Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gauldin Elementary School

Public | K-5

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Downey

Situated in an inner city neighborhood. The median home value is $299,800. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,420.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 6, 2010

My son has been going to this school for 2 years. i never had a problem, he's had great teachers that care about thier education. they have a great after school program for workin gparents. I'm satisfied.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2009

I am a student at East Middle School and a volunteer for the after-school fitness club at Gauldin Elementery School. I liked how the kids learn how to stay in shape, volunteer in the city, and learn how to be leaders. Mr. Alex has been an inspiration to the school. He has been an inspiration to the students because he has been involved with them so much and has given his time for free. He is the best teacher I have ever known.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 26, 2009

I do not have a child attending this school, I work for the afterschool program. I must say that the teachers here sacrifice a lot for their students. What this school lacks is parent envolvement. This school is located in the lower income part of the city. There are parents that are dedicated and help their childrent, but I witness more parents that expect their teachers to raise their children. I would say that the staff of Gauldin are great, but many of the teachers are burnt out dealing with children that have behavioral problems and learning disabilties. In order to make this school function to its full potential we need more parent participation,


Posted January 26, 2009

As a father I feel that my son will only do as well as I push him to. I really love the teachers at Gauldin because they sacrifice so much of their time to help me help my son. What I do see at Gauldin are many parents who are quick to point fingers but never commit themselves to working with their kids. My wife and I are so appreciative of Mr. Alex because he has profoundly impacted our son as well as many other students; he is like a second Dad to many kids who come from single households.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2009

I wish I could share the same enthusiam as the parents from the previous posts, and truthfully I do not. I read these posts believing this school would be a great place for my child, as he was transferring from a wonderful K-3 school. It's been nothing but disappointment and academic shortfalls within the classroom. As a parent, I'd like to be involved with my child's progress and work everyday. If there are any problems, or signs of trouble, it's good to know immediately, not near the end of the quarter. In fairness, I will mention that the office staff are tremendously helpful and kind, and the janitor is pretty cool too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2008

My daughters have attended Gauldin for the past 4 years. We love the teachers there because they are so commited to meeting the needs of all students. The after school fitness club led by Mr. Alex has helped my daughters lose weight and change their eating habits. I recommend this school to anyone who wants their children to get a well rounded education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2008

My daughter attended kinder here sept 2007-june 2008... She loved her teacher Mr. Desmond...he was a sub the last half of school. I love this school...they do lots of activites with the kids are are excellent in providing the best education for children. I would recommend this school to everyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 9, 2008

I just love the extracurricular activities at Gauldin. I especially like the after school fitness club because it teaches the kids about healthy eating habits and the importance of being physically fit. Students participate in weekend 5k's and community service events. Mr. Gaytan who voluntarily leads the fitness club is a true inspiration to so many of our kids at Gauldin.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2007

My son has attended Gauldin for five years. We love the teachers and Mrs. Cornair. My son has scored high on all the State's test. I love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2005

I feel the leadership is excellent. I feel they teach the kids at their own pace while staying with the guidelines of the state.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2005

I have been very happy with the teachers that my son has had at Gauldin. Mrs Penga & Mrs. Girardin have helped him learn at a high level. I think that if you get the right teacher, your child will benefit. Lack of teaching credentials and experience at this school can hurt though. I have been fortunate to get good quality teachers and my son scored well in the CAT 6. I do not like that all assembly's are done in both English and Spanish which takes twice the time. Books are awarded as prizes to parents for attending parent nights, sometimes they are only available in Spanish. They do cater to the Spanish speaking citizens.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2005

I think they do a great job. It's a little crowded in the 4th and 5th grade classes. But the teachers are great. They have a wonderful afterschool program called Aspire. They have before school is cool to help with reading.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2004

This is a very good school with a wonderful staff. The teachers at this school are exceptional and truly go out of their way to help a child succeed. Without naming any names, way to go Gauldin!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

The API reflects year-over-year schools performance based on STAR test score results from spring 2013.

This school's
API score

798

Change from
2012 to 2013

+29

API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10


API Growth scores over time

Did this school meet the API goal this year?
The state goal for API is 800. All schools that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met its schoolwide API target for 2013.
  • This school has not yet met the state goal of 800.

API Growth scores by subgroup

In addition to schoolwide API scores, each student subgroup receives an API score.
Did this school meet all the API goals for student subgroups this year?
The state goal for the API is 800. All the student subgroups at a school that are below 800 are assigned an API improvement target each year.
  • This school met all student subgroup API targets for 2013

This school's
API score

798

What is the API?
The Academic Performance Index (API) is a single number assigned to each school by the California Department of Education to measure overall school performance and improvement over time on statewide testing. The API ranges from 200 and 1000, with 800 as the state goal for all schools.
Change from
2012 to 2013

+29

Change from 2012 to 2013
Comparing the API Growth to the Base shows whether or not this school’s test score performance improved between Spring 2011 and Spring 2012. The API ranges between 200 and 1000, with 800 as the statewide goal for all schools. Schools scoring below an 800 are given at least a 5 point target for the next year.
API Statewide Rank
(2012)

3 / 10

API Statewide Rank (2012)
The API Statewide Rank ranges from 1 to 10. A rank of 10, for example, means that the school’s API fell into the top 10% of all schools in the state with a comparable grade range. The 2012 rank is based on results from tests students took in Spring 2012.
API Similar Schools Rank (2012)

4 / 10

API Similar Schools Rank (2012)
The API Similar Schools Rank ranges from 1 to 10. It shows how the school compares to other schools with similar student demographic profiles. The California Department of Education uses parent education level, poverty level, student ethnicity and other data to identify similar schools.
English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 56% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
39%

2010

 
 
36%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

91 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
34%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 46% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
23%

2012

 
 
26%

2011

 
 
28%

2010

 
 
29%
Math

The state average for Math was 66% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
46%

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
56%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 65% in 2013.

102 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
64%

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
66%
Math

The state average for Math was 72% in 2013.

101 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
74%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

The state average for English Language Arts was 60% in 2013.

109 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
54%

2010

 
 
51%
Math

The state average for Math was 65% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
55%

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
29%
Science

The state average for Science was 57% in 2013.

108 students were tested at this school in 2013.

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
39%
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females63%
Males64%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino62%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner53%
Fluent-English proficient and English only72%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate65%
Parent education - high school graduate61%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)55%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students72%
Females63%
Males80%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino72%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability71%
English learner68%
Fluent-English proficient and English only74%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate83%
Parent education - high school graduate67%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)60%
Parent education - college graduate82%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students23%
Females33%
Males15%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino21%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged24%
Non-economically disadvantaged15%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability23%
English learner15%
Fluent-English proficient and English only28%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate25%
Parent education - high school graduate13%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)25%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students46%
Females43%
Males47%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino46%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantaged38%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability48%
English learner45%
Fluent-English proficient and English only46%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate60%
Parent education - high school graduate34%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)43%
Parent education - college graduaten/a
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students64%
Females75%
Males51%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino68%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged66%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability65%
English learner59%
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate53%
Parent education - high school graduate63%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)72%
Parent education - college graduate64%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students77%
Females80%
Males72%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino80%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability78%
English learner73%
Fluent-English proficient and English only77%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate63%
Parent education - high school graduate74%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)80%
Parent education - college graduate93%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

English Language Arts

All Students59%
Females63%
Males55%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino60%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability64%
English learner34%
Fluent-English proficient and English only70%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate54%
Parent education - high school graduate56%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)74%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Math

All Students55%
Females59%
Males50%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino53%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner46%
Fluent-English proficient and English only59%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate46%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)59%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a

Science

All Students57%
Females61%
Males54%
African Americann/a
Asiann/a
Filipinon/a
Hispanic or Latino58%
American Indian or Alaska Nativen/a
Native Hawaiiann/a
Pacific Islandern/a
Samoann/a
Other Pacific Islandern/a
White (not Hispanic)n/a
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged58%
Students with disabilityn/a
Students with no reported disability60%
English learner40%
Fluent-English proficient and English only66%
Migrant educationn/a
Gifted and talentedn/a
Parent education - not a high school graduate58%
Parent education - high school graduate53%
Parent education - some college (includes AA degree)68%
Parent education - college graduate69%
Parent education - graduate school/post graduaten/a
Parent education - declined to staten/a
Scale: % proficient or advanced

About the tests


In 2012-2013 California used the California Standards Tests (CSTs) to test students in English language arts in grades 2 through 11; math in grades 2 through 7; science in grades 5, 8 and 10; and history-social science in grades 8 and 11. Middle and high school students also took subject-specific CSTs in math and science, depending on the course in which they were enrolled. The CSTs are standards-based tests, which means they measure how well students are mastering specific skills defined for each grade by the state of California. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficient on the tests.

The different student groups are identified by the California Department of Education; if there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group in a school, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: California Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2012-2013 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 86% 52%
White 6% 26%
Black 5% 6%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 11%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 88%N/A54%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Teacher experience

  This school District averageState average
First-year teachers 0%N/AN/A
Source: CRDC, 2011-2012

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School Leader's name
  • Dolores Goble
Fax number
  • (562) 469-7130

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9724 Spry Street
Downey, CA 90242
Phone: (562) 904-3582

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






St. Dominic Savio
Bellflower, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT