Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Private
Culver City, CA
Students enrolled: 213
Before care: Yes
After care: Yes
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Echo Horizon is an elementary school by design, one that nurtures the imagination and creativity of early childhood that are essential for future academic and social learning. The School provides a safe, supportive, community with strong, loving adults whom children can trust. Here, they have time to discover and explore themselves, as they chart their paths into the future. Echo Horizon is a place where great teaching and great values converge and great kids thrive. Get to know us and see our impact.
October 10, 2014

4 stars
Based on 42 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


43 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Echo Horizon School 5

Posted October 30, 2014
- a parent
We have been at Echo Horizon for 6 years and couldn't be happier. Kids are well adjusted, well educated and kind. Martha, administration and teachers are a top-notch group of educators who will clearly lead our school into the next 30+ years. Come to a tour, you'll love Lisa, our Admissions Director, too!

Echo Horizon School 5

Posted October 21, 2014
- a parent
Our daughter is blossoming at Echo Horizon - we absolutely adore the teachers, the integration of technology and the way that the school fosters creativity and social development. We have loved becoming a part of this small, caring community and are so glad that it is everything we hoped for. Once we visited EH, we knew that she would get the introduction to academics as well as be able to develop in richer ways - and this has all been true. The head of school, Martha Schurr, is wonderful with parents and at knowing and advocating for her students.


Echo Horizon School 5

Posted June 25, 2014
- a parent
Echo is an awesome school. As a parent at the school for several years now I've been impressed with how EHS combines strong academics with a nurturing approach-- students come first, use of technology is top notch and the envy of many l.a. private schools. (I mean that literally-- other schools come to Echo to see tech done right). The arts are integrated thru out and the school simply feels like a breath of fresh air compared to many other schools. For an independent school, there is much less attitude from the majority of the parents. We were so happy when we enrolled to see how happy our kids were and we remain pleased. My kids are doing well, are progressively challenged and are learning in a much more motivated fashion than their previous independent school. The Head of School is a dynamic, long time educator from Marlborough and a strong leader. She is moving the school forward even more and making adjustments after the school was capably led by the previous Head for 27 years. We feel fortunate to have our kids at Echo Horizon!

Echo Horizon School 5

Posted June 23, 2014
- a parent
We looked at a lot of schools -- and I do mean A LOT -- before we chose Echo Horizon. It has been a wonderful fit for my son who just completed Kindergarten this year. We chose Echo because of the quality, kindness and involvement of the teachers and staff. From our very first day there, all of the educators, not just the ones who taught Kindergarten, knew my son and greeted him by name each morning. The focus here is on educating the whole child, so in addition to wonderful academics, there is also emphasis placed on character, leadership, creativity and community. Personally, I feel that education is a marathon, not a sprint, and Echo's gentle way of teaching demonstrates why it is so important to keep children's natural curiosity intact. The new principal seems to be making some much needed changes and is open and receptive to parent input. The other parents and older children have been extremely welcoming and we really love being part of the Echo Horizon family

Echo Horizon School 5

Posted June 19, 2014
- a parent
I usually don't have the time to post how much I love something - but after reading a previous review - I felt compelled to respond. My family has been at Echo Horizon School for 4 years and we are so happy! I can't say enough wonderful things about the incredible, thought-provoking, creative academics they offer and the warmest community full of truly nice, bright kids and lovely, down-to-earth families. Teachers are top-notch academically, genuinely caring, and are all trained in Responsive Classroom and how to integrate technology into everyday learning to enhance the lessons. Our four arts disciplines are integrated into what each grade is studying academically - creating an enriching, unique multi-disciplinary approach to learning. While we did go through a seamless transition this year and we have an amazing new Head - any changes taking place are positive to ensure the best academic and character education. We now have sports teams! And a school is always best when fantastic new blood enters with fresh ideas - which is exactly what is excitedly happening here! Kids at this school love to learn! Echo Horizon School is a special place - and you'd be lucky to join us!


Echo Horizon School 5

Posted June 19, 2014
- a parent
We have been parents at EHS for over 12 years. We researched and visited a broad spectrum of schools,from traditional to cutting edge.EHS offered a balanced academic,social and artistic environment at a beautiful campus adjacent to a large park.EHS provided a fantastic foundation for our children,one of whom is thriving at LA's most competitive secondary school and another who is on the way.The school continues to build on a foundation of inclusiveness and thoughtful teaching principals.It has earned and maintains a world class reputation as a technology leader(Apple Distinguished School for 5 years running).A new Head of School brings new energy and ever improving best practices to numerous aspects of school life.Curriculum and other key areas such as athletics and the arts are always improving.It is an imperfect process,but there is a new found spirit that embraces positive change while adhering to core principals of inclusiveness,character and group as well as individual achievement.We live in the heart of a city that groans under the stress of its affluence, poverty, competitiveness and stress.This school and greater community is an oasis. We would do it again in an LA minute.

Echo Horizon School 1

Posted June 11, 2014
- a parent
A school in serious decline. Their summer school was just abruptly canceled due to low enrollment. Only 22 of the 40 Kinder spots were filled for this coming fall. Staff turnover is high; they seem to be having trouble attracting quality teachers. The school feels like it is dying. We are glad to be out soon.

Echo Horizon School 5

Posted March 11, 2014
- a parent
We have been at Echo Horizon for over four years now and it has been an outstanding school in so many mays. When you think of Westside Private school, you automatically have a biased opinion, am I correct? This school defies all stereotypes. The children, the families, the community and excellent teaching create a warm, friendly and loving environment. The kids are kind, empathetic and bright-This is a great reflection of the parents and the philosophy of the school. The new head of school, Martha Schurr is a great asset to Echo. If you are to look at a school on the westside of LA, with a well balanced, down to earth community with solid academics look no further.


Echo Horizon School 5

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
We are huge fans of Echo Horizon and our daughter has thrived there since the moment she first walked through the door of Pre-K. The teaching staff is attentive, warm, creative, and forward-thinking. And we love the other parents too! It is a truly great community.

Echo Horizon School 5

Posted February 25, 2014
- a parent
I love the academic and character education my kids are receiving at Echo Horizon School! In any school, transitions are positive and needed to ensure the best and most current educational practices. Martha Schuur is an incredible leader (with years of teaching and administrative experience at Marlborough) with a motto of "what is best for the kids" always at the forefront of all her thoughtful decision-making. We produce self-confident kids who are academically challenged through our use of technology as an Apple Distinguished School, our Singapore math teaching kids to think critically about math concepts rather than just memorize, our Kahn-Academy-like flipped classroom lessons, our real-world project-based learning, and our great arts program, just to name a few. But additionally, our kids are shown how to be good citizens within themselves, with their peers, and the outside community. And the parent community is warm and inviting. All our students matriculate into all the top middle schools in and around LA. I can't say enough wonderful things about the education your young child will receive and the incredible friendships you will make at Echo Horizon School!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Echo Horizon School
3430 McManus Ave, Culver City, CA  90232
(310) 838-2442
Last modified Echo Horizon School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Echo Horizon School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 43 reviews. Top