Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Star Prep Academy

Private | 6-12 | 70 students

We are best known for commitment to student success.

 
 

Living in Culver City

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $711,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,520.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

34 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 13, 2008

I read some of the reviews here, and you've got to be kidding!! There were so many behavior problems and special needs students at this school that my son was constantly frustrated. When my son was here they didn't have textbooks for some of his classes and at 25k a year you'd think that would be a given. There was a new prinicipal every year until last year and teacher turnover seems to be fairly high too. In his new school, my son is less distracted by the kids with behavior problems and the animal noise. It's not for everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 21, 2008

I can't say much here, but what I have to say can be summed up in this- This school is the best thing that happened to me. Thanks to the environment it provides, I am graduating at the age of 16 and attending a good four year university in the fall. Without Star Prep I wouldn't have graduated by now, and I might not have graduated a year from now if I continued at public school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 29, 2008

Overall I am very happy with STAR Prep Academy. The individualized attention my child recieves here is much greater than that of other school programs in the area. They follow through on what they say and actually provide the real-world and hands-on education that they promise. Well rounded program with solid support from administration and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2007

Great program, great staff, great kids. The demand is high and yet they keep on delivering!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2007

This is the school of our dreams. Passionate and caring staff, rigorous and cutting-edge curriclum, small classes, wide variety of elective offerings, and a uniqueness found nowhere else. Their recent facility renovations are outstanding! All of my children will attend this school. Worth every penny (yet their tuition is less than most other private schools)!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2007

STAR Prep is exactly the nurturing environment I was looking for for my daughter. Not only has she grown academically, but also as an individual.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 1, 2007

Star prep is supposed to be for the gifted and talented my child was hardly challenged here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2007

Excellent creative arts program,small classes with nice teacher:student ratio, great staff, gr8 principal. Excellent Science teacher from Africa the best. Nice to be able to work with the animals in the Ecostation. Would have liked the school to have used a better, more enriched curriculum. Hope that they find a curriculum that can be blended with the many projects that were meant to offer real world learning experiences. Skills child learned well before attending, not maintained well at all-especially in Math/Pre-Alg, Grammar, vocab and Language Arts-they all suffered. Spanish class no work books. Expensive school that does not use textbooks? Utilized copied papers. Your child may be distracted by other students with behavior probs.The school has potential-but not willing to return.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2007

Good school. Small setting. Creative and unique learning enviornment if your child is one who beats to a different drummer.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 15, 2007

STAR Prep Academy provides students with an opportunity to take hold of their education in a small, familial environment. The Academy provides students with unique opportunities to work with animals on a daily basis as part of their regular school day, while pursuing a college-prep course load. Instruction is differentiated to student level and needs, while the wide variety of elective options keep students engaged in their curriculum.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted June 14, 2007

STAR_Prep is the middle/high school of my dreams. Many schools advertise accelerated learning, individualized instruction, and a student-centered approach to education. STAR_Prep actually provides all that and more. My son wants to go to school again! Backed by STAR Education (award winning organization with a 20 year track record), STAR_Prep (in its fourth year) has hit the ground running: computer lab, laptops, state-of-the-art music lab, amazing elective courses, AP classes, 4 foreign languages, WASC affiliation (read accreditation ), and more. In addition to all that, STAR_Prep is partnered with STAR Eco Station (a non-profit exotic animal rescue/sanctuary). Students can work directly (and I mean hands-on) with the animals on a daily basis. Downside? The school is looking for larger facilities. No big team sports yet, big-school proms, and such. Flipside? No gangs, cliques, or drugs. Teachers know each student; are accessible; and focus on student success, not fundraising and tenure.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2007

Star Prep Academy is unbelievable. Our son has always been a very good student, but has absolutely blossomed in this environment. He started middle school here in Fall 2006, and he not only enjoys going to school every day, but doing his homework! (We'll be here through high school.) The principal and teachers are the most wonderful we have ever experienced: enthusiastic, dedicated, hard-working, talented, warm, friendly and innovative. They honestly care for each student as an individual and do everything possible to help them succeed. Creative and critical thinking is encouraged instead of rote memorization. The small school size allows for very personalized instruction and attention. Art, music, film, fashion design, Japanese, and Brazilian capoeira are just some of the extras available to the students, and they can also work with rescued animals at the adjacent Ecostation. Parent involvement with special events and daily activities are highly encouraged and promoted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2007

My son came to live with me when he was about to enter his junior year. We quickly had to find a school, and it had to meet two requirements: 1)flexibility to work with him as an indenpendent study student for extended absences while he competed in sports tournaments 2) good college prepration and counseling (to make for the lack in his previous school). STAR Prep has far exceeded our expectations on both counts. He has small classes; extraordinary, stimulating teahers; a range of extracurricular activities that has transformed his ho-hum attitude toward school into dedicated enthusiasm; and a small, suppportive student body. Several mothers of his long-time friends have recently commented to me that they've never seen him so happy. Colleges that he previously dismissed out of hand as being too rigorous he is now sending for applications. I am thrilled with his transformation in just one year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2007

STAR Prep really does an amazing job individualizing and gearing the program to gifted and talented kids. Excellent teaching, truly amazing leadership and extraordinary enthusiasm on the part of staff make this an incredible school, especially for kids who enjoy more than just textbook learning and testing at a set pace. Offers an incredible array of classes with experienced teachers who like bright kids and are willing to go the extra mile -- or 10 -- to help students learn what they can do. Small and new, so it still has to establish its reputation and build the student body. It will, because it is on the cutting edge of educating teens for a world where creativity, flexibility, analytical thinking and producing quality work will be most valued. Although the program exceeds all classic college entrance requirements, kids here have to go beyond by setting their own high standards...and meeting them.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 57% 26%
Two or more races 17% 3%
Black 15% 6%
Hispanic 11% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Japanese
Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Selected as a "Model Educational Program" by U.S. White House
  • Winner of 2 Awards-41st Annual California Media Fest (2007)
  • Healthiest Student Bodies Award (2007)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mr. Zahir Robb
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (310) 842-8806

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Auditorium
  • Computer
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Capoeira, Martial Arts,Yoga
Girls sports
  • Capoeira, Martial Arts,Yoga

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Parent involvement
  • The parents of star academy students are involved in the design of their student's curriculum. their concerns and interests are addressed on an individual basis, helping to provide a more well-rounded educational setting for their student. parents are also encouraged to donate their time and talents to our students.
More from this school
  • STAR Prep Academy shares its facility with the STAR ECO Station, a wildlife rescue and rehabilitation facility and environmental science museum. Students can work with exotic and endangered wildlife as interns or enroll in our Veterinary Science course.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10101 Jefferson Boulevard
Culver City, CA 90232
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 842-8808

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Ohr Eliyaha Academy
Culver City, CA




St. Augustine
Culver City, CA


Angeles Workshop School
Los Angeles, CA


Park Century School
Culver City, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT