Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public district
Cupertino, CA
Students enrolled: 746
 

4 stars
Based on 66 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Review comments

46 reviews of this school


L. P. Collins Elementary School 1

Posted April 15, 2015
- a parent
An absolute nightmare to try to pick up my child afterschool in the Collins parking lot. If you are not there 20 minutes before school gets out, you cannot even enter the lot. After school gets out, it's another 20 minutes before the cars from Blaney Avenue are allowed to turn into the parking lot. Wear comfortable shows because you will have to park on a neighboring street and walk over to the campus if you want to pick up your child.

L. P. Collins Elementary School 1

Posted February 13, 2015
- a parent
No transportation facility. I have moved from NJ to this area, CUSD put my kid in overflow school which is Collins, i requested many times for any transportation but nothing done, ideally they should take care about transportation which is common in US but this is not the case here. I am struggling to pick and drop my kid here, Instead school should have provided a common school bus which would save lot of gas for everyone and no one would have to stand in the morning traffic for so long.


L. P. Collins Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2014
- a community member
This school is awesome! I loved 5th grade! The staff is awesome and there are many after school events.

L. P. Collins Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
Although a LOT depends on the child & the particular teacher for each grade level, the overall impact of the school is spectacular. In general, the teachers are extremely responsive & very loving to children. They set the bar reasonably high academically and the students respond to that!! In addition, the Principal, Mr. Woo, is a good combination of warmth & discipline. The office staff is extremely caring. The school can become an extended family for the children if parents are able to participate in the numerous activities that are organized especially keeping in mind the working parents.

L. P. Collins Elementary School 2

Posted March 30, 2014
- a parent
5th grade teachers are worst than any other teachers in this area. Lack of quality teaching and too much home work. Their 5th grade teachers are rude and lack discipline. Principal is totally helpless in controlling the rude behavior of 5th grade teachers. Principal tries to show off too much discipline for students but lacks to implement same for his own teachers. Totally ineffective principal.


L. P. Collins Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
My son enjoys going to school, he learning More. I like the teachers and the whole staff.

L. P. Collins Elementary School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
My son is new to L.P. Collins starting his first year in Kindergarten and he seems happy with the whole experience thus far. Each day he reports with excitement about his teacher, the classroom style and has even made two new friends that he considers his new "pals". I'm pleased that this has been an easy transition from preschool/daycare for him.

L. P. Collins Elementary School 3

Posted June 13, 2013
- a parent
If your kid is below average than this school cannot turn them around. Most of these students that do well come from familes with higher academic standards than other local public school districts. The students and parents together put in the effort and 20% is from the staff. The housing price is very high and rent is high. There is a higher percentage of the same type that come to this school and that is responsible for the higher API than other public school districts. I am glad I can let others realize it before spending all that money on a house or renting one.


L. P. Collins Elementary School 1

Posted May 04, 2013
- a parent
Truly disappointing school, most of the teachers are cold and use embarrassment as a tool to discipline kids. I've seen teachers scream at kids in front of other parents, the Principal doesn't do anything and has a major attitude problem, he has unnecessary rules in school. The kids are overloaded with homework. The Principal will not take any suggestions and is not flexible enough to listen to parents. The teaching style is one size fits all approach, but if your child needs any individual approach, that kid will go through immense pressure and torture rules in school.

L. P. Collins Elementary School 1

Posted April 02, 2013
- a parent
This school has great test scores, just like the other Cupertino schools. Want to know why? It is because the parents put in so much work at night helping the kids. I am routinely overseeing 2 hours worth of homework every night. In fairness to Collins, I suspect this takes place in every Cupertino school. A couple of teachers have been great, but overall teacher quality in Cupertino is not as high as I thought it would be based on the test scores in the district. Again, it is the parents doing quite a bit of the work.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.
We're sorry, but this feature is no longer supported. If you'd like to share your experiences at this school, please write a review.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

L. P. Collins Elementary School
10300 Blaney Avenue, Cupertino, CA  95014
(408) 252-6002
Last modified L. P. Collins Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
L. P. Collins Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 66 reviews. Top