Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

South Shores Christian Preschool & Kindergarten

Private | PK-1

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Dana Point

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $558,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,160.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 17, 2013

My little Girl has developed very quickly with South Shores Teachers who have had many years of experience to sharpen there methods. My daughter comes home with a smile and loves her school. I was caught by surprise coming home from work and she proceeded to say hello in spanish then began singing a classic spanish song. She is learning to be kind, smart and loving in a Christian environment.. At South Shores Preschool she gets to participate in plays and other great activities that sharpen her social skills. I'd have to say Im very happy with the school.. its not overloaded and teachers spend quality time with the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 31, 2013

I absolutely love this Pre-school and the Kindergarten program! The teachers are pretty amazing too! When it's time to pick up, my kids never want to leave. I just love it here!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 3, 2012

This is a wonderful preschool and kindergarten. The teachers love teaching and are dedicated to the children. They have art, motor skills, chapel, and a Spanish learning time. The play ground is the best I have seen for a preschool. They have two, three and five day programs available which met the growing needs of my child. My child was very well prepared for 1st grade.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 10, 2012

I cannot say enough wonderful things about this "hidden gem" of a school! We sent our daughter to the AMAZING Kindergarten program with Mrs. McGinty (and Mrs. Podolski as the assistant teacher - LOVE her!!). They both truly go above and beyond for the children in every way! Academically it is tops - but what I loved most of all was the loving, caring, nurturing atmosphere. Very structured but also so filled with love and encouragement. Our daughter made wonderful memories and friends at this place. The school It is a very special community and I feel so lucky to have found this place. Our son also had an amazing experience - he went to the 3-day Preschool last year and is enrolled in the 5-day Pre-K program this year. He is happy, excited, making wonderful, grounded friends and loves to learn! For those looking for a truly special place where your children will be nurtured as they grow academically, socially and emotionally, I highly recommend South Shores Christian Preschool & Kindergarten. Wish they continued past K!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

I was looking for a loving school where my son could interact with others, without the pressure of too much academics at a very early age. With South Shores, I got that, but even with a splash (age appropriate) academics. The fees are extremely reasonable and it's just a warm, loving environment. He looks forward to going to South Shores every day! If I were to criticize anything, it would be the lack of childcare options before they open (9 am) but they do have a lunch bunch that goes until 1:30 pm for the 3 y/o & part-time preschoolers who get out normally at 11:30 am. I'd also love to see a snack rotation in the classrooms with healthy snacks provided by the parents instead of the provided not-so-healthy snacks. It's not a big deal, though, and I'd gladly recommend this school to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 2, 2011

We enjoy many activities here in Moulton such as Boo Blass and Talent Show. Suzanne Densley, a parent helper had done such a wonderful job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 20, 2011

This is a great preschool with a wonderful Jr. Kindergarten and an amazing Kindergarten. The playground is huge with lots of great equipment. They have spanish, music, motor skills and chapel. The teachers are all Christians and have a love the the children as well as The Lord.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2009

My daughter and son both attend South Shores, preschool and pre-K, respectively. We transferred here from St. Anne. The class sizes are small and the teachers are enthusiastic, loving and dedicated to ensuring the children learn while having fun being children. Their Kindergarden class is renowned for how well prepared it's children are for the 1st grade. A phenominal preschool and kindergarden.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 100%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Asian 0%
Black 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Hispanic 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Baptist
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

32712 Crown Valley Parkway
Dana Point, CA 92629
Website: Click here
Phone: (949) 496-5032

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Montessori of Laguna Niguel
Laguna Niguel, CA


St. Anne School
Laguna Niguel, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT