Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Too much (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 29 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Charlotte Wood Middle School 5

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
We move to get my 6th grader to CWMS and my oldest to SRVHS. My 6th grader LOVE CWMS! She doesn't want to miss school! She's inspired and THRIVING! It's worth the move! The only downside is there is no school bus service to this school at all. For both parents working, it is an inconvenience especially PM pickup. But the parents at this school is overwhelmingly supportive and I was able to connect with one of the mom's for carpool.

Charlotte Wood Middle School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
The band teacher: she saw my daughter's skills and did not hesitate for a second to promote her to advanced 7th grade band. Now my daughter is challenged and inspired! Thank you so much! 6th Grade CORE teacher! Maya always share wonderful stories, funny and interesting, at her CORE class. He also her how to think and reason for herself! Thank you! you inspire my daughter and educate her ALL at the same time!


Charlotte Wood Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted November 19, 2015
- a parent
My daughter's 6th grade CORE teacher is the best I've ever seen. He inspires and challenge her cognitive skills. He is passionate with ancient history and engage the students in so many levels. My daughter is lucky to have him. What a fabulous teacher!

Charlotte Wood Middle School 3

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
Five (5) stars for the math, science, art, chorus, PE, front office, counseling office, and administration! They provided our child with a seamless transition beyond the call of duty. The students have positive experiences in Science with Mr. Swenson and in Math with Ms. Gusman. Computer class, a noteworthy fine and performing arts program, the sports are excellent... Charlotte Wood has an aftercare program called "Teen Center," which has helped to keep our child supervised after school and on-track academically. Two (2) stars for almost every core teacher: The adage "One bad apple can't spoil the whole bunch" might be true, unless that bad apple teaches 3 periods/day! Each Core (i.e., Language Arts, Social Studies, Reading) teacher has the students for 3 periods at a time, and a substantial portion of the students dread Core. Favoritism, a hostile learning environment, indifference, myopia...describe the Core class experience for too many students at this remarkably-- and I mean remarkably-- welcoming, fun, academic middle school. The buildings are impeccable, and the school is located in a park-like setting in the heart of a charming neighborhood filled with solid families. Erstwhile, almost every Core teacher could use some professional coaching! They have mastered "the What" of the courses, and so now it is time for some professional coaching that will show the Core teachers at Charlotte Wood "the How" of responding differently to their students. They seriously need to master "the How" of reading situations accurately and enjoying their students...

Charlotte Wood Middle School
Amount of homework: Too much

Posted June 05, 2015
- a parent
Bring back the days of teaching "the non-measurable" instead of these confounded "measurables" that show how well we can supplicate to the standard tests instead of participating in the learning experience. The kids turn out smarter in schools that eschew the extra testing and teach "the non-measurables!"


Charlotte Wood Middle School 5

Posted June 17, 2014
- a parent
My child just finished 6th grade at Charlotte Wood. All the teachers have been wonderful: professional, caring, and supportive. The curriculum is challenging and also creative. My son also enjoyed the after school intramural sport program, which puts the focus on fun instead of competition. It is a great community!

Charlotte Wood Middle School 2

Posted December 18, 2010
- a community member
I find the pe locker rooms to be very unsafe. Students often are able to harass other students due to the teacher area's vies having sevral blind spots and no good servalence system. Bullying at the school was completly off the hook and pe teachers did not go out with the students to watch them providing more oppertunities for harassment. Also I found that while students were dressing in the locker rooms sevrel of the pe teachers just yelled out "why are you all yelling? just shut up and go" and they kicked a locker out of frustration, That does not sound like a good staff for a department that is potentionaly very harmful to some kids. Also I don't to hateful but when the school had to send children out for illness the school nerse wasn't their half the time and the secretary of the school filled out the forms. So the school has many flaws in its social department other then that its fine but nets a two star rating.

Charlotte Wood Middle School
no rating

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
The Academic and Creative Arts programs taught at Charlotte Wood round out the learning for our children.


Charlotte Wood Middle School 5

Posted October 01, 2009
- a community member
Very organized, very good teachers. Very good classes, lovely campus - needs performiong arts again

Charlotte Wood Middle School 5

Posted April 26, 2009
- a student
In my opinion i think charlotte wood is a fun school if you went to elementary with the kids in your grade, otherwise it may be difficult to find where you fit in. I love the principle Mrs.Buddy she is the best she makes the school worth going to she is very welcoming and super nice half of the core teachers are great and the other half isn't. There is people who like it and people who don't i give it 5 stars! :)

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Charlotte Wood Middle School
600 El Capitan Drive, Danville, CA  94526-5000
(925) 855-4400
Last modified Charlotte Wood Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Charlotte Wood Middle School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 29 reviews. Top