Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Augustine

Private | K-8 | 201 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Culver City

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $711,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,520.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 2, 2010

I have two children are attending St. Augustine School and very pleased with teacher leadership and quality. They are excellent in preparing my children for advancing their further education in high school. The parent involvement in this school is very amazing. We are very happy about the school and would like to recommend our friends to this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

My son and daughter both graduated from St. A. Both are excelling at rigorous high schools, based on the excellent education they received. The faculty and the administration are great and caring; it has always felt like a family. Totally recommend it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2010

I have three children that go to this school. The staff is top notch and they will make sure that your child(ren) are prepared for high school and beyond. An emphasis is given to make sure that you child has a safe learning environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 5, 2010

Tis school has horrible leadership. The teachers are outstanding but the office staff and principal are extremely bad. Don't send your children to this school. You will regret it in th long run
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2009

I have two children who have attended St. Augustine School since Pre-K. One child is now in 3rd grade and the other is in 1st grade. I have always been very pleased with the education that they are receiving. Lots of homework is given to reinforce the day's lesson. I feel that both children are being prepared for high school now. The teachers are great and genuinely care about the students. They welcome parent questions and involvement. A good selection of extra-curricular activities round out the program offered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2008

I think this school is good. Its has many extra cirricular activities. But Its disipline is not good. I would get made fun of everyday. When I told the teachers they didn't really care. sumbitted from A former SAS Student
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 14, 2008

My son recently joined the Kindergarten and I can say this is a great school on several aspects. They have a caring and professional attitude towards education, it is general enough if you have to transfer but also personalized to fit your child's needs. One of the most important points for me as a new parent was how welcoming other parents and how understanding the teachers are, I am most grateful. I was worried as most of the kids knew each other from pre-K that my son-who has just turned 5, would have a difficult time adjusting and in turn would not want to go to school, but he has been very adamant to get in his uniform and join his classmates every morning. He came from a playbase pre-K, and adopted to the academic environment rather smoothly. After school care is wonderful. Plenty of activities for art, sports, chess, music!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

I have three children that attend St. Augustines. With any private school, the principal is basically the CEO that drives the school. Principal Mezey has done a fine job at St. Augustines (& prior with St. Joan of Arc). Unlike other catholic schools in the area, St. Augustines has been able to maintain stability within its faculty. Overall, the teachers are very involved. Some critics have said the upper teachers are a little tough...but most parents prefer the tough love. The Pre-K is great. A full day for the little ones 8am to 3pm & they also wear the school uniforms. S.A.'s also has Gateway to Art, a special art program that only selected private schools in the area are involved with. Tuition is fair in comparison with other catholic schools in the area.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2006

ST. Augustine is an awesome school. The teachers are great and are there for you whenever you need them. The eight graders get Entrance Exam Prep which really boosts their scores. Also once a student leaves SAS they are prepared for high school and can easily get into AP classes. All the students know each other and are really close, which adds so much warmth. The activities range from sports to academics and music, which is great. And anyone would feel safe there. The standards are very high compared to other schools and the tuition is at an affordable rate. I am glad i choose to go to SAS
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 51% 52%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 14% 1%
Black 12% 6%
White 10% 26%
Two or more races 8% 3%
Asian or Pacific Islander 6% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Beate Nguyen
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Archdiocese of Los Angeles
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

3819 Clarington Avenue
Culver City, CA 90232
Phone: (310) 838-3144

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



The Little Flock Academy
Los Angeles, CA


Palms Elementary School
Los Angeles, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT