Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

C. A. Jacobs Intermediate School

Public | 7-8 | 609 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 4 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

15 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 9, 2014

I wish I went to this school...... But I moved unfortunately last year so I never went sadly...........


Posted November 8, 2012

Maybe the children would be more respectful if the school held their parents responsible for their actions. Unfortunately most of these parents are at Buds Bar and Grill and are not interested in making their kids be respectful individuals. Is the staff afraid of thes parents? This is not a popularity contest. Your other students have to right to go to school and get an education without being picked on by a bunch of punks! The principal needs to get control!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 11, 2011

I used to teach here. Most of the teachers are dedicated and know their subject matter. Leadership is usually in flux. Most principals were not qualified to even teach at the school. Most of the students are below proficiency so it's basically an elementary school for teens. I would not want my kids to go there. Why? The most dysfunctional students and their parents hold sway and admin caves in. Their are some angry, entitled people out there and they love making others their doormat. It's a popularity contest so might as well get the khardashions in there to teach.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted June 27, 2011

I represent a community non-profit working directly with the principal, advisors from core curriculum, and 30 students. I am a professional educator, recognizing both leadership and quality performance in teacher commitment. The teachers I have worked with have gone above/beyond to instill leadership, enrichment, and postsecondary awareness at UCDavis. I have met with parents of members of the new Builders Club, service/leadership club, and is evident there is great potential in this school. The principal is a leader in all respects!


Posted June 13, 2011

This is a horrible school! The sports teams is about the only good thing about this school. Most teachers have NO disipline in class, and lets students act disrepectful towards them and other students. Complete lack of control in the classroom. DO NOT send your child here if you have a choice! The sports team may be great, but it's not worth the bullying students, disrespectful staff, and non-exsitant andvanced class'. I would NEVER recommend this school to ANYONE!


Posted March 19, 2011

Horrible school that completely lacks competant management! We were a new family to the district with a straight A, quiet, polite, keep to himself kind of kid. Our child instantly disliked school saying he was bored and considered an "outsider". Called CAJ to discuss concerns and look into the possibility of advanced/ AP classes, was told to be grateful for having such a bright child and maybe he/she needed some help with socialization skills. Child was horribly bullied over the coming weeks and on at least three occasions assaulted by means of pushing, punching, and choking. Phoned and went to school several times, principal/ as. principal were never around to discuss this with us, "she is not available right now", was the common excuse given. Police were never notified nor was school resource officer. When I was finally able to speak with one of them I was told they had counseled the other children and that it may just be a case of kids being kids. Same kids attacked child again and still nothing was done. School thinks they can counsel these junior criminals as a way of discipline instead of handing out suspensions. I guess the district/city didn't need our tax dollars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2010

i am now and 8th grader here at CA anf im not that happy at r school. my &th grade year i had a teacher grading me down on my clothing witch wasnt that bad, i could be wearing leggings and a long shirt and get graded down. there r some very awsome teachers that i wouold love to have next year but cant. i think that our princeple should have been more strict but he wasnt also the ladies n the office r very rude, the kids here at this school r very mean and dont understand what respect is as muchas i dont like to say bad things about the school i think ur child should not go here.


Posted March 14, 2010

Hi, Im a 7th grade student at CA Jacobs and I have been threatened by a teacher that I would get a refurell when all I was doing was sitting quitly in my desk after I finished my essay and my book. Allso my friend was given a refurrel for suposevly beating a girl up. This never happened and her mother came into the school to tell them so. This fight had suposevly taken place after school while the student was at home with her mother. The student that lied got suspended but the student that was honest and didnt do a thing still got a refurell. This sytem is cruel when they actually need to do something they let it go. If I was moving to dixon and had kids that would be attending this school I would put them in a better school out of reach from these teachers.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 7, 2009

i am a 7th grader attending this school We have some really good teachers,although our principal is not as strict as he should be,overall i think that this school is a very good learning enviroment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted December 19, 2008

This school lacks leadership, and is a negitive place to be .We moved are children to a differnt district and they are doing wonderful
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2008

As an eighth grader at CA Jacobs, I'm really not impressed. Though there are a few really gifted teachers, by and large they're not effective at all. Discipline is inconsistent at best. Extracurriculars are nearly nonexistent- there's technology and leadership. Technology is a free period with computers, essentially, for students who didn't have any other class to fill this gap in their schedules. Leadership does nothing but sell dance tickets. The sports teams do alright, but no one really cares. School spirit is super low, and it's not really a wonder why.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 3, 2008

Fabulous staff and teachers to support student learning. THe new leadership for the 08-09 school year will continue to support the growth the school has experienced in the past. We have three children and one just finished 7th grade at CAJ. Keep it up and the state of California needs to continue funding for our kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

I have two children attending CA Jabobs Middle School. I am impressed with the teaching staff, but the school district is in trouble. I am not convinced that this school will remain the good school it has been for the past 8 years since my oldest child attended. Next year will be a bad year for this district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2007

The music and P.E. programs are fantastic. The sports programs are well run, and the office staff are very helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 21, 2003

Some teachers here are outstanding and some teachers are mediocre. Leadership is in flux at this school. The extracurricular activities are many and varied. Parents are welcomed in words, but not in actions. Parent opinions and help are not solicited, nor accepted. Overall, I would give the school a grade of C.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

803

Change from
2012 to 2013

-14

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school did not meet all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

803

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

-14

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

6 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

5 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 86% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

265 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
54%
Math

The state average for Math was 52% in 2013.

263 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
50%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

The state average for Algebra I was 50% in 2013.

115 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
97%

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
80%
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 57% in 2013.

276 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
53%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
51%
General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

The state average for General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards) was 31% in 2013.

167 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
38%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
41%

2010

 
 
29%
Geometry

The state average for Geometry was 85% in 2013.

2013

 
 
n/a

2012

 
 
n/a

2011

 
 
n/a

2010

 
 
n/a
History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

The state average for History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative was 52% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
42%

2010

 
 
42%
Science

The state average for Science was 67% in 2013.

282 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
62%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
66%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students49%
Females51%
Males47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disability20%
Students with no reported disability51%
English learner13%
Fluent-English proficient and English only57%
Migrant education29%
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate30%
Parent education - high school graduate47%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)47%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate50%
Parent education - declined to state55%

Math

All Students54%
Females54%
Males53%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged62%
Students with disability20%
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner16%
Fluent-English proficient and English only62%
Migrant education45%
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate57%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)50%
Parent education - college graduate67%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate75%
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Algebra I

All Students97%
Females95%
Males98%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino96%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)100%
Economically disadvantaged96%
Non-economically disadvantaged97%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability97%
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English only97%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduate100%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)95%
Parent education - college graduate100%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate100%
Parent education - declined to staten/a

English Language Arts

All Students53%
Females55%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino39%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability56%
English learner2%
Fluent-English proficient and English only63%
Migrant education21%
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduate18%
Parent education - high school graduate43%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)65%
Parent education - college graduate68%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate79%
Parent education - declined to state45%

General Mathematics (Grades 6 & 7 Standards)

All Students38%
Females37%
Males39%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Non-economically disadvantaged47%
Students with disability5%
Students with no reported disability43%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only50%
Migrant education30%
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate29%
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)37%
Parent education - college graduate43%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to state13%

Geometry

All Studentsn/a
Femalesn/a
Malesn/a
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disabilityn/a
English learnern/a
Fluent-English proficient and English onlyn/a
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduaten/a
Parent education - high school graduaten/a
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)n/a
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

History - Social Science Grade 8 Cumulative

All Students54%
Females53%
Males56%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Students with disability5%
Students with no reported disability59%
English learner8%
Fluent-English proficient and English only64%
Migrant education39%
Gifted and talented92%
Parent education - not a high school graduate33%
Parent education - high school graduate41%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)64%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate84%
Parent education - declined to state48%

Science

All Students62%
Females64%
Males61%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino51%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Students with disability0%
Students with no reported disability68%
English learner6%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant education46%
Gifted and talented100%
Parent education - not a high school graduate40%
Parent education - high school graduate52%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)71%
Parent education - college graduate75%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduate95%
Parent education - declined to state48%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 49% 51%
White 42% 27%
Black 4% 7%
Asian 3% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 1% 1%
Two or more races 1% 3%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Cindy Moody-Perkins
Special schedule
  • Year-round
Fax number
  • (707) 678-1245

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

200 North Lincoln Street
Dixon, CA 95620
Website: Click here
Phone: (707) 678-9222

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Bridges of Solano
Vacaville, CA





ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT