Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hope Lutheran Elementary School

Private | K-3

Student diversity

Looks like we have no information about the race or ethnicity of the student body.

 
 

Living in Daly City

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $450,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,720.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 29, 2008

This school is fantastic! The academic instruction is excellent, and it's great for working parents. It offers morning care beginning at 7 and after school care until 6 for a very reasonable fee. The afterschool teachers are attentive to the kids (unlike in the public school we attended), so the kids actually do their homework correctly and receive assistance. This took a huge burden off us. The school is located right across the highway from Colma BART, so I no longer have a stressful rush to pick up the kids by 6. I can get off BART and be at the school in 5 minutes! For anyone who takes Colma BART to work, this school is great! Plus, it also has a fantastic preschool on campus from age 2. We were thrilled to take our elementary and preschool kids to the same location! One drop off, one pick up!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 31, 2007

Great small school with very small class sizes. School and staffs are warm and loving. Well balanced academic program with Mandarin program. It also has great before and after school care. The school provides a fun & safe learning environment. It is also very affordable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 6, 2007

There are so many great things about this school. It has tons of parking for drop off and pick up, a warm and friendly staff, bright clean classrooms, and high academic standards proven through annual testing. Not only that, but there are great programs like Mandarin and Children's Choir that are no additional cost. A personal favorite of mine is that the kids are also taught to be kind. When I was in 8 months pregnant and the school was going on Winter Break the kids were praying for me and my delivery. I love this school, but more importantly my daughter does. She comes home with a smile every day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

Our son has attended Hope Lutheran for 3 years. We are very happy with the curriculum, quality of the teachers and the school program in general. We highly recommend Hope Lutheran as a young school that is getting better every year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 4, 2007

Hope has a very good academic program for the children there. My son could read simple sentences when he is in 1st grade. The class size is small. We get weekly progress report. Teacher and parental communication is great to know how your child is doing. They also have a great after school tutorial program where they help the kids with their homework. They have just added a Mandarin program as an extra-curriculum which is great! Hope provides a safe and secure environment for the children where you can feel at ease.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

My daughter (Kindergarten) and I love this school. There are wonderful programs like Children's Choir, Mandarin and Cooking, small class sizes, easy parking and fun extracurricular activities like a 101st Day of school where the kids all dressed as Dalmations, and Nations day where each class gave a performance and taught the rest of the school about their assigned nation. The staff is warm and friendly and my daughter comes home every day with a smile. I also love that the kids are taught be to be good people. I am always hearing about my daughter's class praying and making cards for sick or injured teachers and classmates. Last, but not least the academic program is strong. My daughter can pick up virtually any book from her shelf (she has well over 100 books)and can start reading. The school may be small, but it's huge in heart. Check it out!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2007

My children are currently attending the school and they have a very high quality teachers. My children are well read, disciplined and could do advanced Math. The principal, Mrs. Williams and Pastor Woo are bot excellent educators. The school is very safe and they also have tutorial and summer school. The school has its own parking lot which a lot of schools do not have. It's an advantage and the tuition is fairly low compared to the other schools.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2007

It is one of the safest environment to have your children get their education .Class size is very small. Teacher give very good attention to every kids , if one the student is behind his /her class ,they have a volunteer former teacher member of the church tutoring the student one on one part of the activities class, free of charge. It is a christian school,they teach all student to act according to the best behave with love and respect.Teacher are great . The school has combined board from parents and church member to direct the school through the principle I have two daughters enrolled their.I was like other parents need the best for my kids . I found it . I highly recommended. Also they have the best daycare and preschool .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2007

Our three children attend this school and we couldn't be happier. We feel Hope elementary offers a safe and secure learning environment for children to thrive.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Oops! We currently do not have any student information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

55 San Fernando Way
Daly City, CA 94015
Phone: (650) 991-4673

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hope Lutheran School
Daly City, CA







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT