Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

On December 7th, 8th, and 9th, the elementary music program in Charter Oak gave outstanding performances at the Royal Oak Gym. Monday night Glen Oak and Badillo had over 300 students performing and over 500 parents attending. The same numbers were evident on Tuesday night with Cedargrove, and then again on Wednesday night with Willow and Washington. The students sang many fun and beautiful holiday songs, displaying some amazing harmonies along with their singing. The night was truly a great success and showed how much the children in Charter Oak love to sing and perform.
March 01, 2016

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
41 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 54 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Develops honesty:
SCHOOL LEADER
The technology team set up the new Makerbot Printer and Scanner at Badillo in November. There was a learning curve but they got the hang of it. They then proceeded to Glen Oak later that day to set up Glen Oak's equipment! MakerBot is a company that manufactures 3D printers. A "3D printer" sounds like something boring, so MakerBot Industries has chosen an excellent name. A 3D printer is a device that creates physical objects from digital plans. You can fill it with ABS (what Lego blocks are made of) or PLA (biodegradable and made of corn), download or make designs on a computer, press "go," and create replicable, real objects. We can’t wait to see what the Panthers and Eagles create!
Posted April 05, 2016

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
On December 7th, 8th, and 9th, the elementary music program in Charter Oak gave outstanding performances at the Royal Oak Gym. Monday night Glen Oak and Badillo had over 300 students performing and over 500 parents attending. The same numbers were evident on Tuesday night with Cedargrove, and then again on Wednesday night with Willow and Washington. The students sang many fun and beautiful holiday songs, displaying some amazing harmonies along with their singing. The night was truly a great success and showed how much the children in Charter Oak love to sing and perform.
Posted March 01, 2016


Teacher effectiveness:
SCHOOL LEADER
On December 7th, 8th, and 9th, the elementary music program in Charter Oak gave outstanding performances at the Royal Oak Gym. Monday night Glen Oak and Badillo had over 300 students performing and over 500 parents attending. The same numbers were evident on Tuesday night with Cedargrove, and then again on Wednesday night with Willow and Washington. The students sang many fun and beautiful holiday songs, displaying some amazing harmonies along with their singing. The night was truly a great success and showed how much the children in Charter Oak love to sing and perform.
Posted March 01, 2016

Glen Oak Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
I would like to thank my daughter 2nd grade teacher Mrs.Tomaszewski.. i have had a great year so far with the schopl. Everyone has been very kind.

Glen Oak Elementary School 4

Posted December 09, 2015
- a parent
My child is new to this school and the school district. So far this school is great. At first my child was always crying because she did not know anyone. The school staff have been wonderful. My daughter loves school now. I have never been part of PTA but I want to join now. There are a few things I would like to see at the school. Over all the school is REALLY GOOD.


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
On behalf of the Campaign for Business & Education Excellence (CBEE), I want to congratulate Glen Oak Elementary School. After an extensive analysis of student data for every public school and district in California, your school stood above the rest in getting your students to grade level proficiency and beyond. Your school has been named as CBEE Honor Roll School for 2014! Your school will be featured on our website and a banner has been designed just for the school to display. Each year, CBEE presents this award to individual schools and to districts that have excelled in raising student achievement and closing achievement gaps. This is a testament to you, your staff and your students’ relentless focus on academic success. The list of Honor Roll schools continues to grow thanks to the hard work and effective practices of thousands of excellent superintendents, administrators, principals, teachers and support personnel in our public schools.  Since its inception in 2005, the CBEE Honor Roll has increased from 261 high performing schools to an inspiring 1851 high performing schools in 2014.  This is thanks to the relentless focus on results for students that you, your staff and your peers have shown over the years.  It is also a strong statement about how success is spreading in public schools across the state. I want to once again congratulate you on the outstanding success your schools have made in raising student academic achievement and closing achievement gaps. 
Posted October 16, 2015

Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Glen Oak Elementary is an outstanding K-6 grade school in the Charter Oak USD. The teachers, support staff, and principal provide "super hero" programs and services for all students. The school offers students very engaging learning with the new Common Core State Standards and through the use of technology purchased with Measure CO funds. Glen Oak Elementary has lots of parent support and a supportive PTA.
Posted October 07, 2015

Glen Oak Elementary School 1

Posted September 12, 2014
- a parent
Worst school ever!!! It would be a mistake to put your child in this school. The staff is horrible. The front office receptionist at this school acts like she hates her job, shes not polite and always answers with an attitude, she hates to be asked questions. I felt like not wanting to call the school at times or even visiting the office because i didnt felt welcomed as parent. I would imagine how the kids felt. This school needs some serious help and to train their staff (teachers including). This school doesnt have incentive programs like a before or after school homework club, etc to improve the students educational needs. I felt like this school only care about attendance that each child showed up to school $$$ and not if he/she was learning... also i had some experience with kids being allowed to bully at this school and staff didnt handle the situation the correct way, which they ignored. I have talk to some of the other kids and their not so enthusiastic about coming to Glen Oak. I feel like their not happy or feel uncomfortable with this school. Ive heard from other parents that it use to be better before but its been like this for quite some time (years) now! Disappointing


Glen Oak Elementary School 4

Posted April 17, 2014
- a parent
This school is fantastic. My child is in the special education program and he has improved with his learning skills more then I ever anticipated.

Glen Oak Elementary School 2

Posted March 18, 2014
- a parent
What happened here?? I attended this school and so did my brother and back then, it as AMAZING. The school was great, the teachers were great, the students and parents were great. Now that my own child attends here, I am absolutely horrified. We are wrapping up this school year and will NOT be returning next year. The office staff, as many others have noted, is AWFUL. The overall vibe of the school has really gone downhill and Covina as a city is not what it used to be. Very trashy and dirty. Thus, the environment here is not what you'd expect to find in a Covina/San Dimas area school. Very disappointed. Relocation is on the list this summer, for both school and home.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Glen Oak Elementary School
1000 North Sunflower Ave, Covina, CA  91724-2307
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 54 reviews. (626) 331-5341
Last modified Glen Oak Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top