Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Grace Christian School Of Cypress

Private | K-8 | 399 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Cypress

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $403,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,780.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 12, 2013

Caring Teachers, great staff. Small classrooms with great communication from teachers. Great staff onsite for any special needs. I have three boys who have attended the school for 4 years and have never had a negative situation that wasn't handled well. Nothing but good things to say about the school and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2012

My son is in his 3rd year at Grace and he loves it and so do we. He is so much more advanced than kids in his own grade that attend public schools. The staff is wonderful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2011

We transferred to Grace at the start of last school. What a great move it has been for our kids. My children have grown so much in two years. The entire staff is amazing. They are so caring and everyone of them willing to go the extra mile for you. In these hard times somehow they are continuing add programs. I wish they would add a high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2010

Love this school and all it's fine teachers! Been with GCS 6 years now and would recommend it to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 7, 2010

I am a public school teacher and have all three of my children at Grace. We have seen some great new things come to the school over the last three years. My youngest is just completing preppy k and we have loved everything about the class. I am also very excited to see how the writing and math programs have been greatly improved. We love everything about Grace and believe it the best education money can buy in a real loving environment. I would highly recommend Grace.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 6, 2009

Both of our children went through the preppie k program. They adored their teacher, and our family was so sad to hear that she was leaving last year. They still talk about her often, and the many lessons they learned while in her class. We have decided to pull our children out of Grace however, because of the change in leadership. While it appears that there are many new and exciting changes coming down the pipe, I am afraid that this new school year will not be all that parents expect. There seems to be a cloud over the school, and I'm afraid that many teachers will suffer under this new leadership. The teachers are outstanding and have worked together to make Grace a great school. Their efforts however, are being thwarted by dishonesty and 'control' issues tricking down from the top. The aides hours have been cut too!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2009

We like having our kids at Grace--mainly for the loving teachers. We feel that our kids are cared for and valued. The Kindergarten program could use more academics and so far I would not recommend the preppie K program. The old teacher, however, is leaving so this may change. So far, the academics have been adequate for our standards. We love the new principal, however, since he's bringing in the many changes which have been needed for a long time. He is improving the writing and the overall academic standards, as well as bringing the school up-to-date on technology. I think the school will become an academically excellent school in the near future. Most of the parents are working/ commuting parents so it can be a little challenging to befriend them. Some parents are very fundamental in their beliefs, but more accepting and loving people are around as well.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2009

My two great grandchildren are enrolled at Grace and I feel they are receiving the best education possible. As a retired junior high principal I am familiar with school curriculum and policy and know that Grace Christian School is providing an outstanding education for students in a safe environment.


Posted January 26, 2009

This is the best private school for the money around! They do an excellent job teaching the children. It's the only school I know of that makes it mandatory that all their teachers have their Master Degrees in order to teach there. How awesome is that!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2008

Grace Christian has the most caring dedicated teachers I have ever seen. We had two children at Grace who moved to public school in middle school. Both were more than prepared to be in leadership positions and are excellent students with great study habits. They were both in music instruments at Grace and went to middle school band overly prepared. Grace Christian is an excellent school that prepares students with lifetime study skills.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2007

The school is great. They really focus on the child as a whole rather than on education only. Mr. Coburn and the teachers are very easy to speak with regarding any problems or concerns that may arise. Too bad it has to be associated with Sea Coast Grace Church which seems to be against actually reaching out to the community as their mission says.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 25, 2005

Good school, reasonable tuition!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2005

I found that most if not all teachers here were sincere in their concern for helping to educate my children. The principal, Mr. Coburn, tries his best to accomodate family needs with the support of his office staff. The child care was only adequate with personnel issues that I feel could have been better organized/directed and observant to playground needs/issues.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2005

Grace is a great school with a caring, Christian environment that focuses on all areas of the development of children, not just academics. Grace Christian has hard-working teachers, as well as specialists in music, art and sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 61% 26%
Hispanic 15% 52%
Black 3% 6%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dr. Don Pettinger
Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

4545 Myra Avenue
Cypress, CA 90630
Website: Click here
Phone: (714) 761-5200

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Aslan Academy
Cypress, CA


Seat of Wisdom Academy
Long Beach, CA


Del Sol School
Cypress, CA



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT