Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

John F. Kennedy Middle School

Public | 6-8

 
 

Living in Cupertino

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $900,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 7 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

44 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted March 9, 2014

This school is so horrible >:( I hate it so much!!!!!! Don't go there!! SOOOO BAAAD!!!!


Posted February 23, 2014

#FUN AND FUN AND FUN AND FUN AND ACADEMIC The best school best bes tbest best bestschool


Posted December 11, 2013

This school has great staff. Teachers, counselors, assistants, etc. all know their job and do it very well. It has great extracurricular activities and clubs, fun elective classes. PE is interesting and challenging. The principal is outstanding! My only complaint is that their food system needs a total overhaul. There are plenty of ice cream, doughnuts, chocolate muffins, sweet tarts, sweet water (not juice, really) on the menu. No fresh vegetables to speak of. And if you even find any, they do not look appetizing. I would not want to eat them. Apparently, neither do kids. There is no warm comfortable place to sit and eat. Kids eat sitting on the ground. No microwaves. The lines are enormous. Some of the foods run out before all the students are served. Our kids work so hard they need nutritious and tasty food to keep them going. I don't think any parent would mind paying a couple of bucks more to keep their kid healthy. Parents themselves each much better at their high techs. I get jealous looking at the menus for kids at Los Altos or Palo Alto. Those are public schools, too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

My son is a 6th grade student. The transition from elementary school is smooth, teachers from Keneedy are very responsive and resourcesful. The academic curriculum are competitive, but most students still have plenty of spare time to enjoy sports and other activities. Overall, a very good school for those who are willing to put in the effort.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 26, 2013

Teachers and classmates are great. There are also a lot of actives to participate. My child enjoy attending the school very much.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2013

This school is a great way to prepare kids for the stress of high school!


Posted July 11, 2013

I loved Kennedy. I was only there for the first half of seventh grade in 2002 because I moved to Seattle in the middle of the school year, but I loved every moment of my time there. I enjoyed their "villages" where students in the same village had the same teachers for classes. I met many different people that way and still keep in touch with some of them today. It was the first time that I had been thoroughly challenged academically and I loved it. Every subject was hard, but in a good way, in a way that made me want to push myself to be better and work harder. Kennedy set the bar at the top for me in terms of academics and teacher dedication to student learning and growth. The electives were unique. I took the rotating art-woodshop-cooking class that rotated from trimester to trimester. I had never done woodshop before, and I am proud to say that I still have the wooden pen I made in my second trimester. Also, PE was when I started loving running and fitness. I was extremely sad to leave because I had established such a strong community of friends and started to enjoy being challenged at school. I would definitely have my future children attend Kennedy if at all possible.


Posted June 13, 2013

All CSUD middle school physical education is created to bring the students grade down giving them lower moral. This sucks. The students and their parents are the ones that put in the effort to making the schools API that way and not the staff members.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 8, 2013

If I had written this a year ago, it would have been very different. This year the administration and the teachers have all been exceptional. They've been consistantly responsive, proactive, engaged, and overall very effective. This ultimately provided my son with a far more engaging and enriching year. Looking forward to a similar experience next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 30, 2012

ummm im a student and i take yearbook.... I got an A. and also an A in everything else. just saying.


Posted May 31, 2012

Watch for Jackson. She doesn't spend much time teaching language arts even though that's her subject area. So, kids take STAR test without knowing a lot of the definitions. And she assign very few writing assignment. And that's for grade 8!!! Not really preparing kids for Monta Vista HS?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2012

Do not take yearbook. Students do not get any As in that class. As a result you won't get perfect GPA and will get penalized for that when you leave KMS. Cooking , however are easy As.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 10, 2012

Kennedy is a great school with thoughtful programs. Students enjoy projects from teachers. The school prepares students well for high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2011

Kennedy has wonderful teachers, and while there are students that say that they can't "teach" I think the opposite. I enjoy the events going on in this school, especially KBDC. The village program is creative and every one has their own variety of teachers and teaching styles.


Posted March 18, 2011

This school is awesome! The PE program challenges the students and keeps them fit. The teachers are top notch and also challenge the students to be at their fullest potential. This school is great!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2010

Our 1st child is going to KMS and we are extremely pleased with the transition that she made from Elementary to Middle School, and how KMS staff and curriculum allowed her to make such a smooth transition. She will graduate this year and will be off to High School and we could not be more pleased with the experience from social, educational and emotional growth that she has gained.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

2 of my children went to John F. Kennedy Middle school. I was very impressed with the staff and the education that my children received
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

John F. Kennedy Middle School is wonderful school for my 2 kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2010

John F. Kennedy Middle School is a great school for students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2010

I have two kids. One has gradulated from Kennedy middle and the other one is still in it. I love this school. It meets my expectation of a public school provides. My kids are very different from each other. I see my both kids transform from tiny little ones to big grown and strong kids. I do appreciate every day PE make them strong. One of the kids was loose ended in organizing his work, but with teacher's help, I dont need to worry about him. I am really happy that they all become self confident and healthy kids and this is a good school to prepare for Monta Vista high. Maybe it is the very beginning of the school philosophy to leave the kids to the school to make them independent. So after join Kennedy, I do not worry about them too much.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

986

Change from
2012 to 2013

+1

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

986

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+1

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

451 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 55% in 2013.

452 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
93%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

119 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

481 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
97%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

358 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
89%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

338 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
94%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
94%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
95%

2011

 
 
94%

2010

 
 
95%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
82%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

88 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
100%

2012

 
 
100%

2011

 
 
100%

2010

 
 
100%
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
93%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

432 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
96%

2010

 
 
95%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Females97%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disability50%
Students with no reported disability96%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to state85%

Math

All Students94%
Females94%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disability40%
Students with no reported disability96%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)75%
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state78%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students96%
Females97%
Males93%
African Americann/a
Asian98%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged94%
Non-economically disadvantaged95%
Students with disability68%
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)81%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to state91%

Math

All Students91%
Females92%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged78%
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disability48%
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate81%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students90%
Females91%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian94%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to state86%

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Females98%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only95%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to state96%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Geometry

All Students100%
Females100%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian100%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability100%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only100%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students91%
Females93%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability92%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate94%
Parent education - declined to state88%

Science

All Students96%
Females99%
Males94%
African Americann/a
Asian99%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability98%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)82%
Parent education - college graduate92%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate99%
Parent education - declined to state88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 78% 11%
White 18% 26%
Hispanic 2% 52%
Two or more races 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Black 0% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 0%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 2%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

821 Bubb Road
Cupertino, CA 95014
Phone: (408) 253-1525

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Champion School
Cupertino, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT