Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Royal Oak Middle School

Public | 7-8

 
 

Living in Covina

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $321,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 20, 2012

Great School. My daughter goes to Royal Oak and is an honor student. The Teachers are very positive and are always available to help out when needed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

Royal Oak is the best school around. My daughter attends this school as an 8th grader. She is an honor student as well. The teachers are really caring for their students sucess and always go out of their way to help if needed. This school is excellent my experience with this school has been the best!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2010

I go to royal oak and i love it. it is a great school and i cant belive some parents dont like it. it is a great school and i am on honor roll. the lunch is the same pretty much everyday though. well i love it so stop hating
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2009

i am a current student or learner attending ROMS and i can truthfully state that i am proud 2 b a royal oak road runner!although this school only has 5/10 star ratings it is still the best of the best!i luv this school...i would never move to another school!i am a 7th grader and it is almost the end of the school year...i remember back to the night b4 the 1st day of junior high and i waz really nervous i expected it to be horrible butit turned out to be great!i made lots of new friends and i aslo have the greatest teachers ever who really care about me and want me to succed!i luv royal oak and i hope that i will never have to leave evr!and when i ahve to leave (wich i know i will ahve to soon) i will never 4get ROMS ever!
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 29, 2009

Great School, Administrators are great and involved in making a difference in the lives of our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 2, 2009

Royal Oak MS is the Heartbeat of the Charter Oak USD. There are approximately 950 students in grades 7 & 8 this year. API scores jumped by 23 points this past fall. Recent Student Awards programs gave Honor Roll, Attendance and Character Counts to more than 60% of the student body. Students took responsibility for their own learning and explained their progress and goals to their own parents. All classrooms are working on the campus beautification project in conjunction with a local nursery to plant flower beds around the school! Last fall Student-Led Conferences produced a 98% attendance rate by parents to their child's conference! The PTSA provides dances and other activities to support a well-rounded student. Royal Oak MS is a great place for kids!


Posted January 11, 2009

Royal Oak is a great school. 2 of my 4 children are now in college. They attended ROI, and it was a great environment to learn. My eigth grader is now attending. He participates in the gate program and involved in drama. My 6th grader will be attending next year also. I have no reservations about sending my children and receiving a public education at ROI. Royal Oak was great before with 6th, 7th, and 8th graders. Now that there are only 7th and 8th graders its even better!!!!!!! Great Staff, Great Teachers that are committed, and an Awesome environment to learn.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2008

This is my sons first year in middle school and he is really having a great time. He is involved in sports and is getting an excellent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

Its a really great school where children would get excellent education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

I think this school is a great learning facility for middle school students there is many extra curricular activities such as band art soccer musical theatre and much much more it realy is a good school service
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2007

royal oak is a great school!
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 27, 2007

My child is in his last year at Royal Oak. I have been quite satisfied overall. I like the agenda policy and I am impressed with most of the teachers ... which includes some of the newer teachers who have a great deal of enthusiasm and high expectations of the students. I did worry that the large number of students would affect my child and his learning, however; his grades and test scores show he is doing well. The one thing that I disagree with is how the school is divided. Either you're Gate, Odyssey or a Norm. When my child was going into 6th grade, he was quite excited to go into the Odyssey program but the program was cancelled that year. By the time the program started up again, he lost interest and declined the Odyssey program. I wish he had joined ... Odyssey seem to get everything!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2006

I have had two of my children go to ROIS, one of which is still there. They have had no 'problems', bring home great grades while being challenged and are comfortable with their daily experience at school. ROIS is what you teach your child to make of it! Education and values start at the home. ROIS has many teachers that care about our students. Yes, there have been too many changes in the past few years but great things are to come from them. If parents, teachers, and the district personal stay focused and positive, we will once again have a wonderful school. Parent involvemnet is always welcomed at ROIS and I encourage you to get involved and stay informed of the facts. KLC
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2006

ROIS has excellent teachers and that is their greatest asset. The school is so crowded that it makes monitoring students during passing times difficult. My boys enjoy their classes and have learned a great deal. They are challenged to think on their own, do a lot of projects, and learn to work with other students in groups. Lunch and passing times are treacherous and scary! Even as a parent, going to see a teacher after school, the students were running and screaming in such a way that I felt nervous. It makes me feel very sad that my boys have to go through this day in and day out. Why can't we provide a safe environment? What do we have to do?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2006

I have had two kids in this school. I believe the new adminstration is doing a great job and is helping the students greatly. All in all I have students at both ends of the programs and am overall satisfied. Thank you and keep up the good work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 8, 2006

Very unhappy with this school from day 1. I've had two children in this school. There is no control over bullying. A few good teachers. Administration basically can care less. Parents are intimidated into not getting involved. Way too many children on one campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

Royal Oak Middle School has seen many positive changes, that is if your child is enrolled in the Odyssey program. If your child is not in this program, he or she will become a forgotten sole. Odyssey is a strong program with a lot of political positions backing the dollars. They are at the top of evey donation list. Which is fantastic for Odyssey and their program. They get the computers the books the trips the tender loving care each child should receive. Royal Oak is a very divided school. It's a private school (Odyssey) imbedded into a overcrowded public school (the other students) with unhappy teachers for whatever reasons. Odyssey is not offered to every child. They have found it to work, but only for the few. God Bless our other children. Their needs are put aside for Odyssey. If the program works share it with all!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 11, 2006

The academic programs are very good. The teachers are very educated and they take time to teach the children good. The availability of music, art, and sports is also good. Children can try out for different sports including basketball and football. Parents are highly involved in school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2005

I really feel it is time for all of us to start focusing on the positive aspects of royal oak and stop harping on the negative. I feel the administration, staff , parents & students of rois have come along way to make this a better school. We are still working hard. We don't stop after we reach our goal- because this is an on-going process! Our principal, barbara aguilar has such passion for our school. I know she works non-stop, because our children, are her priority. As a parent, I will do all I can to be supportive of my child's school and try to make a difference. With almost 1500 students at rois, think of the possibilities, if each parent/family took a positive and active role to make 1 small change for the better! Our school, our children deserve at least that much. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2005

Very unhappy with communication at this school. Way too many kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

781

Change from
2012 to 2013

-21

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

781

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-21

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

68 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
94%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

390 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
58%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
59%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

323 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
35%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
41%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

377 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
28%

2012

 
 
31%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
29%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
64%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
61%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

444 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
48%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

415 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
68%

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
67%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students94%
Females97%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino97%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented94%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)90%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students58%
Females62%
Males54%
African American50%
Asian85%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only60%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented98%
Parent education - not a high school graduate41%
Parent education - high school graduate46%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)61%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate67%
Parent education - declined to state48%

Math

All Students35%
Females30%
Males40%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)41%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged39%
Students with disability27%
Students with no reported disability36%
English learner20%
Fluent-English proficient and English only36%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented83%
Parent education - not a high school graduate25%
Parent education - high school graduate34%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)40%
Parent education - college graduate32%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate41%
Parent education - declined to state29%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students28%
Females30%
Males27%
African American18%
Asian36%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino21%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)41%
Economically disadvantaged20%
Non-economically disadvantaged35%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability30%
English learner0%
Fluent-English proficient and English only29%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented65%
Parent education - not a high school graduate17%
Parent education - high school graduate19%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)32%
Parent education - college graduate38%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate25%
Parent education - declined to state28%

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females58%
Males49%
African American35%
Asian75%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Economically disadvantaged48%
Non-economically disadvantaged59%
Students with disability10%
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner7%
Fluent-English proficient and English only56%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented97%
Parent education - not a high school graduate46%
Parent education - high school graduate49%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)49%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate74%
Parent education - declined to state45%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students50%
Females47%
Males52%
African American32%
Asian65%
Filipino64%
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Non-economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disability13%
Students with no reported disability54%
English learner5%
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate28%
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate66%
Parent education - declined to state49%

Science

All Students68%
Females65%
Males71%
African American44%
Asian85%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Students with disability33%
Students with no reported disability70%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate46%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate80%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate76%
Parent education - declined to state70%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 61%
White 25%
Asian 4%
Black 3%
Two or more races 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 56%N/AN/A
English language learners 5%N/AN/A

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

303 South Glendora Avenue
Covina, CA 91724
Phone: (626) 967-6354

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Quest Academy
Covina, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT