Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 51 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


72 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


El Marino Elementary School 5

Posted April 27, 2014
- a parent
We moved to this neighborhood to attend this school. Besides the languages the attitude towards learning and studding in general is what important in this school.

El Marino Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2014
- a parent
Great Immersion school with very high API score. My kids attended Japanese program and they speak/write Japanese fluently. It's a very small school and teacher/students have close connection. So bullying is really rare (or doesn't exist at all). Compared to other school, EM have lots of homework. Teachers pushes your kids to study/learn. So be prepared, you'll be fine!


El Marino Elementary School 5

Posted November 30, 2013
- a community member
I consider my self one of the luckiest children in the work, to get so immersed with a culture and language at such a young age. I am SO proud to say that I'm from El Marino. If it was't for this school, i would't be the fluent spanish speaker I am today. The experience I had at elementary school was like no other.

El Marino Elementary School 5

Posted September 21, 2013
- a parent
We have a 3rd grader and a Kindergartener at El Marino and feel very fortunate to be able to send our kids to such a great school. The teachers and parents work very hard to provide a level of excellence year after year. Lots of great cultural events each year on top of excellent arts, music, daily p.e., and academic instruction. And small class sizes!

El Marino Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2013
- a parent
We have a 5th grader and a 1st grader at El Marino, and in our opinion, it is a fantastic school. It is amazing to see the kids thriving in their core subjects - exceeding their grade level expectations - while learning in a foreign language to boot! El Marino is also such a supportive community of like-minded parents focused on education. In fact, one way I think about El Marino is that it boasts the cultural and socioeconomic diversity of the great public school that it is, but because it is an "opt-in" school, it also boasts the primary advantage of good private schools: every family at El Marino wants to be there and prioritizes education. Best of both worlds!


El Marino Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2013
- a parent
My son loves going to El Marino. His teacher, Nagumo-sensei, is awesome. If you are lucky enough to live in Culver City and want your child to participate in a language immersion program (Spanish or Japanese), this is the place.

El Marino Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2013
- a parent
El Marino Language Immersion School is an amazing institution for anyone who is supportive of the dual language immersion experience. The child who is immersed in the target language will learn it here. The administrative staff and teachers are extremely competent and the community of supportive cooperative parents makes this school a model of how all our public schools should operate. The community of families and the teachers take great pride in the school; it is demonstrated by all of the administrators, teachers, and families who are vested in the child s education through language immersion. The academics are age appropriate and challenging for the students, the expectations of the students and families are high but reasonable, the teachers are dedicated to academics and making students proficient in one of the two languages taught at the school. There are good channels of communication with the administration and the teachers. Internet communication with the teacher facilitates direct communications with her/him without disrupting the target language the students are learning and using at school throughout the day. However, it can be overwhelming to new parents.

El Marino Elementary School 4

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
I was nervous about the language immersion at first but have loved this school. We are in year two and feel like we are getting a private school education at public school costs. What I mean by this is that the sense of community at the school is great, every one is working together to make it the best.


El Marino Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
This is a great school. We have great teachers, nice staffs and a lot parent volunteers.

El Marino Elementary School 5

Posted September 19, 2013
- a parent
El Marino has been such an amazing school for my daughter. I'm so impressed by the commitment of the teacher and staff and other parents. After speaking with many of my friends with children at other schools, I realize how lucky we are to have field trips, anti-bully week, computer labs, art, special cultural events, etc. Additionally, I think given the long history of El Marino with language immersion, it is one of the best options if you are interested in exposing your child to a second language.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

El Marino Elementary School
11450 Port Road, Culver City, CA  90230
(310) 842-4241
Last modified El Marino Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
El Marino Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 72 reviews. Top