Students enrolled 675
School leader Phyllis Roach
Transportation options Yes
District San Ramon Valley Unified School District

Contact this school

968 Blemer Road
Danville, CA 94526

School website
(925) 552-5620
(925) 837-3512
Nearby homes for sale
Map of Los Cerros Middle School address.

3 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school

July 30, 2013
What a disappointment this school was! They put on a fabulous dog-&-pony show during BTSN,open house,special events,but the credit is due to parents-not the administration or staff. A majority of teachers are set in their ways,disregard current teaching trends & research,have little regard for the community they serve. Most appear to be clocking in & collecting a paycheck. They collectively set a tone of arrogance bordering on rude. If your child is in Resource we STRONGLY advise that you seek another school as dept leadership here is unwilling to meet the particular needs of students other than the bare minimum. RS teachers are extremely unprofessional,forever demanding the RS children fit the staff's teaching expectations without any regard to their disability,IEP,self-esteem. Their focus is "fixing" kids. Our child consistently reported that professional conduct changed when other adults were not present,"They're always mad at us & talk different when nobody else is there". We felt,for 3 years,at all times,that our child was an inconvenience to the staff there & DEEPLY REGRET that we held out hope that things would improve. Learn from our mistake, we wish someone had told us.

- submitted by a parent
June 12, 2013
My child is promoting this year and overall, I've been happy with our experience at LCMS. The Principal, VP and admin staff are professional, thoughtful and approachable. There's a lot of emphasis on prepping for high school & personal responsibility/ownership, which I appreciate. For the most part, the faculty has been good - I like that they have office hours or lunchtime group sessions for the kids to utilize for additional help & do a lot of project based learning; however, I've had challenges with their organization & follow up, which has been difficult because my child is lacking in these areas as well. That said, I never had an issue working with any of them in resolving issues. If anything, I wish they would focus more on steering kids away from school loop and emphasizing utilizing their planners for schoolwork tracking. We had too many teachers that said "refer to my website" or " check school loop", which were often not updated timely or at all. Ultimately, do I feel my child learned a lot? Absolutely. Do I feel that my child has a good foundation for high school? Absolutely. Do I feel your child will get a great education at Los Cerros? Most definitely.

- submitted by a parent
January 17, 2013
I find the many reviews for this school to be strange. Very little is mentioned as to the academics, enrichment programs etc. My middle schooler is having a good experience at this school, challenged in advanced math and sciences with excellent teachers, happy to participate in the other classes. One teacher seems to be disorganized but they get the work completed - often its with extra homework over doing any of it in class. The principal seems to be involved, the vice principal appears to be the authoritarian of the school. Bullying is non-existent if its discovered (very strict policy against this). I would rate this school well as it should be considered when looking at middle schools in the area. Athenian of course should be rated higher but for 30k/student that's to be expected.

- submitted by a parent
November 05, 2012
A good many teachers at this school are sub par and have an attitude. They aren't really expected to have to answer parental concerns. This attitude flows down from the principal who doesn't make her teachers perform.

- submitted by a parent
August 09, 2012
This school will not do much good to your kid's self esteem. Education in this school is not about teaching and encouraging kids; it is about disciplining and punishing. The Principal seems to be nice but has no power.

- submitted by a parent
June 14, 2012
The principal is great and only some of the teachers are great. If your kid is at this school and is popular - watch out! That's NOT a good thing. There are so many self absorbed kids in this community! They are very sneaky and have most of the adults/teachers completely fooled into thinking they are the good ones. It's hard for the good kids to get noticed because it's the loud mouths and brown-nosers that demand all the attention. The problem, of course, is the parents in this community that are living vicariously through their children, allowing them too many freedoms, especially online with little to no parental supervision. Watch your kids friends carefully!

- submitted by a parent
May 16, 2011
Los Cerros is a fantastic school. The teachers are great, motivated and actively involved with our child. The curriculum has been structured so the subjects presented engage and challenge the students.

- submitted by a parent
January 25, 2010
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
March 25, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
January 28, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
January 22, 2009
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
August 25, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
March 09, 2008
This is not the school for your kids! The education is challenging, but only because most of the teachers don't teach it! The strong points of this school are the few teachers like Mr. Atwater, who is said to be retiring. The majority of the teachers are full of themselves and do not listen to the students opinions. If you are considering transferring your child here, dont!

- submitted by a parent
February 27, 2008
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
August 11, 2007
I found the classes to be pretty easy, the teachers range from good to very, very bad. Over all not that bad (unless of course you get all very bad teachers).

- submitted by a former student
July 30, 2007
This school offered the absolute worse educatonal experience to my children. The teachers were highly unmotivated. The principal was found to be not very warm or welcoming. As a matter of fact, she was quite unapproachable. Students were not taught how to behave properly at school activities such as concerts and assemblies. There seemed to be a free-for-all during these events. Above all, study skills were not taught. There was a great lack of preparation for high school. I know I am not alone in my view. This school really needs to be monitored!

- submitted by a parent
March 23, 2007
In the past few years, things have improved greatly. I had two children go through three years each when there was a different principal. The current principal Ms. Ward, made positive changes and has been responsive whenever I had a concern regarding my current middle-schooler. Also, the school counselor, Ms. Schubb has been quite helpful and available. They still overload the children with homework on some nights and WEEKENDS. It is not a consistent amount and that should be addressed. One of the best teachers all three of my children had is Ms. Munck, for chorus and English. Several teachers who should not have been teaching are no longer there. There remain some good to very good ones and some who just assign and don't teach or even look at/correct work the child stayed up late to finish.

- submitted by a parent
March 22, 2007
Good school, teachers, office staff, principal, counselor, all around great ... happy my children are here.

- submitted by a parent
January 11, 2007
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a student
May 21, 2006
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
February 09, 2006
This school is terriblel. The teachers are horrible and there is no control at all over the students.

- submitted by a former student
August 20, 2005
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
August 25, 2003
This review submitted without content.


- submitted by a parent
Need help choosing a school? We can help »

Media Gallery

Media missing

Uh oh! No photos. This frame will look much better when you upload photos »

Ratings help families find and compare schools. Families should also use other factors when choosing a school.

913

Facebook


Nearby homes for sale

     

Last modified: October 28, 2014

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Los Cerros Middle School
968 Blemer Road, Danville, CA  94526
(925) 552-5620
Last modified Los Cerros Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Los Cerros Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top