Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Students at Royal Oak were treated to a celebrity guest artist on October 22nd. Art teacher, Jennifer Shaw, recruited Disney animator, Floyd Norman, to speak to her students about animation. Mr. Norman is an animator, writer, and comic book artist. According to Wikipedia, over the course of his career, he has worked for a number of animation companies, among them Walt Disney Animation Studios, Hanna-Barbera Productions, Ruby-Spears, Film Roman and Pixar. He has worked on famous films including Sleeping Beauty, The Sword in the Stone, The Jungle Book, Mary Poppins, One Hundred and One Dalmatians, Toy Story 2 and Monsters, Inc. Visit www.cousd or more info on Royal Oak Middle School!
November 05, 2015

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
46 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 55 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Students at Royal Oak were treated to a celebrity guest artist on October 22nd. Art teacher, Jennifer Shaw, recruited Disney animator, Floyd Norman, to speak to her students about animation. Mr. Norman is an animator, writer, and comic book artist. According to Wikipedia, over the course of his career, he has worked for a number of animation companies, among them Walt Disney Animation Studios, Hanna-Barbera Productions, Ruby-Spears, Film Roman and Pixar. He has worked on famous films including Sleeping Beauty, The Sword in the Stone, The Jungle Book, Mary Poppins, One Hundred and One Dalmatians, Toy Story 2 and Monsters, Inc. Visit www.cousd or more info on Royal Oak Middle School!
Posted November 05, 2015

Develops empathy:
SCHOOL LEADER
Former Thespian Vice president, Christie Carino, and incoming President Julien Mireles spoke to the board about the several accomplishments the ROMS Thespian Club and Drama Department had during the 2014-2015 year. The highlights include:  ·Hosting 1500 students from 50 schools for the Fall Drama Teachers Association of Southern California (DTASC) festival.  ·Receiving 9 awards, and 7th place overall at the festival.  ·Reviving the Children’s theater program and performing for all 4th graders in the district.  · Initiating 32 members into the International Thespian Society  ·Having 11 members of the Thespian Society earn Scholar recognitions (maintaining a 3.5 GPA), and 5 members earn Five Star Thespian status, meaning they’d logged over 300 hours of excellent work within 2 years at ROMS. ·Selling out performances for the spring musical, The Drowsy Chaperone. ·  Earning 10 nominations and 3 awards for our musical from the National Youth Arts Awards.   It was a great and busy year, and the ROMS Thespians were happy to share their accomplishments with the COUSD Board.
Posted October 13, 2015


Message to families
SCHOOL LEADER
Royal Oak Middle School is an outstanding school for students in grades 7-8. The school offers STEM class that include Project Lead the Way Automation and Robotics and Design and Modeling. ROMS has a great TV/media program, award winning visual and performing arts, and outstanding life skills classes. ROMS is one of the only public middle schools in the area that participates in the regional and state History Day and Science Fair competitions. Their school library is very inviting. Their ASB is very active. ROMS offers many after school athletic programs that compete with area schools. ROMS has very dedicated teachers, support staff, and administrators.
Posted October 07, 2015

Royal Oak Middle School 5

Posted January 20, 2012
- a parent
Great School. My daughter goes to Royal Oak and is an honor student. The Teachers are very positive and are always available to help out when needed.

Royal Oak Middle School
no rating

Posted March 31, 2010
- a parent
Royal Oak is the best school around. My daughter attends this school as an 8th grader. She is an honor student as well. The teachers are really caring for their students sucess and always go out of their way to help if needed. This school is excellent my experience with this school has been the best!


Royal Oak Middle School 5

Posted March 06, 2010
- a student
I go to royal oak and i love it. it is a great school and i cant belive some parents dont like it. it is a great school and i am on honor roll. the lunch is the same pretty much everyday though. well i love it so stop hating

Royal Oak Middle School 5

Posted June 12, 2009
- a student
i am a current student or learner attending ROMS and i can truthfully state that i am proud 2 b a royal oak road runner!although this school only has 5/10 star ratings it is still the best of the best!i luv this school...i would never move to another school!i am a 7th grader and it is almost the end of the school year...i remember back to the night b4 the 1st day of junior high and i waz really nervous i expected it to be horrible butit turned out to be great!i made lots of new friends and i aslo have the greatest teachers ever who really care about me and want me to succed!i luv royal oak and i hope that i will never have to leave evr!and when i ahve to leave (wich i know i will ahve to soon) i will never 4get ROMS ever!

Royal Oak Middle School
no rating

Posted April 29, 2009
- a parent
Great School, Administrators are great and involved in making a difference in the lives of our children.


Royal Oak Middle School
no rating

Posted March 02, 2009
- a community member
Royal Oak MS is the Heartbeat of the Charter Oak USD. There are approximately 950 students in grades 7 & 8 this year. API scores jumped by 23 points this past fall. Recent Student Awards programs gave Honor Roll, Attendance and Character Counts to more than 60% of the student body. Students took responsibility for their own learning and explained their progress and goals to their own parents. All classrooms are working on the campus beautification project in conjunction with a local nursery to plant flower beds around the school! Last fall Student-Led Conferences produced a 98% attendance rate by parents to their child's conference! The PTSA provides dances and other activities to support a well-rounded student. Royal Oak MS is a great place for kids!

Royal Oak Middle School 5

Posted January 11, 2009
- a parent
Royal Oak is a great school. 2 of my 4 children are now in college. They attended ROI, and it was a great environment to learn. My eigth grader is now attending. He participates in the gate program and involved in drama. My 6th grader will be attending next year also. I have no reservations about sending my children and receiving a public education at ROI. Royal Oak was great before with 6th, 7th, and 8th graders. Now that there are only 7th and 8th graders its even better!!!!!!! Great Staff, Great Teachers that are committed, and an Awesome environment to learn.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Royal Oak Middle School
303 South Glendora Avenue, Covina, CA  91724-3235
(626) 967-6354
Last modified Royal Oak Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Royal Oak Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 55 reviews. Top