Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


24 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Sycamore Valley Elementary School 2

Posted March 31, 2014
- a parent
First thing is first. The security at this school is non-existent. Anyone can walk in, the gate is wide open. There is a park next to the school play area. Teachers and volunteers watch the kids playing, but would be completely defenseless in case of emergency. Most schools changed their rules and took up precautions after the recent school shootings, but not Sycamore Valley. Why? 2nd, this school has been plagued by poor principal leadership. There have been 3 principals in 5 years. And they keep getting worse. As everyone says here, the parent involvement is critical, but parents aren't teachers, and can't be expected to take the place of teachers. Teachers need to do their jobs. There is also a handful of teachers that just shouldn't be teachers.

Sycamore Valley Elementary School 5

Posted October 05, 2012
- a parent
We moved to this area recently and found this school exceptional. Both my kid's really love this school. Excellent teacher and challenging academic program ! Both My kid's don't miss their earlier school and love this school. Big thanks to the teacher ! Keep it up with wonderful teacher and great academic program .


Sycamore Valley Elementary School 3

Posted May 18, 2012
- a parent
The best thing about this school is the physical facility and parent involvement. There are a handful of good teachers but more that should be weeded out but won't. There are also a lot of teacher job shares at most grade levels which only benefit the teachers, no matter what is promised. In the last year or so, changes have made the school sterile and little fun. Computer training is now basically non-existant.

Sycamore Valley Elementary School 5

Posted March 16, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Sycamore Valley Elementary School 5

Posted November 16, 2009
- a parent
I had two children go through this elementary school and overall had a very positive experience. Bob Scott, the principal, is only human (as we all are) and one does have to consider that he has to deal with the well-heeled, overachieving parents of Danville, as well as the students, which is no easy feat. Overall, I think Mr. Scott does an outstanding job and he runs a fine school. I sincerely feel that Mr. Scott truly has the students best interests at heart, he has tons of experience, and he is always available for students/parents concerns. I highly recommend this school.


Sycamore Valley Elementary School 3

Posted August 21, 2009
- a parent
This school does well because of the many hours put in by dedicated parent volunteers. It also does well because it is located in an area where funding is raised quickly and efficiently (again, by the parents). Most of the teachers are excellent. However, the principal, Bob Scott, has a very poor attitude. He gives off the appearance of being dedicated, however, if you ever disagree with him, it becomes very clear that all he cares about is being right. No matter what the dispute, his opinion is ALWAYS the correct one. He is disrespectful and condescending and despite what he believes he is NOT loved by the community.

Sycamore Valley Elementary School 5

Posted April 08, 2008
- a parent
Sycamore is a wonderful school. I think that the school works so well because of the high level of parental input, great teachers and a smart principal. Further, our school foundation and PTA do a good job of supporting programs that help all of the students in terms of technology, reading and writing and library.

Sycamore Valley Elementary School 5

Posted November 02, 2007
- a parent
Top quality school with top quality teacher. Very involved parents


Sycamore Valley Elementary School 5

Posted August 11, 2007
- a parent
We have been very pleased at Sycamore. All of my children have done well and have had their needs met. Our teachers have been very open and willing to talk with us if/when we have had a concern. The principal is very involved and knows most of the families. Some may see this as controlling...we feel fortunate he cares enough to be involved with over 500 families. We feel this is great as many friends at other schools in the district have 'hands off' leadership. I would take overly involved leaders and staff any day. Academics are strong if you are willing to partner with the teachers in your childs education. Science is very strong. We don't need add'l P.E. given the amount of extra-curricular sports we have in our area. The music program is expanding this year now that there is add'l state funding.

Sycamore Valley Elementary School 2

Posted May 14, 2007
- a parent
Our special needs son lasted 2 months in it's kindergarten class when we sadly began to realize he was not wanted in this school. The principal was very controlling over his services and had an 'I know what's best' attitude about our son instead of really listening to us, his parents. The teacher had a 'fine, I'll take your child' attitude concerning his placement into her class. They made it obvious to everyone around that our child had issues. It was a very disheartening experience.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Sycamore Valley Elementary School
2200 Holbrook Drive, Danville, CA  94506
(925) 736-0102
Last modified Sycamore Valley Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Sycamore Valley Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. Top