Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

La Ballona Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

40 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 10, 2014

Maestra Orosco is a fabulous Kindergarten teacher. My daughter had her for Kindergarten and was comfortably reading and singing in Spanish. The school itself felt like a larger version of my home--some things/people I liked, others I didn't like or understand, but in the end it's all family. I felt that my voice was heard and that I could effect change when I needed to. Could be more parent involvement.. but hay.. that's life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2013

Hello. I am writing a review because it was hard for me to find information on this school last year while I was looking. My child is in the Spanish program and I couldn't be happier. The school is amazing. In just a few short months he is already speaking. I love how non pretentious the families are and how friendly the staff is. My son is Caucasian, so he is a minority at this school. But I haven't seen any negative effects from this. He is thriving and I am thrilled. Don't overlook this school because of it's location, age, lack of information on the web. It is AMAZING.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2012

I am a parent of a kindergartener at this school and it is an exceptional school. My son is in the Spanish dual-language program and is already speaking and reading in Spanish and English. Parent involvement is very high at this school. Just because a school is Title I, does not mean parents won't be involved, does not mean discipline problems, does mean low-quality education. Many people would rather El Marino to this school as they have been doing dual-immersion in Culver City for 30 years, but you couldn't ask for a better school, staff, teachers and parents than what we have here and, frankly, I think the high population of Latino's at this school and not wanting to be the minority is what scares many of the "locals" away. Simply put, that's really just the underpinnings of privilege rearing its ugly head, IMO. These are some of the most dedicate groups of parents I have ever seen and they want the same things that any loving parent wants for their child: stellar education, teachers, happiness and academic achievement for their children. This is true for the Title I, Latina, White, Black and Asian families alike.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 26, 2012

My son is in the 2nd grade in the Spanish immersion program. Both his Spanish and English literacy skills are above grade level. His scores in math and science are terrific. I can't say enough good things about the teaching staff: They are incredibly attentive and experienced. They communicate and support one another. My son's teacher this year has already taken the class on a number of field trips that support in-class curricula. My son especially enjoys the math+music and jiji math programs. Parents are very involved and there are activities (e.g. family night, movie night) and fundraisers (fall festival, book fairs) throughout the year that support community building. There is a new principal this year who, so far, seems excellent. La Ballona is definitely a "great school" where kids can develop socially and academically.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2012

We are so happy with the Dual Language program at La Ballona!! My son is in the 2nd grade which is the group of students from the first year of Dual Language learning at La Ballona. Every year we have to wait until early September to find out who they have hired to teach that year's Spanish immersion class and every year we are so deeply impressed with the wonderful teachers who have been chosen to teach our son! This year my youngest will enter kindergarten and I have no hesitation about sending him to La Ballona. I have found the teachers to be truly exceptional and dedicated, the principal to be a really great leader for the school, and the parents to be very involved both in the classroom and as fundraisers for the school. I love the international group of students and the fact that the school is heavily Latino. For our (non-native Spanish-speaking) son this means that he is truly immersed in Spanish language and Latino culture not only while he is in the classroom, but also in the lunchroom, on the playground, and during drop off and pick up as many of the adults around him converse in Spanish. I couldn't be happier with the school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2011

La Ballona is the hidden secret of the Culver City school district. Our teachers are amazing and involved. We have an outstanding Spanish immersion program, a strong Math+Music program, Actors' Gang program, SuccessMakers, and now a Growing Garden program. The list goes on. A lot of high parent involvement, now with a booster club that organizes events and after school activities. If you want to be part of an up and coming school, you should check out La Ballona.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2011

La Ballona has a reputation as the redheaded stepchild of Culver City Schools because of its ELL population and socio-economically disadvantaged student population. More parent involvement is occurring, and test scores are rising. However last year 49% of students overall and 52% of free lunch population tested not proficient in language arts. It's a tough school for any student who is slightly outside the box, meaning for students who fall far behind or who excel because teachers already feel too much pressure. My child attended for many years and ultimately left because of low academic standards and because tensions between admin/teachers/staff was interfering with quality of education. The teacher quality simply depends on who you get and their relationship with admin. Unfortunately, I've seen some teachers yell at their students in class and office numerous times in a humiliating way. Two teachers were sweet and kind though.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 21, 2011

La Ballona continues to shine with involved parents, enthusiastic students, and dedicated teachers. Our scores keep going up! Our Booster Club and PTA work hard to enrich the school's learning opportunities for students. The La Ballona Green Club encourages students to be responsible custodians of the planet. Our teachers are technology-oriented, multi-lingual, and caring. We are a diverse school! Shake hands with the world at La Ballona!
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 20, 2011

We LOVE La Ballona! The Dual Immersion program in Spanish has been a fabulous experience! The teachers are the best and our principal is extremely committed to academic achievement, and is very approachable and responsive to the parents and booster club. All in all, we could not be happier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

La Ballona has been awarded the California Distinguished School Award and boasts some of the most dedicated and professional teachers in CCUSD. The population is diverse and children go to school with students from all over the world. Staff and involved parents are very sensitive to the culturally differing needs of the stakeholders. The motived parent groups have worked hard to involve more parents in these difficult budget times and a wonderful espirt du corps has emerged because of it. La Ballona also offers non-traditional enrichment programs like an Acting Conservatory Program with The Actor's Gang (founded by Tim Robbins), 5th grade ballroom dancing and folk dancing from all around the world. There are also literacy programs and many kinds of exposure to performing arts. Families who are interested in La Ballona should speak to other families who actually attend this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

Both of my children attended La Ballona. They had wonderful, enriched experiences at this diverse and supportive school. The principal and staff are by far some of the most professional and caring adults I have had the pleasure of partnering with. This is the kind of school where the parents participate without looking for a pat on the back. They just simply get the job done. I am proud of the education my children received and I would highly recommend La Ballona to any parent looking for an elementary school for their child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

I love this school, proud member of the PTA and Booster Club. Teachers are very great and seemed very involved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

Since my kid started this year I've grown to love this school. The teachers are very involved, and the parents do so much to provide the necessities for them to do well. Overall I am glad I made the decision to send them here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

The school is a great environment, well diverse, and the teachers are very involved. My kids love this school from the activities such as the October fest to the Success Makers program. I can only say positive words about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 19, 2011

I have sent all 4 of my kids to La Ballona and they all have a wonderfull learning experience. The teachers are top notch which is why we had an api score for 2010 of 800 and is also a distinguished school. There is much parental involvement as it has not only a pta but a booster club. Anyone who says La Ballona is not a good school has not experienced it .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2011

My son is finishing his Kindergarten year in the Spanish immersion program and doing great! His teacher is fantastic and we have been very pleased with the curriculum. He is comfortably reading in Spanish and English, doing great art projects, learning about music in the symphonic music program, and enjoying going to school. I have volunteered in the classroom and seen first-hand the wonderful way his teacher interacts with the kids. The program is a full-day kindergarten (as opposed to El Marino's half day program) so our kids are getting more education at La Ballona. My only criticism-and these are just my issues and haven't effected my son at all-are that the school could have a better sense of community among parents and a larger grassy area for play. But all in all we are very happy with La Ballona!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2010

La Ballona is a gem. With a city campus, this school still manages to have wonderful play areas for the kids, while excelling at academics! With PE every day, a new Spanish Immersion program, and a Principal who really cares about each and every student, we couldn't ask for more. But the school could. With budget cuts, this money would mean more art programs for the upper grades, additional music programs for the first grade and much more. I vote for La Ballona Elementary!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 13, 2010

I find the overall rating of this school to be frustrating. The school has increased its test scores and won several awards for its academic improvement. The Spanish immersion program is exactly the same as El Marino. The parent involvement is increasing. All we need is for the school to update their own website!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2010

My son started at La Ballona and is now in 5th grade. My daughter is in 1st grade. They love their school. My daughter adored her Kindergarten teacher. I didn't think it was possible but she likes her first grade teacher even more! When my child comes home and plays 'school' and does her 'writers workshop' at home, making and illustrating stories, I know she's doing well. The principal is amazing and very open to ideas from the parents. My son has had great, experienced and dedicated teachers. These teachers come to the PTA and booster club meetings, volunteer at fundraising events and one 5th grade teacher stays after school on her own time 3 days a week to run a 'homework club' for 5th graders. La Ballona has the most experienced teachers in the district, a rich multicultural student body and fantastic involved parents. It really is a gem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2010

My child is in the Spanish Immersion program in Kindergarten. She loves the school and the teachers. We have an amazing principle who has done great things with the school on the academic side. The new Booster club and the PTA are very involved and offer a great way for parents to feel they are contributing.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

853

Change from
2012 to 2013

+6

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

853

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+6

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school's test score performance improved between Spring 2012 and Spring 2013. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

7 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

7 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
53%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

92 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
65%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
53%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
35%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

111 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
59%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

82 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
55%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

81 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
62%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
73%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
62%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

76 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
84%

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
71%

2010

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

75 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
78%

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
72%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females64%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino54%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disability55%
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner54%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate55%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)66%
Parent education - college graduate65%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students65%
Females61%
Males69%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino61%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disability55%
Students with no reported disability67%
English learner59%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate65%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate53%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate86%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students47%
Females46%
Males48%
African American58%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Students with disability46%
Students with no reported disability47%
English learner18%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate17%
Parent education - high school graduate39%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate57%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate58%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students77%
Females81%
Males73%
African American64%
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Students with disability60%
Students with no reported disability80%
English learner64%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate91%
Parent education - high school graduate74%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate83%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Females76%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Not economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only85%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate80%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students81%
Females75%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino76%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Not economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability81%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate86%
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students73%
Females68%
Males76%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino65%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged69%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability74%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only81%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate50%
Parent education - high school graduate71%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students84%
Females79%
Males88%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino81%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged87%
Not economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learner67%
Fluent-English proficient and English only89%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate100%
Parent education - high school graduate76%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)79%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students78%
Females67%
Males86%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino77%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged80%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate82%
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)84%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
Hispanic 65%
White 15%
Asian 8%
Black 7%
Two or more races 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 62%N/AN/A
English language learners 37%N/AN/A
Source: CA Dept. of Education, 2013-2014

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: Civil Rights Data Collection, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Jennifer Slabbinck
Fax number
  • (310) 842-4298

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

10915 Washington Boulevard
Culver City, CA 90232
Website: Click here
Phone: (310) 842-4334

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT