Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

5 stars
Based on 23 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


23 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Del Mar Heights Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2014
- a parent
Del Mar Heights is everything you want in a school. It has top-notch academics, great leadership, community involvement, and programs. The art, technology, and P.E. teachers are phenomenal. They provide so many "extras" that make students interested in their days. Oh, and you can't beat an ocean view from the playground.

Del Mar Heights Elementary School 5

Posted March 20, 2014
- a parent
What a gem! My kids thrive here and love going to school. It's a really strong community of teachers and parents working together to provide the best possible educational experience for our kids (despite ongoing funding challenges at the state level). It has a small school feel and is "old fashioned" in all the best ways, and yet cutting edge in terms of technology and teacher practices to deliver best in class education. I can't imagine getting higher quality at a private school.


Del Mar Heights Elementary School 5

Posted March 02, 2014
- a parent
This has been a fabulous school for my child. Each year she continues to tell me how much her teachers care about her and take the time to listen. With some of the new programs they have during lunch, she has found an interest in the arts. I am highly impressed by the principle who seems to know every child as she greets them every morning outside the school. We feel fortunate to attend such a wonderful small school that focuses on developing the whole child and not just academically prepared but socially responsible children.

Del Mar Heights Elementary School 1

Posted February 01, 2014
- a parent
My child was bullied in this school. Snotty cliques between parents especially mom groups. If you do not have your lululemon complete workout gear and stepford wife attitude, you are immediately ignored. I can't say much for the students here either. A lot of spoiled brats and entitled children. My daughter was bullied and teased relentlessly because she was held back. Her teacher at that time was very unsympathetic and told us that our daughter lacked social skills and compared her to one of her classmates who was also a new student. I am so glad we pulled her out of this mess of a school. Heavy weight lifted out of our family's shoulders, that's for sure.

Del Mar Heights Elementary School 1

Posted November 27, 2013
- a community member
I went to this school and was not impressed. Staff was not able to handle kids of more gifted measures, and the kids there were mean and rowdy.


Del Mar Heights Elementary School 5

Posted October 10, 2013
- a community member
Del Mar Heights School. My granddaughters were a year behind when they enrolled in Del Mar Heights coming from schools back east. Instead of holding both of them back for a year, they got them special help and brought them up to speed. The teachers and staff are "The Best"

Del Mar Heights Elementary School 5

Posted November 20, 2011
- a parent
amazing school community where every child is valued and the approach is to educate the whole child through academics and social raising ethical, inquisitive creative learners. The school includes a full PE, art, technology program with lab based science, Spanish and music. The school has a rich tradition with yearly events and teachers who are independent thinkers, who value their principal but always focus on the child. This school lead the way with professional learning communities and is the district champion for second language. This school has 2 special day classes with many children with learning issues fully integrated - created their own Understanding Differences - award winning program. Amazing.

Del Mar Heights Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2011
- a parent
This school is just outstanding. We have been doing intradistrict transfers from a another school zone in the district with marginally better schools, but 3 times the student population. This school has the feel of a private school with all the benefits of a highly dedicated/involved community. We are moving this summer and will be enrolling our kids in private school to compensate for what we are leaving; a well rounded educational institution that focuses on competency (not just teaching to the test). I have loved the "Peace builders" program that helps kids work through any conflicts that arise. This is a Zero-tolerance anti-bullying school, it simply isn't allowed. If you are looking for a safe, nurturing, inclusive place where your child(ren) can flourish, this is the place! 5 stars all the way!


Del Mar Heights Elementary School 5

Posted October 12, 2010
- a parent
We have had two children go through the shcool and now have our third in Kindergarden. Our experience with the school has been very positive. The overall standard of the teaching staff has been excellent, and the strong leadership of the Principal makes for a solid foundation.

Del Mar Heights Elementary School 5

Posted April 21, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Del Mar Heights Elementary School
13555 Boquita Drive, Del Mar, CA  92014
(858) 755-9367
Last modified Del Mar Heights Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Del Mar Heights Elementary School Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 23 reviews. Top