Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
9 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 14 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cesar Chavez Elementary School 3

Posted March 28, 2016
- a parent
So far, my child's teachers have been good. However, the leadership at this school is lacking. Neither parents nor teachers are supported when things go wrong. As an example, multiple complaints against one teacher in particular were ignored and needed to be escalated to the school district. Other interesting points are that there are almost no learning disabled students at this school, perhaps because it is immersion, and I think this artificially inflates scores.

Cesar Chavez Elementary School
no rating

Posted November 08, 2010
- a parent
I love the sense of community, inclusion and world view the kids get!


Cesar Chavez Elementary School
no rating

Posted April 24, 2010
- a parent
Teachers are enthusiastic, and parents are involved. This school is fun and has been a wonderful experience for my son!

Cesar Chavez Elementary School 5

Posted October 15, 2009
- a parent
When my son took the 2nd grade STAR test last spring they'd just started studying English grammar and spelling - before that everything was in Spanish. I assumed he'd test badly in English the first time and I was fine with that. But he scored as proficient in English reading and advanced in math, even though he's a pretty average kid being tested in the wrong language. Plus he's now bilingual in an English speaking family. He's obviously getting an excellent education. And we love the school, teachers, atmosphere, and other parents.

Cesar Chavez Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
Great School, Great Teachers and Staff, Great Parents and Great Kids!


Cesar Chavez Elementary School 5

Posted July 16, 2009
- a parent
We moved to davis, out of Private Jewish School. We are thrilled with Chavez,, the first grade teacher our child had, the active community of adults who support the school and teachers, and Davis as child-friendly community.

Cesar Chavez Elementary School
no rating

Posted March 23, 2009
- a parent
My daughter is currently in the first grade at Cesar Chavez school and we live in another school district. We drive about 30 minutes each way almost every day to bring her to this school. Do I need to say more? It's an excellent school and it's worth the trip!

Cesar Chavez Elementary School 5

Posted November 27, 2008
- a parent
Cesar Chavez is why we live in Davis. Great school, great experience. Our daughter is thriving in every way. She is learning about herself and the world around her as well as being taught to The Test.


Cesar Chavez Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2008
- a parent
Great Spanish immersion program and the parents are really involved.

Cesar Chavez Elementary School 5

Posted September 24, 2008
- a parent
Wonderful school, great energy, committed parents. We've been very happy with our kids teachers. I agree that the early standardized tests are completely irrelevant. The kids are not yet used to being tested in English. What matters is by 6th grade the kids function at a high level in both languages.

Nearby schools

Cesar Chavez Elementary School
1221 Anderson Road, Davis, CA  95616-1899
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. (530) 757-5490
Last modified Cesar Chavez Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top