Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Covina, CA
Students enrolled: 401
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Lark Ellen Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
i do feel this school does offer this because of the green slips my child brings home which is a daily reminder to strive on being a better student and behave good .and doing things like this i think prevents kids from bullying other or acting out by breaking rules.however i feel that they should get a better reward for the green slip like a fun friday type of event or ice cream party or an annoucement to others because kids love to be recognized and when they are i think others try to compete so then you have all kids trying to be good instead of all kids trying to bully.

Lark Ellen Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
i was shocked on how much my child has learned i even learned some new things too .. A+ in my book .i also love how the school or teacher paysbfor the lexington reading core app it makes a big diffrence so child can learn at home too . wish he had more access to other apps from home like starfall or abc mouse .kids would use them trust me but not all parents can pay for these apps. but if tge school did i know students scores would go up .because of more hours spent learning instead of just riding a bike or playing video game ..these games are fun and educational


Lark Ellen Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
my son was in kinder and i loved how the packet was sent home monthly because some people are very busy on certain days and it gives you enough time to know what is expected and when it is expected to be done .. so parents can work on the assignments with child when it is a good time .Some days we would complete 4 of the assignments because we had time to do that which was great because on some days by the time we get home its already going on 8 pm with no time to do it and if it was do the next day most likey it would have to be hurried work which would show poor work due to time . monthly assignments are wonderful so the child doesnt have repeated late assignments or incorrect work .. even weekly assignments are good that way it ensures that parent and child know tge assignment and can then fit it into their daily rountine at the right time . parents have more of an understanding of what is being taught.so it becomes a team effort wnd parent can help more with homework to be checked for incorret answers or know the routine that homework packet is due once a month or once week which prevents a child to lie about assignments ..since some days are homework some arnt ..

Lark Ellen Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
yes because of certain events my child feels more of a passion for the need to learn or be the best at it

Lark Ellen Elementary School
Develops respect: Agree

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
yes because i think all the students are treated fairly when it comes to both reawards and accountability for a students actions when he or she has broken a rule. but i once heard a teacher make a rude remark once about a kinder student not making it to the bathroom on time which i thought was not right because i dont belive that anyone would want to have an accident and he or she had a good reason for it perhaps the child was shy or afraid to ask to use the bathroom the child is only 5 years old .. i dont belive that it should have veen annouced to many peers about the situation or get in trouble over it.


Lark Ellen Elementary School
Develops empathy: Agree

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
yes my son learned all about animals now has become a partail vegitarian ..so my answer is yes

Lark Ellen Elementary School 4

Posted August 10, 2015
- a parent
My son dearly loves lark ellen and has learned so much from his regular teacher and his speech teacher too. All the staff here are very sweet,helpful, and make you feel welcome.i do wish that the library would be open more often like after school because i think it would get students and parents more insight and ability to help with their childs educational goals.I know that this is a great school and i hope my son gets to go here next year because i know this school is a safe,fun and clean school.However it would be great if teachers would send out a weekly or monthly letter to inform parents of the things that the student is learning so parents can be in the loop as to whats going on so a child does not fall behind..

Lark Ellen Elementary School 5

Posted August 23, 2013
- a community member
IS beautiful,great techers and place and frends i like y school very much this is a cool school


Lark Ellen Elementary School 5

Posted March 25, 2011
- a parent
Lark Ellen School is the best. The teachers are great. The PTA works very hard. I feel the students are safe and learning is a priority.

Lark Ellen Elementary School 1

Posted April 15, 2010
- a parent
I'm and educator and am so disgusted with the blaming on the parent instead of problem solving. Ive had two terrible teacher's at this school. I care about my son's education and it was always finding a way around accountability for good teaching and communication. I felt like the teachers' were not there to help but to fly under the radar.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Lark Ellen Elementary School
4555 North Lark Ellen Avenue, Covina, CA  91722
(626) 974-4500
Last modified Lark Ellen Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Lark Ellen Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. Top