Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Culver City, CA
Students enrolled: 221
Before care: No
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Playa Del Rey Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
My daughter was at Playa Del Rey from Kinder and she just graduated from 5th grade. She had amazing teachers who were passionate about teaching, 100% committed, and hardworking. The teachers, support staff, and Ms. Blue helped her grow academically, emotionally, and socially. My daughter loved going to going to school everyday and we will miss Playa Del Rey very much.

Playa Del Rey Elementary School 5

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
Very competent and knowledgeable teachers, who love teaching! My daughter has been attending PDR for the past 5 years and we have had wonderful experience with the teachers, support staff, and Ms. Blue.


Playa Del Rey Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
Playa del Rey is culturally diverse school and all students and families are treated with empathy, care, and compassion.

Playa Del Rey Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
The students are taught to be respectful to each other, parents, teachers, and staff. I volunteer often at PDR and l must say that the students are respectful.

Playa Del Rey Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 08, 2015
- a parent
Yes the students are taught to treat each other with respect and fairness. I have not had any issues in this area for the past 5 years.


Playa Del Rey Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly disagree

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
This school states they have a 0 tolerance of bullying but bullying should really be their motto.

Playa Del Rey Elementary School
Develops respect: Strongly disagree

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
Again, the school only respects the few whites and the Asian students. They unfairly want to discipline black children for simple things. But Latino kids can be bullies all day long.

Playa Del Rey Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
This school cares mostly for Asians students. Could care less about black students. They will unfairly give Principal Awards based on a misguided grading system Uses GPAs when LAUSD does not sanction GPAs at the elementary school level.


Playa Del Rey Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
Racism will not continue to win. You are accountable for your actions towards voiceless black children. Shameful.

Playa Del Rey Elementary School 5

Posted October 21, 2013
- a parent
My daughter is currently in kindergarten at PDR, and we couldn't be happier. This is a small neighborhood school and there is a great community feel, with lots of participation by parents and families. The principal is everything an elementary school principal should be (skilled, diplomatic, patient, caring), and the teachers are not only dedicated, but also some of the most skilled professionals I have met (and I'm a former teacher). PDR is very diverse both culturally and socio-economically, and everyone sees this as the asset that it is. I really can't say enough; I'm so glad that we moved into the neighborhood.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Playa Del Rey Elementary School
12221 Juniette Street, Culver City, CA  90230
(310) 827-3560
Last modified Playa Del Rey Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Playa Del Rey Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 47 reviews. Top