Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

746 students|Cupertino Union
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
67 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 76 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


L. P. Collins Elementary School 3

Posted November 09, 2015
- a parent
Our child is in kindergarten at Collins and while the staff is very kind and the PTA very active, we feel like the academic pressure is way too high. Isn't kindergarten supposed to be fun as well as educational? Our child is overwhelmed with pages of homework every night after doing full day kindergarten, there are tears and fights and a hatred for learning where once there was wonder and excitement. This school is breaking my heart.

L. P. Collins Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly disagree

Posted September 03, 2015
- a parent
Your child is treated like a number at this school and there is very little compassion from the staff. The PTA is non existent.


L. P. Collins Elementary School
Develops honesty: Neutral

Posted September 03, 2015
- a parent
This school is heavily skewed toward one demographic so if you are looking for a diverse school this isn't the one.

L. P. Collins Elementary School 1

Posted April 15, 2015
- a parent
An absolute nightmare to try to pick up my child afterschool in the Collins parking lot. If you are not there 20 minutes before school gets out, you cannot even enter the lot. After school gets out, it's another 20 minutes before the cars from Blaney Avenue are allowed to turn into the parking lot. Wear comfortable shows because you will have to park on a neighboring street and walk over to the campus if you want to pick up your child.

L. P. Collins Elementary School 1

Posted February 13, 2015
- a parent
No transportation facility. I have moved from NJ to this area, CUSD put my kid in overflow school which is Collins, i requested many times for any transportation but nothing done, ideally they should take care about transportation which is common in US but this is not the case here. I am struggling to pick and drop my kid here, Instead school should have provided a common school bus which would save lot of gas for everyone and no one would have to stand in the morning traffic for so long.


L. P. Collins Elementary School 5

Posted September 20, 2014
- a community member
This school is awesome! I loved 5th grade! The staff is awesome and there are many after school events.

L. P. Collins Elementary School 5

Posted June 22, 2014
- a parent
Although a LOT depends on the child & the particular teacher for each grade level, the overall impact of the school is spectacular. In general, the teachers are extremely responsive & very loving to children. They set the bar reasonably high academically and the students respond to that!! In addition, the Principal, Mr. Woo, is a good combination of warmth & discipline. The office staff is extremely caring. The school can become an extended family for the children if parents are able to participate in the numerous activities that are organized especially keeping in mind the working parents.

L. P. Collins Elementary School 2

Posted March 30, 2014
- a parent
5th grade teachers are worst than any other teachers in this area. Lack of quality teaching and too much home work. Their 5th grade teachers are rude and lack discipline. Principal is totally helpless in controlling the rude behavior of 5th grade teachers. Principal tries to show off too much discipline for students but lacks to implement same for his own teachers. Totally ineffective principal.


L. P. Collins Elementary School 5

Posted October 25, 2013
- a parent
My son enjoys going to school, he learning More. I like the teachers and the whole staff.

L. P. Collins Elementary School 4

Posted August 22, 2013
- a parent
My son is new to L.P. Collins starting his first year in Kindergarten and he seems happy with the whole experience thus far. Each day he reports with excitement about his teacher, the classroom style and has even made two new friends that he considers his new "pals". I'm pleased that this has been an easy transition from preschool/daycare for him.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

L. P. Collins Elementary School
10300 Blaney Avenue, Cupertino, CA  95014-2332
(408) 252-6002
Last modified L. P. Collins Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
L. P. Collins Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 76 reviews. Top