Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
47 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (4 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 72 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


La Ballona Elementary School 4

Posted April 19, 2016
- a parent
Two of my children attended this school and for the most part we loved it. Every teacher with the exception of one 5th grade, Immersion teacher, was dedicated to meeting the students where they were in order to help them grasp the concepts they needed to learn for the year. All the other teachers prior to this one were standouts who really went the extra mile with their students. In addition, there are parents here who are incredibly active and involved with both the PTA and the Booster Club. I only wish we hadn't had such a horrible experience with our son's teacher during his last year there, as she was the only thing that marred our view of La Ballona and how the administration handles complaints of their teachers. Fortunately, he was moved to another teacher's class - though we did have to leave the immersion program in order to do so- and once again my son thrived. So there are some bad apples but ultimately it's a great school!

La Ballona Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 08, 2016
- a parent
Ms. Mendez, Ms. Flores and Ms. Perez (4th grade) were wonderful teachers who made a positive impact on my sons!


La Ballona Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted April 08, 2016
- a parent
Multiple hours of homework which tends to burn my little ones out and has hampered their love of learning a bit. There's actually been less homework now that my oldest is in middle school.

La Ballona Elementary School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 01, 2016
- a parent
Mrs. A. Dimitroff is an outstanding teacher and as a result has won "Teacher of the Year."

La Ballona Elementary School 2

Posted April 01, 2016
- a parent
We started our son in kindergarten here and there was no reading program at all. Then there was a lottery for the Spanish immersion class and they only took 1 student from his grade for the program. Then, when he got to 2nd grade, the common core requirements did a 180 turn so not only is he struggling with the new math teachings but he is also behind in his reading process even with our help at home each day. The parents are now expected to learn a whole new way of doing math in this elementary which will be nothing like how he will be taught in middle or high school.


La Ballona Elementary School 4

Posted January 11, 2016
- a community member
We are actually zoned for one of the higher ranking Culver City schools, but I choose to put my daughter into this school because she is loved here by the PTA, teachers, staff and other parents. There is such a diversity among the students that I feel she is getting a real-world, cultural, and moral education. Not only my daughter is excelling in her studies, but so are her class mates. I'm shocked and overjoyed at how well they all read for 1st graders. Like all Culver City Schools, be prepared for a 1:45 dismissal on Wednesdays and aftercare is difficult to get. I believe before care is available although not listed above, but availability is very limited. There are some 8am extra curricular classes available to the students

La Ballona Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
I am not opposed to homework but my child is 5. As a dual immersion student he gets a book we need to read twice every night as well as written homework. Again, he's 5. One sheet of homework a night (10 minutes of work) is plenty. When it's more than that, it's just a race to finish it. That said, there is no homework on the weekends. That's a solid choice.

La Ballona Elementary School 5

Posted November 24, 2015
- a parent
My child is in dual immersion kindergarten. He had no Spanish when he started. Watching him slowly grasp the language has been awesome and frankly, a lot of work (for both of us). That said, he's come a long way in a short time and I'm very pleased. His teacher is great. She's calm, respectful and excited about teaching. She clearly cares for her students. The principal, Ms. Slabbinck, is a true educator. She loves the children and the children love her. She's personable, positive, interested, curious and will go the extra mile to try to help though she is, like all principals, beyond busy. She is, frankly, the hardest worker I've seen in a long time. The parents are, by and large, invested, friendly, willing to help out.


La Ballona Elementary School 5

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
La Ballona is an all-around fabulous school. Our child entered Kindergarten this year in the Spanish Immersion program, and we couldn't be happier. The pulse of the school is incredibly positive, starting with the principal, Ms. Slabbinck, and continuing with the teachers, school staff, and other parents. I think the perception/reputation of this school is sometimes a little misguided and inaccurate, as compared with some of the other schools, but I think that has been changing steadily over the past few years. I would highly recommend this school hands down!

La Ballona Elementary School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted November 23, 2015
- a parent
I would say the amount is between just right and too much. Some weeks it seems like the right amount and other weeks it is too much.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

La Ballona Elementary School
10915 Washington Boulevard, Culver City, CA  90232-4045
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 72 reviews. (310) 842-4334
Last modified La Ballona Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 7 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top