Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Ben Lomond Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 21, 2014

This school is the worst. Not only do the teachers not discipline or report bullies.... the teachers are Harassing as well! It's disgusting and my child doesn't want to go to school here anymore. I understand some teachers are better than others but this school has some bad apples for teachers. And yes, they serve milk in plastic bags..... NASTY!!! What are they trying to do to our kids??!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2014

This school is so cheap they my kid drink out of a baggie filled with milk/chocolate milk this school has mean office workers and the principal made my kid's life miserable when I didn't agree with her on my child's behavior we moved the next year don't move your kid here
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2012

I would not recommend sending your child to this school. I am still debating if I am sending my son back to this school for this fall. The Principal has no control over her staff. The Morale is low. There is a lot of bullying and the Principal turns the other way. Instead of suspending the bullies. She just tells them to stop. She rather they not miss school so they can get paid for attendance.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2012

I attempted to register for the 2012 school year and Ben Lamond lost my sons kindergarten entry forms. I found out one month to school starting that they had no record of his enrollment. I reported them to the district and requested a transfer to a different school in the district. My transfer was approved and I am very glad that my child will not be attending a school whose office staff cannot be dependable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2011

Not pleased. School is in Program Improvement. Recent Parent Survey result comments by Administration seemed to have caught them off guard when they don't know why "adequate" or "ineffective" were the chosen answers. I'm more surprised that they didn't see it coming. There is very little "fun" here, and very little compromise. Students might want to perform better if they were recognized academically throughout the year instead last day of school and a once a month Student of the Month assembly. Morale is down all over due to budget cuts. Needs much improvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2010

What a professional staff and dedicated principal! Our whole family loves this school. We are proud to be Bears. There are many opportunities to stay involved and be part of your children's education. The PTA is super involved too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2010

I used to be proud to have my children attend this school. Unfortunatly that is no longer the case. The current principal is power hungry and tries to intimidate the parents into falling in line with what she believes. If you don't agree with her she will single out your child and make their life miserable in the little ways she has control. I am in the processing of moving my child to another school as she is doing nothing for my child!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 2, 2009

Nice school, great with my Daughter.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2008

My daughter began attending Ben Lomond last year after attending another school in the same district for three years. I could not be happier with her progress. Her teacher put her heart and soul into her students. The staff is incredibly friendly, professional, and dedicated. There were more parent-involvement activities than you could possible imagine, and the teacher involvement was spectacular, even on a Friday evening! We cannot wait for the new year to begin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 28, 2008

My son finished kinder at this school. I felt that attending kinder at Ben Lomond was probably very similar to going to a private school. Luckily his class was only 17 kids. The curriculum that they receive at this age, I think as a parent, was a bit much. I can't complain I have other friends in other Covina schools where the children are bombarded with homework. Of course depending on the child and how much they absorb is how much they will take. For the studius, they love it. His teacher was Mrs. Kramer, she is a great disciplinarian and was able to get him to be where he needed to be, though he's not studius. Overall, from the kinder experience he is where he should be at a cheaper price, for the same type of education, just a few more kids. See you next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2007

This school has great potential .Its lacking in advanced programs .The staff is great and the new principle is a great lady.I wish they were up to date with Advanced math programs such as Accelerated Math and push for more reading such as Accelerated Reading and having students test on books at tested grade level or higher on books of choice( not classroom text books).Kids learn from enjoying a book.Text books are not a child choice of reading they don't want to read them .I feel the school is behind in learning and could use a push.Not enough incentives to get students ready for state testing and to achieve higher goals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2006

Parents are very active at the school. We usually have more activities this year it has been a little less do to construction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2006

My son started here at Ben Lomand and he came from a private school and so I had my concerns, but can I just say what a blessing this school has been from his teachers to the principal and parents. The quality of teaching is just awesome my son loves school and feels very safe as do his parents. Ben Lomand is a gem hidden in Covina!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 19, 2006

Ben Lomond School has been a great school overall. The only complaint I have ever had was that the ladies in the office are not friendly when you call with questions (snotty). Other than that, the principal has held up the school pretty well since the last principal left a few years back. My son has loved every teacher he has had. They offer music, before and after school care, tutoring in which the teachers have done on their own time, parent power classes, and it's a California Distinguished School. It's a school that I would definately recommend. We will definately miss the teachers. The teachers are what make it a good solid school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2005

Ben Lomond is a good school with caring teachers for the most part. I am a bit disappointed in the relatively new Principal. She seems unable to truly relate to the kids and when she interacts with them, it appears to be very forced and the kids pick up on it immediately. The prior Principal was so incredible that anyone following her would have a difficulti time filling her shoes
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 14, 2003

A fantastic network between parents and teachers keeps families informed so all involved parties can work together for the benefit of the children. Impressive teachers gain the respect and admiration of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

822

Change from
2012 to 2013

+9

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

822

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+9

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

5 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
44%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

89 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
70%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

71 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
43%

2012

 
 
34%

2011

 
 
38%

2010

 
 
19%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

69 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
56%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
44%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

74 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
58%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

73 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
73%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
43%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
39%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

87 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
38%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students65%
Females69%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Students with disability45%
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner71%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate58%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)63%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students70%
Females69%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disability55%
Students with no reported disability73%
English learner79%
Fluent-English proficient and English only65%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate62%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)70%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students43%
Females44%
Males44%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged41%
Not economically disadvantaged53%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learner17%
Fluent-English proficient and English only49%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)37%
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students56%
Females50%
Males62%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged53%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)48%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females76%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged68%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner42%
Fluent-English proficient and English only79%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)76%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students82%
Females81%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged93%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learner75%
Fluent-English proficient and English only84%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate81%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students55%
Females57%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability54%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only58%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate59%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students51%
Females45%
Males58%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Not economically disadvantaged56%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability50%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only53%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate50%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)54%
Parent education - college graduate50%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students50%
Females49%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Not economically disadvantaged50%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability49%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only52%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate45%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)51%
Parent education - college graduate59%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 78%
White 10%
Black 5%
Asian 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1%
Two or more races 1%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 84%N/AN/A
English language learners 23%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Cheri Howell
Fax number
  • (626) 974-4115

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

621 East Covina Boulevard
Covina, CA 91722
Website: Click here
Phone: (626) 974-4101

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Cumorah Academy
Covina, CA






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT