Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
6-12
Private
Del Mar, CA
Students enrolled: 85
Before care: No
After care: Yes

5 stars
Based on 13 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


20 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Cal Coast Academy 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
This school is very unique for quite a few reasons. First, there are no more than six students per class. Second, the teachers are very caring and engaging. My son has difficulty focusing and because of the small class size, he is able to do the work without the use of ADD medication. Also, the ambiance at the school is very much about acceptance of differences. In the past, my son dreaded going to school but now, he refuses to miss any days and I think that says it all. Finally, the education is tailor-made. My son is advanced in a lot of subjects, so he's able to take the level of class which suits him best while at the same time having a great deal of support in his weakest subject. If you're looking for a school that will get your child excited about education, look no further.

Cal Coast Academy 2

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
Our experience with this school was average at best. Tuition is steep and does not include all of the extras, such as uniforms, textbooks, after-school homework help, class trips, etc. Our daughter came to this school because of social issues at her prior school. She is a good student academically. She worked very hard while at Cal Coast Academy and earned good grades. She was frustrated though because she had classmates who she said didn't not try very hard at all and were still earning the same grades as her. It became clear that parents send their children to this school to pay for good grades. Another complaint of our daughter's was the lack of resources in the classroom. Almost once a day she would have to go in search of chairs for her classrooms and there were never enough. This was baffling considering what we were paying. We were also asked twice during the school year to donate money via school fundraisers without knowing how the money would be spent. Needless to say we did not find it necessary to give the school more than what we were paying in tuition. Neither my husband or I were impressed by what we saw when were went into the school. It was very messy!


Cal Coast Academy 5

Posted July 16, 2013
- a parent
Cal Coast Academy truly does provide education as unique as each student's fingerprint! Cal Coast Academy is education as its finest! Cal Coast Academy is saving lives, one student at a time!

Cal Coast Academy 0
no rating

Posted October 14, 2010
- a parent
This school and the vision of it's director and staff should be shouted from the roof tops! Special education and students who learn differently are all too often considered lazy or unintelligent. It is unfortunate that most students who have special needs will not have the opportunity to learn in an environment that is equipped to help students with learning disabilities before reaching an age where they are considered to be lost teenagers. The public school system is in need of much prayer and educators who have passion for their positions and compassion in helping students who struggle. This is why the vision of Cal Coast Academy is full of hope, innovative educational ideas, supportive staff who are selected not only by their qualifications, but most importantly their enthusiasm and commitment to make a difference. I cannot express enough how this school and their staff changed my son into a student who has hope to attend college someday. He has goals, and for me and family that is considered to be priceless. Thank you Cal Coast Academy you are a burried treasure, but hopefully not for long! This school will someday soon be on the map for a remarkable educational experience.

Cal Coast Academy 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a community member
Cal Coast Academy REALLY makes a difference in students lives. The staff love what they do & it truly shows. Hands down it's the most amazing school I've ever come in contact with.


Cal Coast Academy 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a community member
Cal Coast saved me at a time when public schools just wouldn;t work. The care that the staff take towards each individual students is overwhelming and I know that this school could benefit countless kids. This is not only a place of learning academics but also a place of developing character, responsibility, acceptance and care.

Cal Coast Academy 4

Posted October 13, 2010
- a community member
I love Cal Coast Academy because it allows students to explore their true potential.

Cal Coast Academy 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Under the leadership of veteran educator Ms. Jan Dunning, Cal Coast Academy provides the highest level educational experience to the students it serves. Her outstanding faculty is hand picked and shares her strong core values. As a team, they provide an outstanding educational experience. Preparing students for leadership and life, and providing service to the community are provided in addition to an excellent, proprietary curriculum. The fact that students come back to visit after graduation is a great testament to Cal Coast's success! I have personally met and worked with this amazing staff and can't say enough about what this school means to parents and students alike.


Cal Coast Academy 0
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a community member
The individual attention to each student. CCA tailors the instruction to the individual needs of each student, and failure is not an option.

Cal Coast Academy 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Both of my children have attended Cal Cal Coast Academy. Our son has graduated and now attends his first choice college. The education he has recieved has prepared him well for college. He has made a sucessful transition. Our daughter is a cu7rrent student at Cal Coast Academy. She enjoys the school tremendously. Jan Dunning is a true educator. She has the best interest of each child in mind. Her staff is very well qualifued and shares in her philosophy. Our children have recieved an individualized and personalized education at Cal Coast Academy

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Cal Coast Academy
11555 Clews Ranch Road, Del Mar, CA  92014
(858) 481-0882
Last modified Cal Coast Academy is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Cal Coast Academy Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top