Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
 

5 stars
Based on 7 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


8 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Fred T. Korematsu Elementary School At Mace Ranch 5

Posted November 29, 2013
- a parent
We looked at schools across the Sacramento region and decided on Korematsu; North Davis Elementary would have been an excellent choice as well. Korematsu is our neighborhood school and supplies the trifecta: A school with a very solid teaching staff, a student body (and hence peer group) compromised of kids primarily from highly educated, supportive families, and the convenience and traditional advantages of being a neighborhood school. The current principal, Ms. Ponce, does a good job of maintaining control of the direction of the school. A very active PTO helps supply the "extras" while the veteran teaching staff is almost uniformly excellent. We believe that parents must support their child's school with time and money; we do so and are pleased to report that such involvement is the norm at Korematsu.

Fred T. Korematsu Elementary School At Mace Ranch 5

Posted July 03, 2013
- a parent
Korematsu has been a very positive experience for my children. My daughter who started in second grade had 5 very dedicated, challenging and fun teachers. My son who started in kindergarten also had 5 great teachers (the two not so great teachers have since retired).. The reading and math specialist are very helpful. The science teacher is fantastic. Band and strings are offered. A Gifted and Talented strand is available at this school. Before and After school care is available. Most impressive are the children themselves. It is just a nice group of kids. Families are working but are very supportive of their children and school.


Fred T. Korematsu Elementary School At Mace Ranch 5

Posted October 12, 2012
- a parent
I am impressed with the quality of the teachers and principal. The involvement of parents is stellar as is the PTO. The theme of this school is "Social Justice" which is of high value in these times. We are very happy with our children's experiences thus far.

Fred T. Korematsu Elementary School At Mace Ranch 5

Posted April 26, 2011
- a parent
Great school with excellent teachers who care about academics and the whole child. The community rallies behind the PTO events and really support the school.

Fred T. Korematsu Elementary School At Mace Ranch 5

Posted April 22, 2011
- a parent
This school almost didn't open due to various political and demographic issues, but open it did, and I am so very glad. The staff are fantastic and the teachers even better. The depth of the classroom instruction is phenomenal and the science program is unequaled. I taught 8th grade science in San Juan School District and I had to teach my eighth graders what my kid learned in fourth and fifth grades. Two field trips to Pt Reyes in fifth grade and an overnight adventure on the Balcutha, a masted ship berthed at Hyde St Pier in S.F. were experiences that my son will never forget. The outdoor experience at Walker Creek was another highlight that will never be forgotten. And then there were the day trips to Mondavi Center or UCD, plus all the great in-class projects that kept my son engaged and interested in school. So many days that he WANTED to go to school. You can't beat that. Than you Koramatsu teachers and staff.


Fred T. Korematsu Elementary School At Mace Ranch 0
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Korematsu has an awesome staff that work together to give the kids a thorough and creative educational experience.

Fred T. Korematsu Elementary School At Mace Ranch 5

Posted January 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Fred T. Korematsu Elementary School At Mace Ranch 5

Posted October 13, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fred T. Korematsu Elementary School At Mace Ranch
3100 Loyola Drive, Davis, CA  95616
(530) 757-5358
Last modified Fred T. Korematsu Elementary School At Mace Ranch is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 9 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Fred T. Korematsu Elementary School At Mace Ranch Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 8 reviews. Top