Advertisement
Advertisement

Western Christian High School

Private | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Covina

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $321,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,750.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

21 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 6, 2011

Western Christians awesome teachers always returned all my emails in excellent time. My Daughter went to this excellent and incredible high school all four years. The teachers and staff were the finest I've ever met .As a teacher myself I rate this school as Extraordinary,Caring ,Amazing ,and an honor that my daughter got to attend this wonderful school.Western Christian definitly has Excellent Teachers,Strong principal/school leadership, and challenging academic programs. Even my extended family members love Western Christian school. I't really is great!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2011

My child has attended this school for a couple of years and I've never been so dissatisfied. If you ever have an issue...forget about it....no one will care!! If you have a question for a teacher and email them, they may return your email days later if at all. Great teachers are not retained. They're fired constantly to make room for new teachers who have little or no experience so the school can save money. They nickle and dime you to death. If you have a kid in sports get ready to hand over your check book. Major regret will ensue if your child joins the baseball team!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 29, 2010

We had a wonderful experience at the elementary campus; however, our experience with the administration at the high school level was MUCH different. On many occasions, we experienced a significant lack of integrity and Christ-like example at the highest administrative levels. Students were held to higher standards than that of the staff/administration.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 1, 2010

This is a good school, with wonderful teachers and a school that teaches with a very good Christian background. They have 2 major problems...1.) There is no fence around the school. The children are exposed to anybody walking up and taking your child. Small children walk around campus with no security and no fence. The issue has been brought up, but the school continues to do nothing. They do not have adequate space for chapel or assemblies. Currently they use a very small cafeteria. You have to ask yourself, where is all that money you are paying going? Why don't they think the safety of the children are priority?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 4, 2009

An excellent choice for a private day high school where your child will be supported academically, athletically, and socially to succeed.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2009

I graduated from Western. While I attended, I took the close-knit family atmosphere for granted. I didn't appreciate the rules, the chapel time or the small size of the school. Now that I have been away for a few years, I can honestly say that Western is a great school. While the principal that I loved is no longer there, some of the teachers remain and two teachers are now in administration. Plus, I saw on the website that one of the coaches (the best one) is now in administration, too. I hope that students know and appreciate how lucky they are to be at Western.


Posted February 6, 2009

Western Christian High School has a new administration that will be there for some time to come. The new superintendent is extremely dynamic and works hard to improve facilities, curriculum, and more. She listens and acts upon parents' concerns (if it is a common sense concern, of course!) The new principal is a good communicator, and seems responsive when issues come up. Western Christian has grown by leaps and bounds in the last two years. I would not hesitate to recommend it highly. The campus in Covina is on the small side, but it is adequate. We find the education provided is excellent. Everything is in place for your child to succeed. If your child is not highly motivated, he or she will still receive a good basic Christian education. The strengths are their French program. Honors English has been great. The drama program is amazing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2008

This is a great school. Intensly academic, the students are rigorously prepared for college. Sure there has been several changes with administration, but things like this happen. Through all the changes the high academic standards have remained a constant.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2008

The School has hd 4 different administations in each of the last 4 years, causing great turmoil to many of the students. The recent change in administration has left the school without a Christian based leadership and both academics and spirituality have suffered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2008

the school itself is small, the facilities are not the best but! Students do learn, I have found the subjects to be college - prep material. I do like the fact that allot of the projects can be used in real life, like the business plan for econ. This was very difficult but this is exactly what they would ask you for if you wanted to qualify for a small business loan. Schools tough not only academically but they do make the student take responsibility for their actions, certainly something lacking in most schools today! This is not a place to come and spend your time socializing WCHS is seerious about education and producing men and women for Christ.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 16, 2008

i currently attend wchs and am not that happy with it. the teacher are cool, and personable but sometimes i question how much i am actually learning. i previously was interested to learn in school and got good grades.. now its not so much. and its something that i wish was still apparent. theres a lack of motivation. the office isnt really organized. enough said. and sometimes it seems that they care more about us following the rules, than the christian aspect of the school. as of right now the only reason i enjoy school is friends. the campus is not great at all, the administration is highly disorganized, the teachers are mediocre at best, i often find myself asking 'where does my parents money go?'.. i dont believe that western is properly equipping us for college. maybe to get into a decent college.. but not an excellent one.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 18, 2007

I attended WCHS for 2 years and I have been so discouraged by the school's lack of organization in the administration. The administrators spend too much time focusing on the dress code, when they should be more focused on the performance and quality of the teachers. Western 'Christian' High School is strictly a business and when the school puts money before education, that is what turns people away.
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 12, 2006

WCHS does take the academic issues very serious. Besides, sport activities at WCHS are excellent.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 14, 2005

Great School! Wonderful teachers and administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2005

This is a great school that successfully integrates academics and faith. My daughter graduated from this school and went on to college prepared to defend her faith and to make decisions that were in line with her morals. We felt she received superior instruction to a public school in that the class sizes were not nearly as large. She was able to be a individual and yet not get lost on a huge campus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 13, 2004

Outstanding academics, great teachers who care, excellent administation.
—Submitted by a staff


Posted May 27, 2004

I went to WCHS, and now that I have graduated and have started a university, I realize how ill-prepared I am compared to the others who went to public schools. All we did is pray in class for 15 minutes, and use rest of the time to 'learn?' I think the school can be much better with the amount of money they are receiving from the students. School does not provide necessary classes for the students, and I regret not transferring out to another school earlier.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 24, 2004

Could be much much better. Does not offer many APs. Only 2-3 good teachers in the whole school. The counselor does not know anything about colleges and universities, except Christian ones. School does not prep the students for college.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2004

Could be much better. Not much exposure to outside world. Strict in a short-sighted way; did not see much forgiveness or graceful direction.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2004

Overall could be better. If you are looking for a place that your child will not be exposed to a lot of things of the world then Western would be a choice to consider. In addition not that great athletic wise very small but spread out community.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 63%
Hispanic 26%
Asian 6%
Black 5%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1115 E Puente St
Covina, CA 91724
Phone: (626) 967-0733

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Quest Academy
Covina, CA



Eagle Academy
West Covina, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT