Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-6|Private
186 students
Follow
School principal icon 130x130 140902

School Official Point of View

Echo Horizon is an elementary school by design, one that nurtures the imagination and creativity of early childhood that are essential for future academic and social learning. The School provides a safe, supportive, community with strong, loving adults whom children can trust. Here, they have time to discover and explore themselves, as they chart their paths into the future. Echo Horizon is a place where great teaching and great values converge and great kids thrive. Get to know us and see our impact.
October 10, 2014

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
59 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (3 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 75 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Echo Horizon School 5

Posted June 14, 2016
- a parent
Teaches your kids to be good people above all else while getting a great education in a small setting. Empathy and problem solving are key without the pretension of other Los Angeles private schools. The diversity of students and families makes for an enriching experience!

Echo Horizon School 5

Posted April 12, 2016
- a parent
As a parent of a hearing impaired student and also of a typical hearing student, I feel I must respond to the one star review posted previously on 3/31/16. Both my children are treated EQUALLY which is the point of having a mainstream environment for hearing impaired students. My kids are very different yet both of their sets of teachers value them for who they are. The teachers take their time to understand each child's unique qualities and support those strengths. The school is such a wonderful mix of people. It is a community of warm families from all over Los Angeles that share values and education for their children.


Echo Horizon School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
We are especially grateful this year to Ms. Enlow and Ms. Mangieri in pre-k! They have been so wonderful with our son.

Echo Horizon School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
Echo Horizon emphasizes stick-to-itiveness, but not to the point of being cutthroat or a pressure cooker. We feel there is an appropriate and reasonable standard set by the school.

Echo Horizon School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
Echo Horizon emphasizes the points of pride, which focus on citizenship and personal responsibility. I think nothing speaks louder than how nice the children are to each other. We've been out and about in LA and had kids come up to us to introduce themselves as schoolmates of our children. The confidence, poise, and politeness are notable.


Echo Horizon School 5

Posted April 06, 2016
- a parent
We've had an extraordinary experience at Echo Horizon School. As we were looking at independent schools, we kept hearing that kids who go to Echo Horizon are just NICE. And it's true: the sixth graders go out of their way to say hello to our pre-kindergartner. The teachers are energetic, creative, and loving. The leadership is courageous and innovative. We love the kids and have formed great friendships with the other parents. Overall, we've found it to be an extremely warm and welcoming community, and we're honored to be a part of it.

Echo Horizon School 1

Posted March 31, 2016
- a community member
My child went to school there for one year. IT WAS AWFUL. This is no longer a school where deaf children can me mainstreamed. It's been taken over by the trophy wives of Beverly Hills and the deaf kids are treated like charity cases (at best). The teachers have obvious favorites and everyone is just plain MEAN.

Echo Horizon School 5

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
We are very pleased with Echo. Our son is starting his second year there and our daughter is starting her first. To address the concerns raised in some previous reviews: yes, Echo had to lay off many teaching assistants last year in order to adjust to its new lower enrollment. It is hard to say why the enrollment dropped. There are many factors that might lead to dropping enrollment, some of which are beyond a school's control. What a school can control is how it chooses to react, and in my opinion the school reacted appropriately, making some tough calls in order to adjust to reality rather than ignore the situation. On the unambiguously bright side, this year Echo has started a STEAM and "maker space" part of its curriculum. Echo's hearing-challenged students enrich all students' experience by exposing them to a special form of diversity.


Echo Horizon School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 23, 2015
- a parent
Values such as honesty, integrity, and fairness are explicit parts of the "Points of Pride" part of Echo's curriculum.

Echo Horizon School 5

Posted May 11, 2015
- a community member
Echo Horizon is an OUTSTANDING school! I'm a current 5th grade student. Echo Horizon has excellent teachers, incredible art programs, and great after school classes. I am learning so much from my teachers and they're really helping me thrive. The Language Arts teacher is beyond extraordinary. I'm not going to be here next year, and I'm going to miss all the great teachers and students. Echo Horizon has really given me the wings to fly.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Echo Horizon School
3430 McManus Ave, Culver City, CA  90232
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 75 reviews. (310) 838-2442
Last modified Echo Horizon School is a Private school that serves grades PK-6
Top