Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
4-12
Private
Del Mar, CA
Students enrolled: 109
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Winston School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
Teachers go above and beyond a typical school by utilizing many different techniques without giving up on the kids. It is truly a special staff at Winston

Winston School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
Our kids have to work so hard all the time, that the mediocre daily homework, along with any major reports going on is sufficient. Since my daughter has attended Winston, I have never struggled with her beginning her homework. Winston makes it the Student's responsibility, just like the real world. If you do not complete it, there is always a consequence.


Winston School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
This school will go above and beyond to ensure your kid understands the task at hand. They will what I call "lather, rinse, REPEAT" to ensure once they do get the task, it sticks! They will try 6 different methods until it makes sense. Students really feel supported!

Winston School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
Most kids arrive Winston being disrespected by their previous school staff & students. Winston offers a caring and safe environment. All students are taught respect daily.

Winston School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
The teachers, counselors and all staff are so very caring. They really spend the necessary time to get to the core of a problem, while teaching the student to problem solve. They support the student better than any school you've ever been to


Winston School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
This school offers all of that. By the time you discover Winston, most likely your kid has struggled socially and academically. Winston Staff and Students welcome your kid and reassure them that school is going to be great and they will never be treated poorly again. It takes lots of pressure off the student and parents too!

Winston School 5

Posted July 22, 2015
- a parent
The staff is pretty stable for a non-public setting which makes a huge difference for our type of kids. Mike Peterson, Headmaster, hires staff that really, really cares about the student abilities which they encourage and inabilities which they assist to improve. It is a highly supported program with small classroom sizes to really get the students on board academically and socially. The school uses a hands on approach for learning which assist with kids that need assistance with auditory processing. This school truly prepares a student academically and confidently for a college or work environment.

Winston School 5

Posted September 11, 2014
- a parent
There are a number of reasons why we love this school but the results really speak for themselves. Four years ago we were not sure if our son would graduate from high school. Now, not only is that not a concern we are finishing up his college applications. Not all students learn the same way. Winston completely understands that and works with students to help them achieve. As importantly, they work to build up the confidence of students who may have felt like failures or become discouraged with school work. The growth in our son's self confidence impacts so much more than just his grades. I wish we had started at Winston before 9th grade. Middle school was such a difficult time and the school system just didn't have the resources to help him the way they did when he was younger. Winston has changed the lives of everyone in the family and we thank them for it.


Winston School 5

Posted August 24, 2012
- a parent
Winston School is an outstanding educational opportunity for those students who have any form of learning challenges, or disabilities. From the very getgo, the staff and administration, along with the teachers are incredibly gifted/talented to optimize and maximize student learning. Moreover, this school was the FIRST school that my son attended where there was zero tolerance of "bullying" by any of the students. The atmosphere for social interactions, self-discovery, and educational challenges allowed my son to have greater self-concept, self-worth, and experience the "victory" of academic learning. There is no greater gift than helping a child become more academically prepared for life and its many challenges!! Winston School provided a "highway" to success as a student, as a musician, and as a self-confident teenager! Bottom line: Winston School is the type of academic setting that should be the norm for all educational schools -- public OR private :))

Winston School 1

Posted June 16, 2012
- a community member
The Winston school is not a good school to go to. The teachers are really not good teachers at all at the Winston school. The school really should be shut down because it is such a bad school and also half of the kids who graduate from there don't even go on to college. So i hope that parents open there eyes and what the Winston school is all about and realize that there just throwing there money away.
1 person found this helpful

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Winston School
215 9th Street, Del Mar, CA  92014
(858) 259-8155
Last modified Winston School is a Private school that serves grades 4-12
Winston School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top