Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-5
Public
Cupertino, CA
Students enrolled: 735

4 stars
Based on 37 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


45 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Abraham Lincoln Elementary School 2

Posted April 01, 2014
- a parent
The famously horrible principal from Steven Creek Elementary is now at Lincoln. She is rude and completely obstinate, will not even listen to what the parent has to say. She is really unreasonable and unfriendly to the kids and parents alike.

Abraham Lincoln Elementary School 4

Posted March 22, 2014
- a parent
There is a lot expected of students here and my child started coming home with anxiety issues - in Kindergarten! Her teacher although meaning well had a very rough approach which didn't do well with our child. Children are really pushed here with "optional" homework being assigned that brings you to 1hour a day worth of homework unless your student is very quick. It feels like the expectations are set high for all students, and if they can not adapt then they get moved to 'special' classes. Why not set the standards so that all children can meet them, and if they are 'gifted' allow them to attend 'special classes' to foster their growth? Children are expected to know how to write upon the first day of kindergarten.. I have mixed feelings about this school, but overall there is a lot of support and the current Principal is wonderful. There is little to no ethnic diversity here. One wonderful thing is that they take bullying VERY seriously and the staff do a wonderful job promoting a peaceful environment. :)


Abraham Lincoln Elementary School 4

Posted January 28, 2014
- a parent
School is overall overrated. Inhuman toilet training techniques. When the child wants to go to the bathroom and asks the teacher for permission the teacher asks whether you really want to go or can you hold on till recess. If the child then requests to go then they are benched for few minutes of their already short recess time. Dont they know the that children have smaller bladders and these unhealthy practices cause irreparable long term damges. And also they have very few restrooms for the huge number of students. Even the lunch table is overcrowded. Strangely the school district felt the need for additional vice principal as the school has too many students but did not feel the need to add additional restroooms or lunch tables.

Abraham Lincoln Elementary School 3

Posted January 28, 2014
- a parent
Definitely overrated. School adopted common core curriculum to get federal funding. Teachers told us that common core was thrown at them. Train as you go is not adequate training. Text books were not proofread before handing out to our kids, so there are many confusing questions and wrong information/answers. No Aides so teachers don't have time for all the kids. Communication is poor between the school & children/parents. Teachers are doing the best they can, but the office staff & administrators are the worst. Office staff have attitude problems & both principals might as well be non-existent. We should try to automate those positions if all they do is provide content to the newsletters. Agree with the other poster that the bathroom and lunch situations could be improved. The school has some of the most ridiculous rules. I wish I could give you examples but space here is limited. Last but not least, the parents are generally rude and overbearing. Kids are pushed by parents beyond their limits and come to school with anxiety. Kids and parents seem to be socially inept, so imagine your kid with other kids the same age but with temper tantrums of a 2 year old.

Abraham Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted December 11, 2013
- a parent
My kinder has been going to Lincoln for half a year now and she loves going to school. The academics are definitely different than other districts, as she gets three homeworks per week. Our friends' kids, who live in a different district, don't get homework at all, and I hear some don't even get homework until the 2nd grade. Secondly, there are plenty of extra-curricular activities, such as PE, music, cooking, art, computers, etc. Finally and most importantly, the K teachers are all very experienced, at least double digit years of teaching experience. If there was one room for improvement, I would expand the half-days for kindergarten. Some districts expand the timetable a few weeks in, but CUSD just keeps it at half days until 1st grade.


Abraham Lincoln Elementary School 3

Posted June 13, 2013
- a teacher
It is the students and parents that are responsible for the good grades. The teachers put 20%. I think about 80% of the students coming to these schools (CUSD) are from either educated parents or parents that have higher academic standards. They all clustered in either Fremont Mission San Jose Sub district of Fremont unified school Distric or CUSD. This is the reason why the API are much higher than the other surrounding public school districts. These schools however cannot turn around any students and make them smart. I am saying this so some of the parents don't get the wrong idea and pay high rent or high price for homes here will get too disappointed. Most of the steller students are born that way.

Abraham Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted January 11, 2013
- a parent
In response to the family moving from Brazil, Lincoln Elementary is an excellent school with superb teachers who really care about your children. Unfortunately, the front office staff does not reflect that same warmth. I'm so sorry that your initial conversation with one of the secretaries had to be your first impression of the school. I'm sure the office staff is very efficient, but they can be curt to the point of being unfriendly. I'm sorry you were not treated with more respect.

Abraham Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted January 07, 2013
- a parent
My third child is graduating this year. All my kids had positive experiences with many teachers over the past 14 years. The school provides the kids with excellent start in academic and personal development. Prepares them well to middle school and beyond.


Abraham Lincoln Elementary School 5

Posted November 10, 2012
- a community member
This is in response to the people moving from Brazil. Cupertino Union School District has an excellent ELD program, but it's only run at certain schools, and Lincoln Elementary is not one of them. Your students go to a great class clustered to help them learn English to a proficient level and they provide transportation from Lincoln to the alternate school. It's not than English learners are "welcome' at Lincoln, the school district provides the English learner curriculum at other sites. Good luck! Hope you find what you need somewhere. Lincoln is a very popular school and they are full in half of the grades anyway with wait lists for people who want to attend and live in the area.

Abraham Lincoln Elementary School 1

Posted November 01, 2012
- a parent
We are moving from Brazil to California and I'm trying to find a school for my kids before renting or buying a house. So, I've just talked to a lady over the phone and, unfortunately, my impression of this school couldn't be worse! Differently from secretaries of other schools,this one was not willing to help at all and sent me a clear message that my kids, who are not proficient in English, are not welcome there. I know that this is just one person over the phone, and I'm sure that the staff there can be more friendly, but it takes just one rotten apple to send the wrong message...

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Abraham Lincoln Elementary School
21710 Mcclellan Road, Cupertino, CA  95014
(408) 252-4798
Last modified Abraham Lincoln Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Abraham Lincoln Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 45 reviews. Top