Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
20 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered School leader (1 response)
characters left.
There are 40 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Teresa Hughes Elementary School 4

Posted May 10, 2016
- a parent
Teachers and staff care about students. They want students to be successful and believe all of them will go to college!

Teresa Hughes Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2015
- a parent
This is the first year I get involved and become a parent volunteer at the Parent center. The coordinator at the Parent Center Gina is always willing to help every Parent/guardian, the teachers and the school. The Principal Ms. Cortez is young and with fresh bright new ideas to enhance our school and make it better. I believe Teresa hughes is now a great school with awesome staff/teachers and parents.


Teresa Hughes Elementary School 5

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
To be my first experience in Public school after 4 years of Private education my children and I are happy to be part of Teresa Hughes family. I was skeptical about all the public schools in the Cudahy/Bell area due to all the negative comments i have come across, but i decided to give this school a try and am extremely pleased with all the staff. i do agree front office staff should greet with a smile which is part of good customer service. But as far as being rude, i have never encountered any rude staff. The Principal Ms. Cortez is a very courteous and cheerful person, always helping and on the move. She always greets everyone with a smile. I like what she is doing for the school, which is to the children's best interest. Mr. Herrera is also such a great person. I can go on with all the positive things I as a parent am grateful for, but i think i made my point. Im glad we chose Teresa Hughes!!!!

Teresa Hughes Elementary School 1

Posted August 17, 2015
- a community member
This school needs a principal who is a true leader. Teachers need to get off their comfort zone, stop talking about going to pitbull concerts and work. Parents are doing their best to form part of their child's education. There's too much favoritism going on in the parent center. It is not the same without Soledad. The new community rep refuses to do workshops because she can't translate English to Spanish. She mocks parents that don't speak good Spanish. What a terrible environment there is at Teresa Hughes. Changes need to be make, fast.

Teresa Hughes Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a community member
They disrespect parents all the time. How are they going to develop respect in students if they don't know how to give it.


Teresa Hughes Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a community member
They treat certain students with special attention. Specially if the student is the son or daughter of a staff member. Administration is not trained to feel compassion,caring nor empathy.

Teresa Hughes Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted August 17, 2015
- a community member
Administration lacks in honesty, integrity and fairness. They only treat some parents with special attention. The parents they don't like, get mistreated and are sent away without permission to enter campus. They don't take responsibility for their errors. They don't apologize to nobody. They're always right and parents are wrong.

Teresa Hughes Elementary School 2

Posted August 23, 2014
- a parent
Every since Ms. Fuller which proved to be the best principal the school has been a disaster and will continue without great leadership. The office manager need to stop making faces at the parents. The parent that are in Parent Center are horrible always talking bad about teacher and themselves and its community Representative need to be more of a leader and involve more parents. The parental involvement needs improvement and they need the lady that ran the parent center she had workshop and resource now that is all gone. I hope things do improve. Very unsatisfied. Good thing Mrs. Cortez left she ruined the school.


Teresa Hughes Elementary School 3

Posted March 28, 2014
- a community member
My sister and nephew attended this school ( a few years apart)..... I feel that the school attempts to involve parents in their children's education, but some parents are simply not interested. Thus the lack of educational disciple at home, is reflected on the students Test Scores- which are terrible. Note to parents: a child's base education and the belief in attaining "Good Grades" begins at home. Sure great teachers help, but the teachers that can negatively/positively impact a child's life the most are called PARENTS.

Teresa Hughes Elementary School 5

Posted November 19, 2012
- a teacher
Many of the changes at this school are proving to be positive! It is moving in the right direction with a 30 point increase on the CST.

Nearby schools

Teresa Hughes Elementary School
4242 Clara Street, Cudahy, CA  90201-5010
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 40 reviews. (323) 560-4422
Last modified Teresa Hughes Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 3 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top