Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
K-6
Public district
Dixon, CA
Students enrolled: 678
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Tremont Elementary School 2

Posted July 04, 2015
- a parent
I think this school does what they can with what they have. They meet the bare minimum of children and parents expectations. They cater to teaching spanish speaking kids english more than helping my daughter learn math. Seems a little off to me. I took her out of an excellent Vacaville school when we moved here. She was reading halfway through Kindergarten and was doing great in math when I took her out of 1st grade in Vacaville. She only fell behind when they choose to not encourage her to try. Its a new school and she was shy starting out. It caused them to give her a different math test then other kids. I asked her how it made her feel... "like im dumb" IMMEDIATELY I choose to take her out of Tremont. She is ridiculously smart and any school that doesn't see a intelligent child start to "feel" dumb doesn't deserve to teach anyones child anything. They are below average in every way.

Tremont Elementary School 5

Posted March 07, 2014
- a parent
I had 2 children attend Tremont from K-6. I have nothing but good things to say about the staff and curriculum. I did enjoy the schedule when the school was year round. I volunteered often and both of my children were honor students.


Tremont Elementary School 1

Posted November 12, 2012
- a community member
My child did attend this school several years ago. I deal with this school on a daily basis. Some of the teachers are really wonderful. Otherwise one of the WORST schools ! The front office staff in true Dixon style is rude and snobby. Over the years I have seen so very many kids fall through the cracks who don't get enough intervention or help. On several occasions teachers did not even know there was an I.E.P. in place to help a child.

Tremont Elementary School 5

Posted July 27, 2011
- a parent
The staff is amazing, teachers are top notch, curriculum is challenging, student body is diverse, campus is beautiful, and I just can't say enough things about this fantastic school!!!

Tremont Elementary School 5

Posted April 02, 2011
- a parent
My daughter has attended Tremont for the last year, and her teacher is simply amazing. She is very caring, sweet and attentive with all the kids. They just did a kindergarten spring performance and it was a great family night. I would recommend this school to anyone.


Tremont Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2010
- a parent
My daughter started attending Tremont last year when we moved to the area. I love this school and think there is wonderful parent participation. I was welcomed with open arms and feel like I have know the people here forever. The staff and principal are very hands on and know most of the students by name. The teachers welcome and appreciate the time taken to volunteer. We couldn't ask for a better enviornment for our daughter.

Tremont Elementary School 1

Posted August 13, 2010
- a parent
Our family moved to Dixon 3 months into the school year. We literally got "rolled eyes" and "are you kidding me-more students?" looks when we came in to register. This attitude carried on throughout the year. We had very different concerns with each of the 2 children, both of which were not taken seriously and dismissed with comments like: there is no help, there aren't any programs like that, NO, and do it yourself. I know that the budget crisis is a real problem, and the cause of the lack of help for these kids. I was dissappointed when I came in to volunteer in the classroom I was turned away-several times. I don't care if I am picking up trash in the room or gum under desks, I want to see how my child is being taught and treated for 7 hours of the day. Moving schools again;(
1 person found this helpful

Tremont Elementary School 5

Posted May 05, 2010
- a parent
My daughter just transferred into Tremont from Browns Valley Elementary in Vacaville. The level of work preformed at Tremont is about a half a grade level higher than at Browns Valley. The difference is Browns Valley students are coached all year long to pass the STAR testing. This is why Browns Valley posts higher testing scores. The problem with this is Browns Valley students are falling behind. Too much time wasted on test prep. I prefer a more challenging environment for my child and so far Tremont seems to be a good fit. At the end of the day it comes down to you and your child s teacher. Listen you your child, check their homework and class work if its not up to par 'YOU' are not involved enough.


Tremont Elementary School 5

Posted May 06, 2009
- a parent
I am also shocked by the negative reviews of Tremont. Both my children have attended Tremont. One is a senior in high school (who will be attending a very competitive university in the fall) and one is currently in the 5th grade. I love Tremont and couldn't ask for a better elementary school. There has to be story behind their bad reviews.

Tremont Elementary School
no rating

Posted October 21, 2008
- a community member
I provide childcare to many students at this school, however based on what my husband and I have seen, we have chosen to send our children to a private school. I have continually been disapointed in the lack of concern for students who struggle with homework. When concerns of learning disabilities are discussed, they are quickly dismissed. My expierience has been that by the time the teachers identify a disability, it seems to be almost too late! The foundation is gone and by the fourth or fith grade it is frustrating for the student, parent, and caregiver to move on. I feel that the school needs to actively be looking for and helping to correct these disabilities. I would suggest being very assertive and do not take no for an answer if your child is really struggling with homework!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Tremont Elementary School
355 Pheasant Run Drive, Dixon, CA  95620
(707) 693-6320
Last modified Tremont Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades K-6. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Tremont Elementary School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 20 reviews. Top