Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

K-9|Private
121 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
12 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 21 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Grace Valley Christian Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
One of the things we love the most at Grace Valley Christian Academy is the wonderful teachers - each and every one devotes themselves, sacrificially, to their students. Any student that attends GVCA is truly blessed to have such wonderful teachers and staff who serve their students with maximum effort and heart - as a result of such effort, students learn and grow by leaps and bounds each year. We can't thank the teachers at GVCA enough for all that they do for our children!

Grace Valley Christian Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
We are parents of two children attending Grace Valley Christian Academy, over several years - based on this experience, across multiple grades, teachers, and school years we have found the amount of homework given to be appropriate - The teachers at GVCA have an astounding pulse on their students and they assign them exactly what they need in order to be appropriately challenged while not falling into the extreme of being too much, or too little/too easy. As a parent, the workload and course material covered each year is very pleasing especially when compared to traditional public school curriculum.


Grace Valley Christian Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
In all my life, I have never seen a more respectful group of children/students than those at Grace Valley Christian Academy. The children genuinely respect one another, as well as adults.

Grace Valley Christian Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
At Grace Valley Christian Academy both of our children learn and practice daily to love and care for others, as taught from the Bible. Not only is this verbally taught, but put into action with consistent application. The principal and teachers at Grace Valley have a deep and genuine care for each student, which is clearly evident to me as a parent.

Grace Valley Christian Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted May 12, 2016
- a parent
GVCA absolutely develops honesty, integrity, and fairness. It is clear through the growth of both of our children that they are not only learning academically but ethically as well. Additionally, the principal, Mrs. Broderick, and every teacher and staff member acts with the highest standard of honesty, integrity, and fairness.


Grace Valley Christian Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted April 12, 2016
- a community member
The former Principal, Jack Armstrong was the best part of Grace Valley Christian Academy. He taught me outstanding history, respect for authority and everyone around me (even those who do not follow the same worldviews as me). GVCA has not been as good since Sharon Broderick took Jack Armstrong's place.

Grace Valley Christian Academy
Develops empathy: Neutral

Posted April 12, 2016
- a community member
This school definitely encourages kids to be kind and respecful however that does not extend to those who are non-Christian, or members of the LGBT organization.

Grace Valley Christian Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly disagree

Posted April 12, 2016
- a community member
I would not say this school develops honesty. The teachers and especially the Principal put a huge focus on the spiritual life of the students and not in a good way. There is no encouragement to ask questions and explore their faith. Rather kids learn to fake a Christian faith because that is the only way to earn the praise and acceptance of the teachers and church members there. Thus students develop dishonest and duplicitous manners.


Grace Valley Christian Academy 1

Posted April 12, 2016
- a community member
I attended GVCA from kindergarten to 9th grade. The teachers are nice. Students are taught Christian morals and the academics are strong. The reason I gave it one star is that this school is connected to the church, "Grace Valley Christian Center". This church is known to be spiritually abusive and cult-like. The school was great but any interested parents: beware of the ways they will try to get you under their control in the church. It is sad to see how many happy families are torn apart by Grace Valley Christian Center.

Grace Valley Christian Academy 5

Posted March 04, 2016
- a parent
We came to know about Grace Valley Christian Academy when looking for a school for our kindergarten child 3 years ago. After private-school shopping for months, we found GVCA to be everything we were looking for, and far more. It is now 3 years later and we can happily confirm from experience that this school is a hidden treasure in Yolo County. Every teacher and staff member at GVCA has a sincere interest and care for our children's well-being and they are both thriving spiritually and excelling academically... what more could a parent ask for?

Nearby schools

Grace Valley Christian Academy
27173 County Road 98, Davis, CA  95616
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 21 reviews. (530) 758-6590
Last modified Grace Valley Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades K-9
Top