Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Cal Coast Academy

Private | K-12 | 65 students

PROVIDING EDUCATION AS UNIQUE AS EACH STUDENT'S FINGERPRINT

 

Living in Del Mar

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,094,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,380.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

20 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 22, 2013

Ms. Jan Dunning, the who woman runs this school is AWFUL!!!! TERRIBLE!!!!! NObody likes her!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 28, 2013

This school is very unique for quite a few reasons. First, there are no more than six students per class. Second, the teachers are very caring and engaging. My son has difficulty focusing and because of the small class size, he is able to do the work without the use of ADD medication. Also, the ambiance at the school is very much about acceptance of differences. In the past, my son dreaded going to school but now, he refuses to miss any days and I think that says it all. Finally, the education is tailor-made. My son is advanced in a lot of subjects, so he's able to take the level of class which suits him best while at the same time having a great deal of support in his weakest subject. If you're looking for a school that will get your child excited about education, look no further.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2013

Our experience with this school was average at best. Tuition is steep and does not include all of the extras, such as uniforms, textbooks, after-school homework help, class trips, etc. Our daughter came to this school because of social issues at her prior school. She is a good student academically. She worked very hard while at Cal Coast Academy and earned good grades. She was frustrated though because she had classmates who she said didn't not try very hard at all and were still earning the same grades as her. It became clear that parents send their children to this school to pay for good grades. Another complaint of our daughter's was the lack of resources in the classroom. Almost once a day she would have to go in search of chairs for her classrooms and there were never enough. This was baffling considering what we were paying. We were also asked twice during the school year to donate money via school fundraisers without knowing how the money would be spent. Needless to say we did not find it necessary to give the school more than what we were paying in tuition. Neither my husband or I were impressed by what we saw when were went into the school. It was very messy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2013

Cal Coast Academy truly does provide education as unique as each student's fingerprint! Cal Coast Academy is education as its finest! Cal Coast Academy is saving lives, one student at a time!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 14, 2010

This school and the vision of it's director and staff should be shouted from the roof tops! Special education and students who learn differently are all too often considered lazy or unintelligent. It is unfortunate that most students who have special needs will not have the opportunity to learn in an environment that is equipped to help students with learning disabilities before reaching an age where they are considered to be lost teenagers. The public school system is in need of much prayer and educators who have passion for their positions and compassion in helping students who struggle. This is why the vision of Cal Coast Academy is full of hope, innovative educational ideas, supportive staff who are selected not only by their qualifications, but most importantly their enthusiasm and commitment to make a difference. I cannot express enough how this school and their staff changed my son into a student who has hope to attend college someday. He has goals, and for me and family that is considered to be priceless. Thank you Cal Coast Academy you are a burried treasure, but hopefully not for long! This school will someday soon be on the map for a remarkable educational experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

Cal Coast Academy REALLY makes a difference in students lives. The staff love what they do & it truly shows. Hands down it's the most amazing school I've ever come in contact with.


Posted October 13, 2010

Cal Coast saved me at a time when public schools just wouldn;t work. The care that the staff take towards each individual students is overwhelming and I know that this school could benefit countless kids. This is not only a place of learning academics but also a place of developing character, responsibility, acceptance and care.


Posted October 13, 2010

I love Cal Coast Academy because it allows students to explore their true potential.


Posted October 13, 2010

Under the leadership of veteran educator Ms. Jan Dunning, Cal Coast Academy provides the highest level educational experience to the students it serves. Her outstanding faculty is hand picked and shares her strong core values. As a team, they provide an outstanding educational experience. Preparing students for leadership and life, and providing service to the community are provided in addition to an excellent, proprietary curriculum. The fact that students come back to visit after graduation is a great testament to Cal Coast's success! I have personally met and worked with this amazing staff and can't say enough about what this school means to parents and students alike.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 13, 2010

The individual attention to each student. CCA tailors the instruction to the individual needs of each student, and failure is not an option.


Posted October 13, 2010

Both of my children have attended Cal Cal Coast Academy. Our son has graduated and now attends his first choice college. The education he has recieved has prepared him well for college. He has made a sucessful transition. Our daughter is a cu7rrent student at Cal Coast Academy. She enjoys the school tremendously. Jan Dunning is a true educator. She has the best interest of each child in mind. Her staff is very well qualifued and shares in her philosophy. Our children have recieved an individualized and personalized education at Cal Coast Academy
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2008

The best thing about Cal Coast for our family has been the ability to get a quality education that allows for the individual needs of our son. He is smart but not always motivated and the teachers and staff of Cal Coast work hard to figure out what will help each student to thrive. We are very pleased with the school and with our son's educational and personal growth in the two years he has been there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 18, 2008

My daughter has been attending Cal Coast Academy since her freshman year and is now a senior. Cal Coast has been very influential in helping her succed in school and getting into the college of her first choice. The faculty found and helped her get into a summer program at UC Davis which was a tremendous experience for her. I would highly recomend Cal Coast Academy as a top college prep school. Sincerely, Julie Herrick
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

Jan Dunning is a true leader and educator and has developed a fine example of quality education. The personal care and attention to the students needs and the daily accountability of each students learning process has given my son an esteem level not attained in public school. She and her fine staff of teachers and administrators is top drawer excellence. Michael Callaway, Parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2008

I am a parent but also a senior educator for over 25 years. This school is instrumental in the education of my son. He has some specific learning needs. This school has made his educational journey a success! I have nothing but respect and admiration for the dedication, leadership and care that the principal demostrates to my son' s education. Thanks and that you continue improving the educational system with a diverse educational approach to meet the needs of all students gifted and students with specific needs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

We feel so fortunate to have found Jan Dunning and her staff at Cal Coast Academy. The personalzed attention and care that is given to each student is unheard of in the education system today. Every kid deserves the chance to thrive and feel successful and Cal Coast Academy is one of the only schools out there making it happen. Thanks Jan!!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 15, 2008

We are very happy that we moved our son from public school to CCA. Though he had lots of homework in public school, he works harder at CCA because he feels it pays off. He also is more interested and engaged. The teachers are fabulous, and the leadership of Jan Dunning inspires confidence.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2006

Jan Dunning, has achieved the impossible at Cal Coast Academy. She has, with a nurturing and caring staff, created an environment that meets the needs of every student. The very first day my son stepped foot in Cal Coast for tutoring, he came out wanting to attend full-time because he knew he could be successful. He has proved that, and had fun learning along the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2006

Cal Coast Academy has afforded my son freedom to become 'The Gifted Thinker' God has created him to be. He feels very much at home there, and is always inspired to reach his highest potential.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 15, 2006

We have had nothing but positive results from Cal Coast. My son was struggling and overwhelmed at his prior school and was therefore not caring nor attending. With the individual help he gets at CCA, he is thriving. He's a much happier kid. - Mr. & Mrs. Rolf Benirschke San Diego Chargers
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 96%
Hispanic 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Asian 0%
Black 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0%
Two or more races 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

College readiness and student pathways

Colleges most students attend after graduation Pepperdine University
Boston University
Occidental College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
German
Italian
Japanese
Spanish
Farsi
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Top CA Private High School Ranked by Student-Teacher Ratio (2010)

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Farsi
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Farsi
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Farsi
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:45 am
School end time
  • 2:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 4:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Jan Dunning
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Part-time study
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Fax number
  • (858) 481-8583

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Direct instruction
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Independent Study
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • Standards-based
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Farsi
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
Foreign languages taught
  • Farsi
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Latin
  • Spanish

Resources

Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Farsi
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Japanese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Remediation
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Computer
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Instrumental music lessons
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
More from this school
  • Cal Coast Academy is A SMALL CAMPUS FILLING A BIG VOID. At the core of what we do is this simple recognition: students' don't all develop at the same pace, neither do they all find traditional teaching methods effective. The staff at Cal Coast Academy dedicates ourselves to identifying the best personal learning styles for our students and give them the tools they need to succeed. This is an ongoing process. It's interactive. It's personal. All Cal Coast Academy classes are taught at a 6:1 ratio. Our intimate class size allows for PERSONALIZED INSTRUCTION THAT SPARKS INTEREST!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


7 out of 10students were accepted for the 2011-2012 school year.


Students accepted for the 2011-2012 school year
65
Applications received for the 2011-2012 school year
100

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$15000 - $18000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Pepperdine University
Boston University
Occidental College
College preparation / awareness offered
Community college courses
Summer college prep programs
College prep programs/courses during the year
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
College presentations or information sessions
SAT/ACT prep classes
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

445 Marine View Avenue
#105
Del Mar, CA 92014
Website: Click here
Phone: (858) 481-0882

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Keystone Academy
Solana Beach, CA



Skyline Elementary School
Solana Beach, CA


St. James Academy
Solana Beach, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT