Advertisement
Advertisement

Winston School

Private | 4-12

We are best known for learning differences program.

 
 

Living in Del Mar

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $1,094,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,380.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 7 ratings
2011:
Based on 7 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

16 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 24, 2012

Winston School is an outstanding educational opportunity for those students who have any form of learning challenges, or disabilities. From the very getgo, the staff and administration, along with the teachers are incredibly gifted/talented to optimize and maximize student learning. Moreover, this school was the FIRST school that my son attended where there was zero tolerance of "bullying" by any of the students. The atmosphere for social interactions, self-discovery, and educational challenges allowed my son to have greater self-concept, self-worth, and experience the "victory" of academic learning. There is no greater gift than helping a child become more academically prepared for life and its many challenges!! Winston School provided a "highway" to success as a student, as a musician, and as a self-confident teenager! Bottom line: Winston School is the type of academic setting that should be the norm for all educational schools -- public OR private :))
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2012

The Winston school is not a good school to go to. The teachers are really not good teachers at all at the Winston school. The school really should be shut down because it is such a bad school and also half of the kids who graduate from there don't even go on to college. So i hope that parents open there eyes and what the Winston school is all about and realize that there just throwing there money away.


Posted May 17, 2012

The Winston School saved my son's (and my) life. I truly believe that. Before we found The Winston School, we tried all sorts of different schools. Public school, charter school, tutors, online school, 3 different schol districts in one year. None of them fit. The first day at The Winston School, my son told me "it felt like home." They recognize my son's high intelligence in some areas and severe learning disabilities in others. I remember getting "the look" at other schools. Why couldn't I get my son do the work? He is lazy, etc. The Winston School is truly a team, along with the parents and child. There is never blame, only a team working together to help the student. He is thriving there and if I ever won the lottery, The Winston School would be at the top of my list to give a million dollars to! Thank you Winston!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 10, 2012

We are grateful to the wonderful staff at Winston that took so much care in the academic and social development of our son. He would have surely been a statistic(not a good one), if he had stayed in the public school system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 14, 2012

My son attended Winston for most of his education. He is now in college. He would not have graduated high school or be in college without Winston. They understood his particular learning difference and worked with it. He learned to read by finding letters in the scratches under the table. He taught the class some of the chemistry chapters in high school (with the teacher right there to make sure it was correct). His intellect was able to shine past his disability. They taught him to get the tools he needs to be successful and he has.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2012

My child was bullied made to be an outcast by students and teachers at public due to her learning disabilities. She struggled every day academically with little to no help from her so called Special Education Teachers and her self-esteem was critical low. We were the child that fell through the cracks in public school. Winston discovered how to teach my child and she excelled academically in the 4 years she attended Winston. But most importantly through the caring and encouraging staff at Winston my child became a self-assured outgoing person on campus and off. As parent of a child with learning disabilities helping them learn at their own pace is important but giving them a safe place to discover all they can be with a wonderful school experience is the icing on the cake.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 6, 2012

Winston is not just a school, it truly is a learning community. My son would not have been successful in the public school system. He attended Winston for 8 years, graduated and is currently attending college. The school makes every effort to meet the needs of each student, even after graduation they have continued to be supportive. If you have a student with learning challenges, you could not do better than Winston
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 20, 2011

Amazing school for students who learn differently, small classes, diploma bound - college bound students (some non-college bound as well). Fully functioning school community - small class sizes, amazing teachers, individualized care, academics and accomodations which guarentee student success. Very grood arts program - drama, music, literature, painting and photography and scultping - with annual Festival of the Arts. Small school size (110 students). Made a huge difference for so many students - last years grads went to college, Up with People tour, community college, trade school -and staff help find the school that fits your senior,. Active parent group. Caring, dedicaed administrators.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2011

My son has absolutely flourished at The Winston School. After years of lonely frustration in public school he is now getting good grades, participating in school activities and having fun with his Winston friends. The administration, staff and teachers at Winston are exceptionally creative in finding ways to help your child learn and amazingly patient with the kids as they find their way. I simply could not be more pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 30, 2011

The Winston School has been such a positive educational environment for my son. It is great to have a team of dedicated educators working with us to pave the way for my son's future. Since becoming a Winston Student in November 2010, my son has directed and produced two videos. They are being aired by Del Mar TV. My son is a junior and has had job offers based on skills that he has learned at Winston. I have no doubts that my son will be prepared for life and higher education when he graduates. The Winston School staff truly understands the meaning of developing an Individual Education Plan for each student.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2011

In the top rated local public schools, my child's grades were always A's, she was far too quiet, extremely well behaved and liked, however, due to being overwhelmed by the environment (which then exacerbated her shyness and anxiety) she always hated school with a passion. By middle school she was spiraling down into depression and unable to attend school for weeks then months at a time. She either had A's when she attended or F's when she didn't. We were loosing her. The Winston School has been a God-send. Now she not only loves school for the first time in her life but she has blossomed into a happy and talented young lady who actively participates in her classes and can speak up for herself in a mature and confident manner to get her needs met. We are so thankful for the caring, patient and talented teachers and staff at Winston. The public school's size and model cannot meet some students needs. All kids deserve a chance at an education and positive future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 11, 2011

Excellent place -- perfect place -- for students with mild to moderate learning issues. Dedicated, passionate teachers give customized, often one-on-one attention to the students. For some Winston students, the school had truly been a lifesaver. There should be more schools like Winston. The location, a block from the ocean in Del Mar, is not bad either :-)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2011

My daughter had attended Winston School for 5 years, she just graduated. I give the school and the teachers 5 stars rating, they really care about my daughter. We just wish we had found Winston School earlier. Class sizes is small and the classes are individualized to your child's need. I highly recommend the school for students with learning disabilities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2011

II went to the Winston school i was the class of 99. The school was an okay school to go to. The only thing i didn't like about the school was that every one new every one and it was so small. But other then that the staff is really nice and they will help you as much as they can with anything..


Posted October 5, 2010

Within a week of starting at Winston, my daughter was transformed. I should have moved her earlier; instead I clinged to my desire to have her "accomodated" in traditional schools. She is both ADD and LD and taking a full college prep load and liking it. She feels successful and is. Winston focuses on problem-solving and critical thinking, not memorization and high stakes testing.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2010

The whole school is dedicated to children with special needs and my son is an alum.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school
White 79%
Hispanic 8%
Two or more races 7%
Asian 4%
Black 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Special education
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Clubs
  • Gardening

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
Clubs
  • Gardening

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Gifted / high performing
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Summer college prep programs
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Mike Peterson
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Gifted / high performing
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Special ed
  • Special education
  • Special eduction
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Autism
  • Hearing impairments
  • Multiple disabilities
  • Other health impairments
  • Specific learning disabilities
  • Speech and language impairments

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • Summer college prep programs
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Auditorium
  • Computer
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • softball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Softball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Painting
  • Photography
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Gardening
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

More from this school
  • The Winston School is a college preparatory program which offers hope and success for children with learning differences in grades 4 through 12. A group of pediatricians and parents in San Diego founded the school in 1988 for bright children whose needs were not being met in traditional school settings. The school is the only college preparatory school in San Diego County that provides education to an equal mix of privately enrolled and publicly funded students placed by the school district. Students such as those struggling with dyslexia, dysgraphia, dyscalculia, ADD, ADHD, specific learning disabilities or learning disorders, nonverbal learning disorders and slow maturation find what they need in the school’s small, safe and caring environment. By incorporating small classes, multi-sensory teaching methods and individual attention, the school’s faculty works together to help students fulfill their academic, physical, artistic, social and emotional potential. Since opening in 1988, The Winston School has educated nearly a thousand students, preparing them for college and for the working world. The Winston School is accredited by the Western Association of Schools and Colleges.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

215 9th St
Del Mar, CA 92014
Website: Click here
Phone: (858) 259-8155

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Del Mar Pines School
San Diego, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT