Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

1,034 students|Cupertino Union
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
62 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Staff member (1 response)
characters left.
There are 74 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Sam H. Lawson Middle School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted October 15, 2015
- a student
They give us around average homework, like in advanced math they give lots of homework, but in social studies, we have a homework project every month.

Sam H. Lawson Middle School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted October 15, 2015
- a student
It does since it allows you to think about things outside the box. We have lots of dermination of our studies.


Sam H. Lawson Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted October 15, 2015
- a student
When we give an email to a teacher, they are nice enough to quickly reply.

Sam H. Lawson Middle School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted October 15, 2015
- a student
They show how fun the environment tells to us in science and it protects all the rights.

Sam H. Lawson Middle School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted October 15, 2015
- a student
It shows honesty and fairness by the Advanced Math program. More than 50% of the students got it in 2015.


Sam H. Lawson Middle School 5

Posted January 20, 2015
- a community member
I'm not sure why so many people write about the cons of Lawson, which are all NOT TRUE. Lawson is a great school, and has an exceptional Special Ed program. I have seen how well all students are taken care of. The teachers are all great, and the electives they have are fun. The score is high, not beacuse we are all Asian, but because the teachers teach very well. Lawson is very friendly, and an exceptional school. There is actually very few events of bullying, and we have great countless that resolve any problems. The school is advanced in technology, having all students using iPads, which are much more conveniant. Lawson is located a few blocks away from the Cupertino Library which is convientiant, and chosen as a place of homework after school. All in all, Lawson is a, outstanding school.

Sam H. Lawson Middle School 5

Posted September 20, 2014
- a parent
I love this school it is amazing, the cooking elective is wonderful, overall I am amazed!

Sam H. Lawson Middle School 1

Posted May 15, 2014
- a parent
Our experience at Lawson has been ubstantially below expectations. We move regularly due to my job and this school has been possibly the worst our kids have been to. Academic ratings are very high, not because of superior performance from the teachers, but because most students extensively use private tutoring after school. Some teachers are good, but many are not and really don't care for the kids. We also had some bullying episods happening to our kids, which have been reported but nothing really changed. Overall, I would not recommend this school. For the money that you will spend with private tutors to compensate for the shortcomings of the teachers, you may as well send the kids to one of Catholic schools in the area, where they will be cared for properly. By the way, this is exactly what we are doing next year. Very disappointing.


Sam H. Lawson Middle School 3

Posted April 09, 2014
- a parent
This is the 3rd year @ Lawson for us. Not all teachers are great; some are below average and it depends on whom you get. I guess, CORE subject teacher ( Math,Science) is much better than SS & LA teacher. Also, kid on an average spends about 3 hours on homework/project assignment etc. Lot of emphasis on wiki, blogs etc. Most of the time, parent need to catch up with the kid to manage time, concept connection etc to maintain good grades @ school. Not good school, if the kid is not super super super intelligent/smart. Its sad to see that average or above average kids can't fit in this school without parent intervention to make them successful at school. No wonder why there're so many drop outs...education is made tougher instead of eliciting motivation to students.

Sam H. Lawson Middle School 4

Posted January 20, 2014
- a community member
In 7th grade now, and I've noticed they are helping us prepare for the real world. A lot of the things they are giving us, includes the use of the internet, and in real life everything is more of technology. But it really depends on which teachers you get, I was lucky enough to get some of the best teachers, but of course with any other school there are going to be those teachers who don't even seem to be helping. Last year in 6th grade the SS and LA teacher taught nothing in LA, my writing was worse than at the beginning of 6th grade. This school is great, but your child's eduction mainly depends on which teacher they get.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sam H. Lawson Middle School
10401 Vista Drive, Cupertino, CA  95014-2081
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 74 reviews. (408) 255-7500
Last modified Sam H. Lawson Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top