Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Champion School

Private | PK-8 | 200 students

Avg Academic Progress: Top .1% in US + Well-Rounded Prog + Unmatched Extra Help
 
 

 
 

Living in Cupertino

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $900,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 10 ratings
2012:
Based on 9 ratings
2011:
Based on 11 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

49 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 26, 2009

I have a KG age child attending this school. My child is extremely shy. I'm so happy I enrolled my child here. She has adjusted very well here with the help of Champion School staff. She is actually socializing with other kids pretty well. I'm so happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 4, 2009

My child just finished first grade here. My child moved here from public school. The school not only caught her up to their high academic standards, but the principal herself spent time with my child helping her adjust to the school. I found the school has a very caring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2009

When my daughter started at Champion school, she was very shy. But she was able to adjust very quickly because of the caring teachers and started liking to go to school within a month. The amount of learning she is able to achieve is also amazing. In just a few weeks, she started to practice phonics on her own and started reading in one month. She just finished pre-K and is reading at 1st grade level. And all that is done in the school without any homework or much home tutoring. It is safe to say that their way of teaching is very effective and the staff are very caring. Socially my daughter also made many friends in school and is very active in classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 11, 2009

I just love this school. My son is in Pre-K and he is already reading fluently. The teachers are friendly and give lot of individual attention. The principal is very involved in all the activities. It is way ahead of Challenger and Stratford schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2009

I love the school. It is very well rounded. My child is in 2nd grade. She is doing extremely well academically, when I compare her to my older child, who went to Stratford. They also have a great sports and arts program.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2009

The school is very good. It has a very nurturing and creative environment and children thrive in it. An off-topic remark : it has many more than 6 students, probably close to 150.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2009

Our family loves the school. The school is very well rounded. My kids are in grade 2 and grade 8. They both are doing extremely well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2009

Excellent School. The best thing is that I have peace of mind that my 2 sons are in such a caring environment. I can't say enough about the principal's personal attention to every detail. My Kindergartner is reading at a grade 3 level. He is able to do additions and subtractions with borrow and carry. They are actually doing hands-on science experiments. He is learning Soccer and Basketball. There is music and dance. The most important thing: I don't have to come home and do homework with him. He is learning all this at School. My Stratford and Challenger friends think that that my son must be brilliant. I wish I could give all the credit to my son. When I talk to my friends at Champion School, I realize that virtually all of the parents have a similar experience. The school must get at least some of the credit
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2008

I love the school. My child is in the 6th grade.He has excelled academically and socially here.Their academics is higher than most other private schools, and the best thing was we did not have to do hours of homework.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Cantonese)
Chinese (Mandarin)
Spanish
Urdu
Hindi, Bengalie, Telugu, Tamil
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Synopsys Science Fair (2014)
  • Math Kangaroo (2014)
  • Debate @ Stanford, SCU (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Clubs
  • Arts and crafts

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Hindi, Bengalie, Telugu, Tamil
  • Spanish
  • Urdu

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Clubs
  • Debate
  • Forensics club
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30
School end time
  • 3pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 2 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • College prep
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Engineering
  • Foreign languages
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Cantonese)
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Hindi, Bengalie, Telugu, Tamil
  • Spanish
  • Urdu
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Career/college counseling
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Accessible via public transportation
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Arts and crafts
  • Book/reading club
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Forensics club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • Champion's mission is to provide a world-class, well-rounded education in a stimulating, stress-free environment where kids have the time after school to pursue their interests and passions. To achieve this mission, Champion offers unmatched levels of extra-help in school as well as customization based on individual student's progress. Thanks to the effectiveness of this child-centered approach, an average Champion student's academic progress is probably in the top 0.1% of students in the US.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
Public
Challenger
Stratford

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$12000 - $18000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Middle College
Private High-schools
Public High-schools
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4660 Eastus Drive, san jose, ca
Cupertino, CA 95014
Website: Click here
Phone: (408) 973-8696

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT