Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-6
Public
Davis, CA
Students enrolled: 405
Before care: No
After care: Yes

4 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Marguerite Montgomery Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2014
- a parent
MME has a wonderful and diverse community. We now have a KINDERGARTEN THROUGH 6TH GRADE Two Way Bilingual Immersion Program (Spanish) as well as a traditional (English) program. MME is one of the smaller elementary schools in town, which makes for a close knit community. MME has a great feel and it is one of the prettiest campuses in town. Go Mustangs!

Marguerite Montgomery Elementary School 5

Posted March 06, 2014
- a parent
This school rocks! It is the little engine that could . . . . Sure there are some special challenges given its large populations of low-income students and english learners, but it is a diverse, warm, welcoming campus. If you want your kiddos to learn Spanish, this is a great place since there are so many native Spanish speakers here. The parent community is strong and committed. My kids are learning to love speaking Spanish and they love getting to have real science classes in a science room with a real science teacher starting in kindergarten. All other Davis elementary schools start their pull-out science classes in the 4th grade.


Marguerite Montgomery Elementary School 5

Posted October 30, 2013
- a parent
Marguerite Montgomery Elementery School is an excellent school. It is very diverse, has highly qualified teachers, an offers a lot of great opportunities for young children to develop their talents. My children are in the dual immersion program (English/Spanish) and they are loving it!

Marguerite Montgomery Elementary School 4

Posted August 01, 2012
- a parent
Our family has had a great experience at MME for the past 4 years. While the school is smaller than other Davis elementary schools, there is an incredibly dedicated corps of parent volunteers, and an amazing principal who dedicate lots of energy to ensuring that students have a positive and rounded experience here. The PTA supports many special enrichment activities, like the annual Missoula Children's Theatre company production, crafts night, a school carnival, several beautiful school gardens, special arts programming with YoloArts, and much more. During the 2012-2013 school year, the campus will begin work on a STEM (Science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) partnership with UC Davis, through a Bechtel grant, that will strengthen the science and innovation learning taking place at the school. The campus is also lovely. A number of murals and mosaics adorn the walls of the school, and student designed door markers, stepping stones, and benches add to the beauty of the gardens and other communal area. We love that this is our neighborhood school, and that it is a quick bike ride from our house, meaning that it never takes more than 5 minutes to get to school.

Marguerite Montgomery Elementary School 4

Posted July 30, 2012
- a parent
We love MME. Friendly, diverse school; for us much more preferable than more homogenous schools. Excellent Spanish Immersion program. Wonderful families at school to connect with from all backgrounds. Engaged and active principal and parent leaders. Unique Spanish and English classes for parents.


Marguerite Montgomery Elementary School 5

Posted January 30, 2012
- a parent
We miss this school My son was enrolled in the Spanish Immersion program K-3 and I have to say that the dedication of ALL of the teachers (English and SI), staff, and principal were beyond expectations. MME has a the most ethnically and socioeconomically diverse population in the city that makes a lot of the programs challenging, but no one mentions the elephant in the room, especially those from other schools that are not as diverse. It is unfortunate that parents have pulled their children out because of this. The Program Improvement status of the school is directly linked to the large number of non-native speakers that are highly concentrated at MME, and not equally distributed around the city. The support that they receive should be commended. The parental, staff, and teacher involvement is beyond what we have found so far at Chavez. MME's PTA is incredibly involved, with their fingers on the pulse of the climate of the school, and trying to get 'credit' (not the right word) for the challenges that they uniquely face. I wish that we could have continued at MME, having selected to continue with Spanish Immersion instead.

Marguerite Montgomery Elementary School 2

Posted December 08, 2011
- a parent
My daughter attended this school K-3rd, and it was a decision i wish i hadn't made. there was no sense of creativity at all, no teaching of health, and no teachers teaching what they should- empathy, creativity, cooperation, or a general willingness to learn. My slightly obese, awkward daughter often complained about hating sitting and writing all day. She was also constantly harassed by a wicked group of girls. i was enraged when the teachers did nothing to stop it and pulled my daughter out of this horrid school and enrolled her in Waldorf. There, she became envolved in jump rope, horse riding, basketball, and she lost weight and found friends. I am so happy with how content she is now! I only wish I had never put her in Montgomery. The only thing I like about Montgomery is its gorgeous campus and good location.

Marguerite Montgomery Elementary School 3

Posted December 07, 2011
- a parent
Very institutional feel. School caters A LOT to out of town Spanish speakers. Great teachers though, but expect ~30 kids per class. Not a lot of school plays or dances. Biggest after school club/activity is "running club" - kids are told to do laps on the asphalt.


Marguerite Montgomery Elementary School 3

Posted May 30, 2011
- a parent
My son attended this school K through 6th grade. It's a nice, clean school with very dedicated teachers. However, parent involvement is not on par with the other schools in the district. This is probably due to the large number of students being bused in from outlying cities. MME seems to have become the destination of choice for ESL students in Yolo County.

Marguerite Montgomery Elementary School 5

Posted April 15, 2010
- a parent
Love this school. Teachers and the principal have been just excellent for our three years here! I feel very lucky to have my both sons in this school.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Marguerite Montgomery Elementary School
1441 Danbury Drive, Davis, CA  95618
(530) 759-2100
Last modified Marguerite Montgomery Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Marguerite Montgomery Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 22 reviews. Top