Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-12
Public
Cypress, CA

4 stars
Based on 78 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


88 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Oxford Academy 5

Posted October 07, 2014
- a community member
I was a student at this school. I enjoyed the rigorous academics because it really prepared me for college. I enjoyed the tight knit community that this small school offered and I loved how we were able to get cluster classes that would last all the six years. There are many parents and students that will agree with me that there are two teachers who are only there because of their tenure (Beck_tt and Roy_l) and it is unfortunate that they "teach" crucial classes (Geometry and English 8HP). The sad part is that they will continue to teach , even though the principal and vice principal are well aware of their lack of teaching ability. This school requires that the students wear uniforms and the only people who complain about that are the girls who would come to school with clothes that barely cover anything. If you feel that uniforms will prevent you from expressing yourself, then this isn't the school for you. There are good and bad parts in every school, but in my opinion, I believe this is the best school to go to if you want to become a disciplined student who is well-rounded in all departments of education.

Oxford Academy 3

Posted February 24, 2014
- a parent
I expected quality teachers from all the teachers here in this school, but there are some of them shouldn't be there. They should have been fired long time ago. Just because he/she is not doing anything wrong that doesn't mean they are qualified. At this school, all the kids work hard to get good grades and be on top of the games, so the teacher(x),( 'only a few') should do their jobs professionally and diligently. Just saying.
1 person found this helpful


Oxford Academy 3

Posted February 19, 2014
- a community member
Well this school like any other school has some good teachers like any other school and some bad. But really the teachers are just mediocre and are apathetic of students work habit and homework. They just kick out kids that get Cs and have a exam to ensure that there are only the smart kids and some aren't as smart as they seem. One student gets Cs on this certain individual's tests on his tests and still has As for his grade. Well yeah the student get high scores overall but are the teachers good? No not really. So you should send your child to a more academic and more focused school that focuses on the child's grades AND her or his progress. The students unless they have been lucky enough to be selected into one of the better classes, the teachers are not very professional
1 person found this helpful

Oxford Academy 5

Posted October 08, 2013
- a parent
The best thing I like about this school is the peer influence and the school discipline. You are surrounded by almost purely smart and high achievers with high expectations from everyone else. You are not likely to be exposed to bad stuffs as you see elsewhere. Short term gain is getting at least to the UC system but in the long term, if you can stick to OA regiments, you are trained to be successful no matter what you aim to do. If your child is extremely creative and like to do thing differently all the time then there are better school. If you child can't keep up with heavy workload or average, or have some other talents other than academic then it would be best not to try for OA.

Oxford Academy 5

Posted September 17, 2013
- a parent
My little patriot is now a 9th grader. She loves this school very much. She loves her cluster teacher, who will be with her the whole time she attends Oxford. The students are not stuck up. They are way more friendly and welcoming than your average school. Coming from an elementary school where she didn't fit in it was like a breath of fresh air for my daughter to be going to a school where the kids are more like her. The teachers, counselors, and faculty are all very nice and they genuinely care about the students. The workload is very high, but that is to be expected when a student takes all honors courses. A lot is expected because these students can deliver, and they need challenges. The entrance exam was not difficult; just California standards and an essay. The top 25 students from each of the 8 middle school districts within AUHSD are accepted. There are about 50 or more elementary schools within the AUHSD so, on average, only a few students from each are accepted. Many don't end up staying so, if your child doesn't make it the first time, try again for 8th and 9th grade.


Oxford Academy 2

Posted August 25, 2013
- a community member
Oxford has some benefits, yes. But not enough to outweigh the poor faculty and lack of opportunities. There are some fantastic teacher that I could rave about for hours. For example, Mr. Williams, Viramontes, Ramirez. Everyone else is mediocre at best, especially the science department. The counselors are terrible. I'm not sure if it's the system, or the counselors themselves, but they are not up to par. They seem to be content with just getting students into UCs and CSUs, and discouraging people from aiming for the higher privates. College results speak for themselves; the majority of students are going to lower-tiered colleges. Oxford provides so few opportunities for students, it's a bit ridiculous. The pathway system is laughable. As a student interested in engineering, I have no options. I don't want to go into the medical field, and I couldn't care less about business. Had I known about it earlier, I would have definitely attended Troy High School, which sends several students to Ivy Leagues and other top private colleges every year. The administration at Oxford only cares about maintaining its high rank through test scores, and not much else.
1 person found this helpful

Oxford Academy 1

Posted August 25, 2013
- a community member
My child applied for oxford for 7th grade and had all straight As as a six grader and they put all the emphasis on one test which is ridiculous because some kids may get nervous testing anyway when asked what her score was was told they could not tell me ?????????????????

Oxford Academy 3

Posted July 20, 2013
- a community member
Its frustrating to see parents spend money and stress over the Oxford entrance exam. It's a very average school. Don't take the national ranking to seriously, it's skewed. If you take AP classes at another school, you will be around equally, maybe even more intelligent peers. People who say Oxford destroyed their social life simply did not manage their time well. It's definitely possible to be a well-rounded student. That said, my complaints with Oxford are more complex. Oxford has uninformed counselors and the admin is shady. The school gears its students to attend UC's and CalStates, maybe a FEW shining stars going to top privates. Most hardworking students at Oxford end up blending together. Teachers aren't great, some are honestly incredibly immature. Math/some English teachers are awesome. Oxford is good for students who need motivation or solely academic people who don't mind extra homework. Not so good for ambitious students who would work hard in any environment. They would stand out and have more opportunities at a different school.
1 person found this helpful


Oxford Academy 5

Posted June 28, 2013
- a parent
A parent- I agree with some parents on previous postings such as teachers too rigorous with homework but at the end extremely worthwhile. The extra cirricular activities from Future Business Leaders of America, Debate Team, business plan presentations etc, VERY valuable for the real world. My daughter wanted to quit at and end of 9th grade, we agreed and later on she changed her mind. Yes, there are smart kids and required hard work to succeed. Highly recommended if your kids is organized (did not say smart!) then all is possible. We know she will be ready for college and for the world. I love their yearly trips organized by the school, she was in Europa last year with her class and ready for Italy 2014! I am thankful for Oxford Academy, wish more schools like this to offer opportunities to many more kids.

Oxford Academy 5

Posted September 18, 2012
- a parent
I have a student who already graduated from here. Although they had struggled throughout their 6 years here, mostly it was because the homework load was too much. This school however has great teachers who had prepared my kid for his college which was UC Berkeley. Thank you to the amazing staff!

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Oxford Academy
5172 Orange Avenue, Cypress, CA  90630
(714) 220-3055
Last modified Oxford Academy is a Public school that serves grades 7-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Oxford Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 88 reviews. Top