Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Evergreen Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Diamond Bar

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $400,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $2,190.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

22 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 29, 2014

Evergreen is great! This year it was named a Distinguished California School and Exemplary Arts School. All my kids attend Evergreen. Every teacher is wonderful. 2 of my kids had the older teacher mentioned before and we all loved her. Her specialties are computers and math. My kids said she made math fun. I worked in her room weekly and I will say she is strict, but very soft spoken and calm. My kids did many "inspiring" projects and stunning art work. She keeps a collage of family photos on a small bulletin board near her desk that s why kids know about her family and hobbies. I think it adds a nice personal touch. Most of the teachers have similar displays in their classrooms. It lets the students see that they have families, interests, and activities beyond teaching. I understand that this teacher along with two other teachers will be introducing a new STEM program to the school this next school year. That doesn't sound like someone who's counting the days to retirement. Evergreen's principal is great too. She has brought many new programs to the school since she s been there. I feel privileged that my children can attend such a fabulous school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2014

This review is based solely on one teacher at Evergreen who did such a bad job of preparing my child for the next academic school year that she makes the whole school look bad. I won't name names because this website won't allow details like that, but if you have a child who is going into 3rd grade, please be very careful to avoid the older third grade teacher who is just waiting for retirement. My child knew details about the teacher's personal life, the ages of her sons, their hobbies and jobs (one is a musician, the other, a cop), her texting habits during class time and instructional practices such as punishing students for asking questions or making them sit with their hands on their heads for long periods of time but my child did not come home with a single writing, math, or craft project that was worthy of keeping. We waited all year thinking things would get better but in the end, there was absolutely nothing that was special or inspiring about this teacher. For the children who didn't do well in her class, she would tell parents to pay for tutoring. We just wrapped up the school year and I am really sad for the wasted year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2013

This school is always the reason we moved to Diamond Bar, the teachers are wonderful. The Principal understands, is very caring, and very smart. The school is in a very safe environment. Daycare staff is very supportive, my son loves his school. Academically they are advanced to the previous school my son attended. I am very happy with this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 5, 2011

We are very pleased with our decision to send our child to this exceptional school. The principal is friendly, involved, and really goes out of his way to make school a place where our child wants to go. Dr. Trimmer is the best. Although there is a steady influx of Asian non-English speakers, the teaching staff does their best to keep the pace needed to prepare the children for the next grade level. We appreciate their focus on the core subjects. The field trips have been educational and relevant. The office staff is a little nit picky; but they do try to be friendly. The Community Club does an amazing job providing the school with the resources and volunteers needed to make Evergreen the best school in the area. The PE program is fun and our child looks forward to the weekly activities. Overall, we feel Evergreen was the best educational choice we could have made for our child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2011

My child has been at Evergreen for two years, and I could not be happier with our experience there. The teachers are fantastic. They truly care about the children and about helping them to grow and thrive in every way -- academically, socially, and cognitively. The teachers are also very generous with their time outside of school hours. They are always willing to meet with parents who have concerns or questions, and they actively participate in the school's extracurricular efforts (i.e. Bookfairs, School Carnival, etc.). Evergreen is a wonderful school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 2, 2010

We are new to this school this year. My son is in 5th grade. I am extremely pleased with this school. The curriculum includes art and P.E. and Music! I am astounded at the qualifications that my son's teacher has. She is really very very good. My son needed to be more organized in 5th grade and his teacher has really gotten him into shape! He has discovered the saxophone thanks to Everygreen, they have have a great music teacher. As for the principal, he has a big job to do! but if you read his musings in "The View From the Office"you will see just how much he really cares for the kids. I found this enlightening, as I too thought he seemed unapproachable. We are happy that we left Ranch Hills and came to Evergreen. A much better education for sure. Wish we had been here for K-4th!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2010

Principal looks rigid and it seems like some parents in the community club will get some favorable treatment by the principal. Besides, this school does not put in efforts in cultivating children to learn other subjects than English or Math. We went to Rowland Heights District school before, where they offer music in their daily curriculum. I feel regretful in transferring him here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 16, 2009

I second what another parent said about the Principal. He is not approachable at all. Teachers for the most part are excellent! They have a strong academic curriculum. However, I feel that they focus too much on preparing for the standardized tests to maintain their API scores. School should be more than just testing and more testing. It should be a place for not only learning, but also have extra curricular activities that are fun and enriching. I also agree with what others have said about the Community Club. The head of the ECC is tough. Her approach sometimes come across as abrasive. In conclusion, I believe Evergreen is a good school. However, if given a chance to attend other schools in the district, I would consider going elsewhere. Thank you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2009

I feel blessed to have my child at Evergreen. The wonderful teachers, staff, volunteers, and parents are what make the school great for our children. The Community Club seems to do everything that they can to help the school be still one of the best even with the cuts that the district had to do. If you are looking for a great education with people that care all the way around, I would recommend Evergreen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 15, 2009

This is my 2nd year as a parent at Evergreen. The principal is not too friendly. The office staff is ok. Ms. Wong is more approachable and friendly than the other staff members. Teachers are hits and misses. There are a few that are topnotch while others are just mediocre. There academic program is good. If given a choice of other schools in the district, I would opt to send my children elsewhere. I was fooled by the API scores and did everything I can to get my children into this school. At this point, I am questioning my decision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2009

We are very fortunate at Evergreen. We have an outstanding Principal who puts the students first every single day. The office staff is amazing. The teachers at Evergreen are some of the best in the District. I have been a parent here for over 8 years. For many of those years, I wasn't involved with the Comminity Club. I have been involved now for 3 years. It is a great group of parents who work hard to ensure that EVERY student has the same 'opportunities' to enrich their educational experience. I volunteer ALOT, and I have never asked for or been offered special treatment with student/teacher placement. To be very honest, every teacher here is worth requesting. If you are considering our school, know that you are welcome and we would love to have you come to a Community Club meeting and get aquainted. -JF
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2009

Evergreen has a good principle, a group of excellent office staffs, excellent teachers. But the community club is really disappointed consisted with tough charactor members, which push their children to get all the benefits and oppertunities. Is this what the community club suppose to do for the community?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 26, 2008

Evergreen has provided my three children an exceptional education. The teachers focus on building up the whole child, not just the academic. Although academics are high on its priority list, the staff and administrators work hard to teach the kids about character, personal responsibility, and leadership. We have been very happy with this school. Parents are extremely involved; it's a great community of people.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2007

I'm very impressed with then New principal at the school , hes pro -active and is making it a point to have this school run smoothly ... I love there new discipline guidelines that were just implemented ( example: enforcing and more respectful interaction between kids ) I see only positive changes. I love the front desk staff there personable and do what they can for your kids ... Susan your the best! I love the changes ,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2006

I have one child attending the school. As her first year, I was surprised to learn how structured the academic curriculum is for the younger children. If the child falls behind, it seems the parents are responsible for the extra review that is needed, not the teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 17, 2006

I have 3 children at this school and cannot be happier with the quality of the teachers and the education they're receiving. My fourth grader is already learning pre-algebra and geometry, and the science courses are very advanced (what causes earthquakes, what's involved in making light bulb light up, etc.) For better or worse, there's a lot of homework, and take home projects like science fair (which is optional but everyone does it). Even Kindergarteners have homework (mostly reading), and have weekly spelling tests. The parents are very involved in the school. In the earlier grades, virtually every parent shows up for orientation and parents' night. Many parents also volunteer in the class rooms.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 24, 2005

Parents are very involved in the school. They assume many leadership roles on various committees. There is an active Community Club. Students do very well at this school. Teachers do an excellent job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 11, 2005

My daughter has been in this school for 9 months. She is in the kindergarten and I am extremely happy with the way she is progressing. The curriculm for kindergarten is intense and often times involve the family which my husband and I think is great. Our daughter comes home and discusses what she does in class and is always excited about learning.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2005

Evergreen Elementary is one of the premier elementary schools in this district. Its scores are always at the top and the programs that are available here are great. What makes me most surprised about the successes at this school are the obstacles they overcome: the diversity, the students that come in with english as a second language in their homes. This is truly a committed staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2003

Evergreen is an outstanding school! Our daughter has had amazing opportunities to learn from educators who work as a team and are devoted to their students. The Community Club (in lieu of the PTA in other districts) works hard to support the students and teachers of Evergreen. The parent volunteers are a tremendous asset to the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

932

Change from
2012 to 2013

-10

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

932

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-10

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

10 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

1 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
79%

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
80%

2010

 
 
79%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
90%

2012

 
 
78%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
84%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

78 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

80 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
94%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
95%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
94%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

103 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
96%

2012

 
 
90%

2011

 
 
97%

2010

 
 
92%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
93%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
87%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
87%

2012

 
 
96%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
85%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
86%

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
91%

2010

 
 
88%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students79%
Females85%
Males75%
African Americann/a
Asian85%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability86%
English learner36%
Fluent-English proficient and English only86%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)45%
Parent education - college graduate85%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate88%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students90%
Females93%
Males87%
African Americann/a
Asian97%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged91%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability96%
English learner86%
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate96%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students75%
Females79%
Males73%
African Americann/a
Asian85%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino42%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability79%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduate73%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate87%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students91%
Females92%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)92%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only93%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)73%
Parent education - college graduate91%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students95%
Females96%
Males92%
African Americann/a
Asian96%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino79%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged92%
Non-economically disadvantaged94%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability94%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only96%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)83%
Parent education - college graduate95%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students96%
Females96%
Males96%
African Americann/a
Asian99%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino87%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged99%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability96%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate98%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students85%
Females90%
Males82%
African Americann/a
Asian91%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino67%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)69%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students87%
Females86%
Males90%
African Americann/a
Asian95%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only88%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate89%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate97%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students86%
Females90%
Males84%
African Americann/a
Asian90%
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino82%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged83%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability88%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only90%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)85%
Parent education - college graduate86%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate90%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 67% 11%
Hispanic 16% 52%
White 13% 26%
Black 3% 6%
Two or more races 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 21%N/A55%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:10
School end time
  • 2:25
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school
  • Before school
School Leader's name
  • Carolyn Wills
Fax number
  • (909) 468-5217
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Dance
  • Drama
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2450 South Evergreen Springs
Diamond Bar, CA 91765
Website: Click here
Phone: (909) 594-1041

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Institute Of Knowledge
Diamond Bar, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT