Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

D. J. Sedgwick Elementary School

Public | PK-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Cupertino

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $900,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 

In the know: Get our expert advice on schools

No articles are available

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

43 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 9, 2014

Sedgwick USED to be a decent school. The main problem is the poor quality of teachers. Out all of my child's elementary school years, she had been put in a classroom with such bad teachers, year after year. I honestly wondered if they knew what they were doing half the time. Many times I feel like the teachers are really lazy. I visited my child's class one day and shocked by the way the teacher was treating one of her students. It resulted in the child going outside and crying. My child also receives unfair and biased treatment. My child is not perfect, but when there were problems, the administrative staff only listened to one side of the situations. Even after it was proven that my child was innocent, I never even heard one single apology from the student, teacher, and staffs. Also, teachers are there to set a good example for students. When they say something or promise the child something, that promise should be kept. Never has my child been so disappointed when that promise was broken. I really think the district should come in and set Sedgwick straight again. Incredibly disappointed in the teachers selection and administrative staffs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2014

I had two kids attend this school. When my first daughter went, I thought that it was a great school. However, when my younger child attended, it seemed that the school's quality from teachers, to staff, to basically everything downgraded quite a lot. Maybe my child was unlucky and received the not so good teachers, but still quite upset with how the school treats my child. Overall, I am quite disappointed with the staff of this school, especially my child's past teachers. He/She is now a fifth grader and I honestly can't wait for them to get out of this school. Sometimes it seems like the staff looks down on my child and a lot of the times favor other students. Again, I am glad I have no more kids to put in this school. The quality of Sedgwick has gone way down the drain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

I have four kids, three are older and in college and high school. My youngest just started kindergarten here and I am happy to know that most of the teachers are still here. The school/teachers does a great job creating a fun and creative way of teaching that instills the importance of learning. Compared to the other schools in the area, I am happy to know that the children are not stressed out or pushed into the 3 R's without the joys. My older kids enjoyed going to school everyday and even going to school after school for the social activities such as Ice Cream Social, Reading Nite, Movie Nite and going to the Scholastic Book booth. They created a great foundation for the love of learning and reading that prepared them for junior high, high school and college. I am glad that my youngest is enrolled here and look forward to a new/old experience at Sedgwick. PS. I could not list all the names of the caring teachers, the list would be long but a couple of them stands out Miss Choi, Ms. Gubler, Ms. Lin and Miss Yamamoto.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2013

my son studies here , i am very happy the way teachers teach and work on kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2013

My daughter has been going to this school for a year now and we really liked her 2nd grade teacher. She was very kind, caring and had a great attitude with the children. I volunteered almost every week and was very to see my girl enjoy learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 18, 2013

I have to agree with lot of parents that the front office is very snooty. The teacher are not at all accommodating ...u will meet them once a year. But I have to say overall the school is good.The environment is very positive for kids.they enforce discipline in kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2013

I agree with the posting about mean staff at Sedgwick. Tracy never puts a smile on her face and I have come to the office multiple times for multiple reasons. NEVER SMILE! The new principal provides poor leadership and ruins the good reputation for Sedgwick. I moved to Sedgwick this year because of the good rating but have been very disappointed at the adminstration and quality of teachers. Our family will definitely move to a another school next school year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2013

I'm not sure if the school staff is posting positive reviews of themselves here, but I can confirm the earlier posts who say the office staff is mean. They are almost like bullies, but to believe it, you have to see it for yourselves. I didn't believe it until I visited this week.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2013

This is a great neighborhood school. People are friendly. Tracy in the office is very personable and goes out of her way to identify each and every student and parent by name. She will stop anything to help. Always a welcoming face. The principal is new and seems to have a good relationship with the students. Mrs. Wang is always friendly and available.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2013

I agree with the comment below regarding the new principal. I have tried to reach her several times but her front office staff is always giving excuses for her. She does not respond to emails or phone calls. She is zero help when it comes to listening to the parents. She has created a very antagonistic environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2013

***Front office staff are unfriendly and rude. Sedgwick is an adequate school with satisfactory teachers who are competent. If you have a chance, do ask to observe in the classroom. After doing so, I realized that the high academics are not because of teacher ability but because of the student's and family's high regard for academics. Overall, the school is diverse and gives a balanced education. The worst part of the experience would be the office staff. Whenever I interact with Tracy and Viviana I always get a very upset look from them, frowning, bad attitude (like I am bothering them for being in the office and need to ask a question). I always try to be polite, but they are always very snappy and sharky. I went in there with a friend of mine and I had not made mention of the staff to her before. She was also shocked at the "rude customer service". She said it was worse than being at the DMV. As parents, tax payers and interested parties, we deserve to be treated with kindness and caring. The front office staff are the face of the school. Right now the school has a very ugly face. I would like to see cheery, happy people replace these employees.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 8, 2013

I agree that the front office staff is very rude and unprofessional. My first experience with Sedgwick was speaking with the office staff and they were so rude and unfriendly that they almost had me in tears. The high scores at this school seem to be more because of parent involvement and/or because the children attended a better school before hand. My child's teacher cares only about following the curriculum to the letter. She does not want to give extra help to children who are struggling and certainly does not want to do anything to challenge students that are a head of the grade curriculum. If your child is right on track for their grade level then the school could be passable. If your child needs help or is more advanced then other children at the same grade then do not send your child here. They will not be challenged. Unfortunately the Principal is new and offered zero help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2013

Our child has been in Sedgwick Elementary for a year now and we are very happy here. We were looking for a school that focuses on developing well-rounded and well-balanced, independent, and "whole" student, and yet still must have high academic achievements. So far this seems to be just the right school for us. We attended and enjoyed many of the school activities such as international food festival, ice-scream socials, picnics, movie nights, and met many parents and our kid's friends as well. We like the clean, safe, very family-friendly, and very walkable neighborhoods in this whole area. The community is well educated and reasonably diverse, with parents who care about their children's development. The teachers at the school are experienced, patient, and friendly, and the kids are happy there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 14, 2012

This school has a bad community. Some teachers are nice, but be careful, a teacher who is a first grader teacher is designing and not be trusted.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2012

Sedwick has been a great school for my daughters. The PTA works so hard to make sure that the kids have a wonderful music, computer and PE program. My daughters second grade teachers was fantastic with great focus on science, reading and math. The science projects were very engaging and my daughter has grown to love it. The K teachers work as a team to teach our kids and have a great program. Great community all around.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 22, 2012

I have 3 kids attending Sedgwick for more than a year now. I am totally agree that Sedgwick is doing the right thing for our kids. The eldest boy is naughty, active and sometimes got into troubles. The principle and teachers helped us to discipline him in a fair and effective way. He now improved a lot. He is responsible and knew to take care of himself. He even woke up very early by himself and made to the soccer team and is extremely happy. Their soccer coaches are the best I've ever seen, 2 women teachers ^_^. My daughter and the other K boy love their teachers and school too. They are on the quite and smart side so not many troubles so far. Not all of the teachers will do things the way you'd like but overall the environment here is positive and ambitious. You can see their test score improvements year over year. Maybe next semester they will be in top as other schools in CUSD. Cheers!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2011

Mrs. Stokes a new principle at Sedgwick is awesome! All of the teachers my sons have had over past three years were exceptional. I was a parent volunteer who witnessed hours of classroom teaching that I base my opinion on. They have clubs, my son was in a computer club for an entire year mrs Sing is computer lab instructor really creative educational games. IEP teacher Mrs Husting helped my son greatly with his LD. Amanda Boyce the Title 1 instructor is the most caring & patient of all the staff. There is a CDC program on campus with a fun & caring staff as well. Sedgwick School also has 2 pick up & drop off areas that are very helpful for the busy parent. There are a lot of patent volunteers who contribute weekly. Many activities that involve family and instill in the kids a great sense of community. It's what the students & parents contribute to the school that makes a real difference:)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2011

Some Sedgwick teachers have a problem teaching boys. My son went to Sedgwick for 6 years (K - 5). All of his teachers were women. Two of them seemed to have a basic problem with teaching my son. After multiple meetings with each (these were different years) I concluded that they were unwilling or unable to deal with boys in their classrooms. If you have a son that is shy or withdrawn, then he might do fine at Sedgwick. At least he would be the kind of student that some of the teachers seem to desire. If your son is a normal boy, then watch out! You are going to have trouble. I don t know how they relate to girls. My suspicion is that very few girls get the kind of negative treatment they give to some boys. Other than that, this seems to be a good school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2011

My son has been in Sedgwick school for 3 years. Overall, I am very satisfied with the school; my son is very happy as well. He has very good academic results and his teachers were all very nice and caring. Compared to other Cupertino schools, this school has slightly lower API scores as Sedgwick school has more diversity among students regarding their social and ethnic backgrounds, which is great. I highly recommend this school to everybody.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

I sent my kindergardener reluctantly thinking that there are better schools in Cupertino that Sedgwick. After being in school for even less than a year now, I wouldn't switch the school even if I had a choice. The teachers are very friendly, hard working and approachable. They are quick to respond which has helped us work with our child in ways that is effective for her. We also love the fact that the focus is improve the school for the children and to expose them to different things in a fun manner. In partnership with Discovery museum, they had a science fair last week that was really fun for the kids and the parents. They are working on getting new computers and doing fund raising in really fun creative ways. I can't wait for my second child to go to this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

932

Change from
2012 to 2013

-15

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

932

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-15

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
77%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
79%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
71%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

95 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
97%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

86 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
94%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
87%

2010

 
 
83%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

90 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
93%

2010

 
 
83%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
84%

2010

 
 
83%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students83%
Females83%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability85%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students88%
Females87%
Males89%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students74%
Females82%
Males65%
African Americann/a
Asian84%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino27%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability77%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only76%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate62%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students91%
Females90%
Males91%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino73%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability93%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate96%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate96%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students90%
Females89%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only91%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students94%
Females90%
Males100%
African Americann/a
Asian98%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability96%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only94%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate97%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students87%
Females91%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate87%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate93%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students86%
Females87%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asian93%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability89%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate91%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students86%
Females93%
Males78%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability90%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only87%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate90%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 67% 11%
White 19% 26%
Hispanic 10% 52%
Two or more races 2% 3%
Black 1% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 5%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 4%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Lisa Taormina
Fax number
  • (408) 253-2213

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

19200 Phil Lane
Cupertino, CA 95014
Phone: (408) 252-3103

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT