Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Private
Danville, CA

5 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


The Athenian School 5

Posted July 04, 2013
- a parent
Having gone to the local public elementary school my daughter did not want to go to Athenian for MS as all her friends were going to the public MS school. I have always allowed her to participate choices that effected her directly but I pulled the 'parental' trump card on this and she enrolled, attended, completed MS and HS at Athenian, and THANKED me for having insisted she attend. As a parent, hearing my daughter thank me for that decision was unparalleled parental joy. Athenian is the only school in the area that provides a strong well rounded education for life!

The Athenian School 5

Posted January 16, 2013
- a parent
Our daughter went through middle school and now is in high school. Athenian is wonderful in developing students. Noone is "left out" of conversations or forgotten. They focus on developing the whole child and instilling competence, indiviuality, and community


The Athenian School 5

Posted July 08, 2011
- a parent
The Athenian School exceeded our expectations for our son when we moved from England and he went to the Athenian for middle school. The faculty is outstanding and are able to bring out the very best in their students. One of the strongest qualities is a curriculum and philosophy which develops the student to integrate their learning across multiple disciplines and not simply remember or recite facts.

The Athenian School 5

Posted May 17, 2010
- a parent
We have had two children at Athenian 6th grade thru High School. Both have benefited greatly from what Athenian offers, which is very consistent with how they present the school. To start,classes average under 15 students in the upper school and 16 or so in the middle school. My kids have been in classes as small as 6 and no larger than 19. Teachers are motivated, they build individual relationships with each student and they know their subjects. The athletics prigram is very strong. My children went in non-athletic and each were dedicated to two different sports each year by the time they graduated. Extracurriculars, including performing arts, exchange programs thru Round Square, community service, robotics, the airplane program and superb. They learn to appreciate, communicate and relate to diverse students, whether they be from very different socio economic backgrounds or those boarding from around the world,

The Athenian School 5

Posted April 21, 2010
- a student
I am enrolled in this school and man, do I love it! It has GREAT acedemic structure, friendly kids, and it is set in a calm, peaceful, and GORGEOUS area- at the foot of mount diablo!


The Athenian School 5

Posted April 13, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

The Athenian School 5

Posted February 10, 2010
- a parent
Our son is a 6th grade student in the Athenian Middle School and we see him challenged, growing and gaining confidence in himself each day. He was identified as a gifted student in elementary school and we feel that the Athenian faculty and community are nourishing him intellectually, socially and emotionally just as we had hoped.

The Athenian School 0
no rating

Posted January 16, 2010
- a student
I went to The Athenian School and loved it! It was challenging and fun. It has a great learning environment, the teachers were very nice and supportive.


The Athenian School 5

Posted January 01, 2010
- a parent
We enrolled our son at Athenian after six years at our local Green Valley School, where he went from kindergarten to fifth grade. We looked at Los Cerros Middle School and decided we needed to invest the money in our son's future and send him to Athenian. Every year, our son received the personal attention he needed and his academic performance just exploded. Every child is educated as an individual and encouraged to excel. In middle school, our son attended an educational conference in Vancouver, BC as a representative from Athenian and spent part of a summer at the sea turtle preserve in Baja California. In the Athenian high school, he was one of the school's representatives at a global Round Square educational conference in the Republic of South Africa. Our son just graduated in 2005, was accepted to Stanford, graduated this year and is now at Genentech.

The Athenian School 5

Posted November 29, 2009
- a parent
Our son is doing very well at Athenian middle school. The teachers, in general, are experienced but not ancient, young enough still to have energy for instructing. The program is well-developed. Close attention to each student is evident. Very annoying is the constant fund raising and nickel and diming for every trivial expense. This begging seems worse than other private schools we have attended. Nevertheless I highly recommend this school. Other private schools in the trivalley (we looked at Quarry Lane) are poor imitations.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

The Athenian School
2100 Mount Diablo Scenic Boulevard, Danville, CA  94506
(925) 362-7208
Last modified The Athenian School is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
The Athenian School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top