Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 12 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


14 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Barranca Elementary School 3

Posted September 26, 2013
- a parent
I have to say some of the teachers are great. Ms. Dahl is the best kindergarten teacher I have known. But when it comes to the principal I sure wish the district could find a better person. She needs to learn how to be polite , not only to students but parents. My personal opinion is that this principal only cares about getting the funding for school.

Barranca Elementary School 3

Posted August 08, 2013
- a parent
It has it's pro's and cons. For starters, they have some excellent teachers there . However, my child had excellent grades and I felt they were overlooked. There is no student of the month, no honor roll. I think that students need these things for more reason to strive. The GATE program is weak. There is so much focus on testing that the was hardly any attention given to GATE it seems. An occasional extra worksheet sent home with homework was all that was given for GATE students. I really didn't want to bad mouth the school but, I honestly do not have too many good things to say other than the staff are very friendly. The principal falls a little short of being professional at times. I think that the school can use some restructuring. Maybe a new principal? I don't know to much about how funding and school districts work so, there may be good reasons to why things are they way they are at this school.


Barranca Elementary School 4

Posted October 02, 2010
- a parent
My son was enrolled in this school last year. His Grade 1 teacher, Ms. Snyder, is a very dedicated teacher and has a passion for teaching. I saw how my son improved under her tutelage. She gave concrete feedbacks on a student performance throughout the school year, which is very helpful to an involved parent. This school had a rating of 7 last year and I was hoping it would get a higher rating this year. I wonder why it got a 5 rating this year?

Barranca Elementary School 4

Posted April 09, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Barranca Elementary School 1

Posted April 02, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Barranca Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted February 11, 2009
- a parent
this is the best elm. school that any of my children has gone to. The teachers are great ,my daughter has had some problems with math and the extra help she gets I think has helped her so much.

Barranca Elementary School 3

Posted February 08, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Barranca Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2008
- a parent
My daughter has attended Barranca since Kindergarten she is in the 5th grade right now. I have had an excellent learning experience, the one thing I will say initially the 1st principal was not very approachable but the new principal is very nice and approachable, the teachers have been excellent, the only problem I had was when there was a morning teacher and an afternoon teacher that was very inconsistent and I was not very happy then, now my daughter's teacher is Mrs Awad and she means business and she is well respected by her students. Thanks for having teachers that care about the betterment of our children.


Barranca Elementary School 0
no rating

Posted September 24, 2008
- a parent
My child started kindergarten and so far I have been very pleased. Her teacher is very attentive to each child's individual needs and very approachable.

Barranca Elementary School 5

Posted August 22, 2008
- a parent
I love this school for my kids. They are doing a wonderful job there and I know the staff care for the children very much.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Barranca Elementary School
727 South Barranca Avenue, Covina, CA  91723
(626) 974-4000
Last modified Barranca Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Barranca Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top