Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

6-12|Private
85 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 27 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Cal Coast Academy 5

Posted June 27, 2016
- a parent
Cal Coast has been an incredibly positive experience in my children's education. My girls walk out of their chemistry and biology classes smiling. They come home from class and go straight to their homework. The small group environment created at Cal Coast enables a more hands on, fun, and engaging learning environment. I highly recommend Cal Coast. All my children's teachers have been smart, personable, and dedicated to teaching. It has been a very positive experience where my kids look forward to going and learning.

Cal Coast Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted June 27, 2016
- a parent
Cal Coast has been an incredibly positive experience in my children's education. My girls walk out of their chemistry and biology classes smiling. They come home from class and go straight to their homework. The small group environment created at Cal Coast enables a more hands on, fun, and engaging learning environment. I highly recommend Cal Coast. All my children's teachers have been smart, personable, and dedicated to teaching. It has been a very positive experience where my kids look forward to going and learning.


Cal Coast Academy 5

Posted October 28, 2013
- a parent
This school is very unique for quite a few reasons. First, there are no more than six students per class. Second, the teachers are very caring and engaging. My son has difficulty focusing and because of the small class size, he is able to do the work without the use of ADD medication. Also, the ambiance at the school is very much about acceptance of differences. In the past, my son dreaded going to school but now, he refuses to miss any days and I think that says it all. Finally, the education is tailor-made. My son is advanced in a lot of subjects, so he's able to take the level of class which suits him best while at the same time having a great deal of support in his weakest subject. If you're looking for a school that will get your child excited about education, look no further.

Cal Coast Academy 2

Posted July 25, 2013
- a parent
Our experience with this school was average at best. Tuition is steep and does not include all of the extras, such as uniforms, textbooks, after-school homework help, class trips, etc. Our daughter came to this school because of social issues at her prior school. She is a good student academically. She worked very hard while at Cal Coast Academy and earned good grades. She was frustrated though because she had classmates who she said didn't not try very hard at all and were still earning the same grades as her. It became clear that parents send their children to this school to pay for good grades. Another complaint of our daughter's was the lack of resources in the classroom. Almost once a day she would have to go in search of chairs for her classrooms and there were never enough. This was baffling considering what we were paying. We were also asked twice during the school year to donate money via school fundraisers without knowing how the money would be spent. Needless to say we did not find it necessary to give the school more than what we were paying in tuition. Neither my husband or I were impressed by what we saw when were went into the school. It was very messy!

Cal Coast Academy 5

Posted July 16, 2013
- a parent
Cal Coast Academy truly does provide education as unique as each student's fingerprint! Cal Coast Academy is education as its finest! Cal Coast Academy is saving lives, one student at a time!


Cal Coast Academy
no rating

Posted October 14, 2010
- a parent
This school and the vision of it's director and staff should be shouted from the roof tops! Special education and students who learn differently are all too often considered lazy or unintelligent. It is unfortunate that most students who have special needs will not have the opportunity to learn in an environment that is equipped to help students with learning disabilities before reaching an age where they are considered to be lost teenagers. The public school system is in need of much prayer and educators who have passion for their positions and compassion in helping students who struggle. This is why the vision of Cal Coast Academy is full of hope, innovative educational ideas, supportive staff who are selected not only by their qualifications, but most importantly their enthusiasm and commitment to make a difference. I cannot express enough how this school and their staff changed my son into a student who has hope to attend college someday. He has goals, and for me and family that is considered to be priceless. Thank you Cal Coast Academy you are a burried treasure, but hopefully not for long! This school will someday soon be on the map for a remarkable educational experience.

Cal Coast Academy 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a community member
Cal Coast Academy REALLY makes a difference in students lives. The staff love what they do & it truly shows. Hands down it's the most amazing school I've ever come in contact with.

Cal Coast Academy 5

Posted October 13, 2010
- a community member
Cal Coast saved me at a time when public schools just wouldn;t work. The care that the staff take towards each individual students is overwhelming and I know that this school could benefit countless kids. This is not only a place of learning academics but also a place of developing character, responsibility, acceptance and care.


Cal Coast Academy 4

Posted October 13, 2010
- a community member
I love Cal Coast Academy because it allows students to explore their true potential.

Cal Coast Academy
no rating

Posted October 13, 2010
- a parent
Under the leadership of veteran educator Ms. Jan Dunning, Cal Coast Academy provides the highest level educational experience to the students it serves. Her outstanding faculty is hand picked and shares her strong core values. As a team, they provide an outstanding educational experience. Preparing students for leadership and life, and providing service to the community are provided in addition to an excellent, proprietary curriculum. The fact that students come back to visit after graduation is a great testament to Cal Coast's success! I have personally met and worked with this amazing staff and can't say enough about what this school means to parents and students alike.
Cal Coast Academy
11555 Clews Ranch Road, Del Mar, CA  92014
(858) 481-0882
Last modified Cal Coast Academy is a Private school that serves grades 6-12
Top