321,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

35 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

This school is fantastic. My child is in the special education program and he has improved with his learning skills more then I ever anticipated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 18, 2014

What happened here?? I attended this school and so did my brother and back then, it as AMAZING. The school was great, the teachers were great, the students and parents were great. Now that my own child attends here, I am absolutely horrified. We are wrapping up this school year and will NOT be returning next year. The office staff, as many others have noted, is AWFUL. The overall vibe of the school has really gone downhill and Covina as a city is not what it used to be. Very trashy and dirty. Thus, the environment here is not what you'd expect to find in a Covina/San Dimas area school. Very disappointed. Relocation is on the list this summer, for both school and home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2013

My boys started at Glen Oak in the fall of 2012 when we moved to Covina from Rosemead. They have absolutely thrived in this school. Their teachers have been amazing. The school engages the parents and my boys even joined after school clubs that they were never interested in before (such as the Chess Club). We are so happy with Glen Oak.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 29, 2013

The teachers are the best thing about this school. We have been here two years with two children and haven't gotten a bad teacher yet. There are many other things we would like to see changed but generally, we are pleased with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2013

I am so sad with how bad my child was treated due to his social economic class, by his 5th grade teach and the office staff. It was absolutly heartbreaking. Now he is doing wonderful at another school. I wish I didn't have to take him away from his friends this year and drive so far away from home to get away from the lack of social or cultural understanding. There was alot of gossiping by faculty here. This does not account for all. One class my child attended was great, but it did not challenge my child. Unfortunatly I have to give a bad review for how traumatized my child was, but the mistreatment of some.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2012

Dear Parent, Thank you for reading my posting and for your honest and candid reply. I agree with you in that the 70's were so very long ago, and I have to admit that when I joined the Army in 1980 to get out of school overload. Coming back in 1983 things had changed a lot. I left Covina in 1978 to live with my father, and he was much disciplined and I was expected to be the same I was going to high school and junior college at the same time, I just wanted a break so I enlisted for three years. Coming back home when I retired from the Army in 1994 I moved to Glendora things were ever more out of kilter than I could even begin to wrap my head around, there is something to be said about culture shock.


Posted February 20, 2012

I love this school I went to this school when I was younger and now my daughter does. She is in first grade w/ Mrs Cannings very caring teacher, very involved w/ the kids. Her kindergarden teacher Mrs DeAnda is a wonderful teacher too. I think the testing scores could be higher if some parents got more involved at home with academic projects (if time permits) with their kids. The teachers do all they can to help all 25 kids in each class. In my child's class there is always a parent there helping out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 9, 2011

The new secretary is literally driving me nuts. She is so rude. So far, almost halfway into the school year, this has been one of the most stressful experiances.So far my son has been put in the wrong classroom, paperwork has been lost, he had to miss several weeks of school, etc. I can't even speak to the principal without getting through the secretary, that always has something sassy to say. I believe this school would appear to be a better school, if I didn't have so much stress. I just want my son out due to the stress involving the secretary, because it is just too overwelming. There needs to be an area to review the staff. Funding is a definite issue at the school, but it is not the schools fault. The PTA also plays a big part in working hard to raise the needed money. But none of that she cause the secretary to be so disrespectful to the parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2011

Benjamin you have my misspellings and the parents today interact very much with their children and the school. 1975 was a long time ago. Many of the parents were not even born around that time. Cities, communities, and schools change in all that time. I strongly feel that most of the problems are not the children, the school, or the parents. I believe that it really all comes down to over crowded classes, less material, less resources, less employee's and serious lack of state funding.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2011

I still love this school. My 2 kids, aged 10 and 7 are having a great time here and have learned so much. The community is strong and the school has many community building events through-out the year. My favorite is the spaghetti dinner / Brain bowl. Students complete against each other in a Family Feud style game...great fun. The school was labeled low performing by the state board of education, but if one looks at the circumstances surrounding the sanction, you will quickly realize that label was a purely political move...(the law is being challenged)...and the Board of education removed the label once they realized that Glen Oak has been labeled a HIGH ACHIEVING SCHOOL for the last 5 years... Good job Glen Oak students....Good job Glen Oak parents !!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2011

What Happened? This school is now being sanctioned by the State of California Dept of Education for continued low test scores. Apparently once a school is sanctioned the school district is required to notify all parents so they can move their child to any school or school district they wish. Instead of fixing the problems the District is appealing the sanction! They should let the Parents make the best choice for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 24, 2010

My grandaughter attended Glen Oaks and is going to 2nd grade this year. She had a great school year and a wonderful teacher. The office ladies have always been polite and helpful. All children should learn to do homework and with their parents help complete their work. I don't think the homework was to much. There are plenty of other schools in Covina scoring much lower if you don't want to expect to much you should transfer to a school with lower scores.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2009

CONGRATULATIONS For having a high API score, I don't have doubts in my mind in sending my granddaughter to Glen Oak school again. Continue the good work. A. Yolo


Posted June 19, 2009

My daugter just got out of the 6th grade, and I was very happy with the teachers, most of her peers,and her education. The only thing I'd dont like about Glen Oak is it's office staff. They are very rude and pushy, they sont try there best at working at GlenOak. I will not enroll my child in kinder next year beaucse of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2009

My son is ending the 1st grade at glen oak, and unfortunately we will be moving out of the area. I really love this school and will sadly miss the teachers and the staff that I always see outside guiding traffic after school. My son is sad that he has to leave this school, but is also excited to move onto another school. His teachers that he had for kindergarten and 1st grade were excellent and my son was fortunate to have them as teachers. They were very caring and always on top of issues. My son was always eager to go to school and did not want to miss any days.. Glen Oak will be missed!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2008

My daughter for the most part enjoys this school. There are teachers at Glen Oak that are only there because it is their job. The teachers need to show happiness with our children and with each other, instead of bickering. After all, the reason they are there, is to teach our children. I appreciate the good teachers that actually enjoy their job and want to teach our children. Unfortunately there are very few. I believe most of the teachers don't understand to teach in class, only to send home work with not much classroom instruction, basically, do it because the state said you have to, and you need to learn to be independent. Glen Oak should watch our children better during playground time, and not tell our children that crude comments are acceptable and to get used to them. Principal should be at all school functions and at school on time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2008

I am a mother of two daughters, who have and are attending Glen Oak. I have a mixed experience. Regarding the teaching staff, there are some exceptional teachers who motiviate, inspire, and expect alot from their students. These wonderful teacher, create challenge and the student thrives with energy and knowledge. I have experienced some Wonderful teachers, and those teacher have made positive impacts. But than there are those few teachers, who just go to work, as a paycheck. They don't have the heart. These teachers don't challenge the kids, and the students just fall behind and have just wasted a year with no progress forward. Not sure what can be done with those kind of teacher, because they have a contract, but sad to see, becasue it hurts the overal performance of the child as well as the school. The principal has seemed to work hard and create positive changes!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 5, 2008

This is my second child at Glen Oak. My first one attended 1995-1998, I then pulled him out and home schooled him for 4 years. My experiences this time around are SIGNIFICANTLY better than the first time. The principle does seem to be gone frequently, however, in a situation I had to deal with at the end of summer, she did everything she told me she would do. One of which required her to call the district office. All of the teachers my son has had have been positive and good to work with and have aided him in his academic development. I will agree there is not a lot of parent involvement. At this point I'm the only parent that has come in to help in his class. Last year there were only 2 or 3 of us that helped. All in all a better school now than 10 yrs ago.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

This school has done nothing but cause my family grief. They have no clue and everything is always chaos.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

This school needs to concentrate on teaching and not sending everything home so that no one can have family time. It is rediculous.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

832

Change from
2012 to 2013

+6

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

832

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+6

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

2 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
50%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

77 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
52%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
38%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
60%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
58%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
31%

2010

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
49%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
61%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

57 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
40%

2011

 
 
47%

2010

 
 
48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students77%
Females78%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)84%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students68%
Females62%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability72%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate25%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females55%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)54%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students73%
Females68%
Males83%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only75%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate42%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females84%
Males66%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino70%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)78%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state82%

Math

All Students78%
Females88%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only83%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate69%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students56%
Females70%
Males36%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)45%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability58%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students61%
Females70%
Males46%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability62%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students51%
Females63%
Males36%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged48%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability53%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only51%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)36%
Parent education - college graduate59%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Females55%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students58%
Females55%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 64% 52%
White 21% 26%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 7% 11%
Black 5% 6%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 50%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Title 1 Academic Achievement Award (2006)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Performance stage
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: Ballet
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Korean
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:50 a.m.
School end time
  • 2:20 p.m.
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Margaret GrosJean
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • No
Fax number
  • (626) 331-5312

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Moderate - the school consistently offers a full program for particular special education needs
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Significant developmental delay
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Cafeteria
  • Computer lab
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • None
Girls sports
  • None

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • None
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • None
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Dance club: Ballet
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Our academic performance index score (API) increased 25 points this year. Our API is currently 802. In the past four years, Glen Oak has implemented several new programs to improve student achievement and the school's culture. These are: Thinking Maps, Write From the Beginning, Enterprise Accelerated Reader, Accelerated Math, Standards Plus, Excellent Eagles, Character Counts, newly adopted art, music, p.e., social studies, science, and math core curriculum programs. We installed a brand new computer lab in the summer of 2007. This year every classroom received a document camera and LCD projector. These are used to project resources from the internet as well as for teachers to model during their direct instruction lessons. Our school is focused on improving the academic achievement of all students as well as helping each student to grow socially and emotionally. We work with students and their families as a collaborative team. At Glen Oak, we teach students, not subjects. Our students are excellent eagles who soar to excellence!
School leaders can update this information here.

Visit

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:
Elementary school
Middle school


 

How to apply

Does this school have an application or enrollment process?
 

No

Planning Ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Royal Oak Intermediate School
Lone Hill Middle School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1000 North Sunflower Ave
Covina, CA 91724
Website: Click here
Phone: (626) 331-5341

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Canyon View School
San Dimas, CA




Quest Academy
Covina, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT