Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Holy Cross Lutheran School

Private | PK-8

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Cypress

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $403,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 1, 2012

Wonderful teachers and loving staff, great opportunities and positive learning environment. Wonderful!! Tuition discounts for families too!


Posted August 29, 2012

Holy Cross Preschool has made some wonderful changes. There is a new enthusiasm, wonderful structure, and an emphasis on learning. Good job Holy Cross.


Posted July 17, 2012

We LOVED this school! LOVED IT! Then those in charged saw fit to release the best preschool teacher in the county from her call. Because of their brutal disregard for staff, parents and especially students, we will not be returning for my child's last year. It really put us in a bind and broke my child's heart. Unforgivable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 15, 2012

Holy Cross was a wondeful preschool. Then they overturned their whole staff overnight. The board of directors, who know nothing about education, have complete control of the school and the staff. By what I have seen done there, they seem to make decisions out of self-interest, not the interest of the children. The board of directors left about 20 children broken hearted when they learned their teachers were not returning. This can actually be quite damaging to 3 and 4 year olds who may feel that they were negelcted or even abandoned by their teachers, when in fact their teachers were fired abruptly. Almost all of us disenrolled our children but the board of directors was not interested in the parents feedback. I guess they are not too concerned with their numbers either.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 2, 2010

I researched every PreK in the Cypress area. I fell IN LOVE with HolyCross. All of the teachers have treated my son like their own. I have strangers tell me how well behaved and smart my son is and I know Holy Cross has a huge part in that. Ms. Mindy, Ms. Charmaine and Ms. Mary are exceptional teachers. My son has never been left with anyone but family, he wants to go to school and I trust them. My second son will be starting next session and they all know his name and cant wait for him to start..I highly, highly recommend Holy Cross..I cannot say enough great things about them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2010

I can honestly say that this school was a blessing in disguise for me. We kinda fell into this school and I cannot say enough positive things about Ms. Mindy and her staff. This is my third year and second child there. The education is top (they were amazed at what my kindergarten student knew when she got there) and the moral character building taught everyday is a huge bonus... if not what I love most. It is obvious that MS. Mindy and her teachers love my children and treat them as if they were there own. It is scarry to leave your little one in someone else's care each day but I assure you, you cannot find better care than Ms. Mindy. She is a blessing to all of us and has become a friend, not just a teacher. I have nothing negative to say about the preschool or program!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2009

Holy Cross is a great school and teaches kids to their highest point of interest. I have been going here since 4th grade and all the teachers are wonderful. Mr. Miller, the 5th/6th grade teacher is very funny and interesting. And ig everyone cooperates he takes them to a resturaunt called Johns. I love Holy Cross and you will too!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2008

I chose this school for the strong academic curriculum it uses. The fact that it also emphasizes character education is a great bonus. The children at the school are surrounded by a positive, child appropriate enviorment that is condusive to healthy growth. I am glad we chose this school for our child and he has been attending for the last 6 years.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

Holy Cross has a great curriculum challenging students at whatever level their talents and abilities are at, so that they grow to their full potential. We have been through PK-8th here with 4 kids over 12 years. Academics, athletics, music, drama, art provide challenge, variety, camaraderie and balance. The teachers love the students and are committed to providing the best education to each student. Standardized test scores have provided personal growth evidence to us with each year our children attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2007

I was referred by another mom 2 years ago. My son has attended since Pre-K. The teachers care!! Classes are small. Even the parents leave with smiles on their faces. In addition to a great curriculum, the kids also learn about Christ. Academics are balanced with art, music and PE. We also have sports teams. In a time of cut backs in public schools, our kids still go on field trips.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2007

The best measure of how happy our children are after attending Holy Cross for almost a full school year...would be Sunday nights...instead of dreading Mondays they can't wait to go to school! If you are looking for an environment that simultaneously promotes independent thinking, responsibility, moral choices, honesty and respect Holy Cross is your school. It feels like family when you walk on campus. The great teacher to student ratio only enhances the quality of your child's educational experience at Holy Cross. It is worth your time to check out this school, we will be forever grateful to the parent that referred us!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2007

A friend of mine told me about the pre-school at Holy Cross 5 years ago and we are still here. The office staff, teachers, and students are a great influence for my child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2007

If you re looking for a school where students get one on one time with teachers then this is it. The extracurricular activities encourage participation in plays, talent shows, music and arts. We couldn't be happier and the girls love it too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 15, 2006

I love Holy Cross Lutheran School! All three of my children attended the school. Now two of them are adults in the working world holding down good jobs after completing 4 year colleges. My youngest is a sophomore in high school doing well in all of her classes. The foundation that my children received at Holy Cross Lutheran School both academically and spiritually was worth every penny we spent on tuition. May God forever bless Holy Cross and all the teachers, Principal, and Pastor there!
—Submitted by a staff


Posted August 20, 2006

My children attend this school, and we came from a local public school. I have found the school to be well kept, the staff courteous and professional and dedicated to the success of all kids there. They have extra curricular activities after school. The academic program is much more intense than the local public schools. The teachers seem to care about the progress of my children, so I assume that applies to all the children at the school as well. I have found the principal (who actually teaches) to be open, honest, forthright, and caring. He is always available to listen to your concerns. Also, parent input is very important for this school. I highly recommend it for anyone seeking a private, Christian, education for their children in the Cypress, east Long Beach, West Orange County area.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4321 Cerritos Ave
Cypress, CA 90630
Phone: (714) 527-7928

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Aslan Academy
Cypress, CA


Seat of Wisdom Academy
Long Beach, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT