Advertisement
Advertisement

Calvary Chapel Christian School of Cypre

Private | K-6

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Cypress

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $403,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 16, 2014

My chjild attended CCCS, preschool-6th grade. We absolutely love this school! Teachers Principal, and staff show a genuine love & concern for the children & their education, I couldn't be happier. My kids learned of the love of God, and the Bible. They learned to be kind and respectful. A lot of class/homework.. yes, at times. However, my child learned great study skills, organization skills, responsibility, and accountability. With the great study habits my child developed here, moving on to Jr. High, and maintaining a 4.0 in Honor Classes has been a breeze. I appreciate what this school did for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 3, 2013

CCCS has been a part of our life. Our two kids went there since they were 3 until they graduated from 6th grade. The teachers were very attentive and caring. The school administrators are super nice and accomdate our kids' needs. Yes, there may be some strict rules( we did not totally agree with some of them.)but under Christian teaching, our kids really learned to be thoughtful, kind,giving person. Top of that, the accademic level was quite good. My kids went on to JH and HS, has been doing well, keeping up 4.0+ with Advance clasees. A lot of homework, projects, spelling bees, speech meet, science fair.....there are a lot of work by both students and parents, but it's well worth it. My kids learned great work ethics throughout years and at JH and HS level, they are doing fine with a tons of work and never an issure for them. We are very grateful that our kids had opportunity to go to CCCS. Thank you!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 4, 2012

It is really sick that these places are allowed to proselytize supernatural beliefs in the guise of education.


Posted May 30, 2012

This review/warning is actually about Calvary Chapel's summer day camp program, not the school. I sent my 5-year-old son there last summer, and they went on a field trip to the California Science Center at USC. My son got separated from the group. He says he asked his counselor if he could go get a drink of water, and his counselor says he wandered off. In any case, the counselor did not notice my son was missing, and the summer camp bus LEFT WITHOUT HIM. If the summer camp had just done a simple head count on the bus, they would have known he was missing. Apparently, they never noticed, until the Science Center called to tell them they left a child behind. Please consider this before entrusting your kids to this school/summer camp.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2011

My son just started this school. It is nice small size class and reading and writing I see already he is improving so much! Average size of class is 10 to 16 students. Teachers are happy to teach. so Far happy to see my son improvement of writing and reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 13, 2009

I saw a 'administrator' review saying there was to many kids in one class, 21 is the limit! Compared to the majority of California schools that is at least 10 less than public school classes. Calvary, in my opinion, is perfect. Small class sizes, tutition of 100 a week (sooo amazingly cheap for a quality private school), attentive teaches who actually communicate with the parents and the kids are well mannered (Not once has my daughter complained of being made fun of or teased. Big issue in her other school) And thats whats nice about a small school thats attentive, the staff does not under any circumstances tolerate any type of bullying, my daughter has never been so happy! I truly wish every child has this type of environment to growup in, society would certaily be alot less troubled. With out a doubt, this school gets five stars!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2008

C.C.C.S is a wonderful school. My daughter gets the best of care there. Her teacher and principal are very loving and her class is academically advanced. I feel very blessed to have my daughter enrolled in a school with such a family oriented atmosphere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 23, 2007

I'm thankful for this school. Both of my boys attended and received excellent teaching. Jesus is first in the hearts of all staff and it shows in their compassion. My children developed a love for sports, math, art, Bible, computers and they take on challenges with excitement. This foundation was and still is priceless. Myself and my husband never could have afforded a private school if it wasn't for God's blessing through the board at CCCS. They worked with us.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2007

cccs has high academic standards and are keep the long term goals in focus when planning and updating they program. They work very hard to make sure my daughter(s) were ready for what she would face in junior and senior high school. It wasn't always easy but the teachers were with them every step of the way. They were also there for us when it came to need help with tuition - when we hit a tough time they stepped in to help us keep our daughters in a private school while we worked our way through a difficult 'cash flow' time in our life. If you are looking for a place your child will not be lost in the cracks or a number, this is a place. The staff know the students and they show the children through example how to put Jesus first.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2006

Too many kids in one class.
—Submitted by an administrator


Posted March 16, 2006

Good academic, limited sports, good Christian music, great parent involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2005

My daughter loves it here, the teachers interact one-on-one with the students and they allow for alot of parental involvement in the children's studies.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 15, 2004

I have been very impressed with CCCS and it's faculty. As previously stated, the principal does have family members on staff, but my experience has been nothing but positve. My child has grown academically and spiritually during her many years at the school. She currently is working a couple years above her grade level and is extremely happy with her teacher. She has really found the fun in learning and being part of a family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2004

This school is wonderful. The school personnel has a warm and caring disposition. The classes are spacious and organized and the children always seem happy.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2004

It is a small school and staff is very helpful. There is a problem with favoritism, many of the staffs are related to the principal and it can be a benefit at times and other times not. It is extremely good school for the child to advance but there are times that they make it impossible for a child to finish the homework given. This can be rectified if the teacher is not related to the principal. If the teacher is related to the principal then they are definately in God's hands to finish all their homework and still be able to sleep or eat.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2003

I give this school a very good rating specially when it comes to it's teachers and their dedication and commitment.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 89%
Hispanic 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Asian 0%
Black 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI
  • ACTS
  • NAEYC
  • NAPSEC

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

5202 Lincoln Avenue
Cypress, CA 90630
Phone: (714) 236-1293

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT