Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
7-8
Public
Duarte, CA
Students enrolled: 586
Before care: No
After care: Yes

3 stars
Based on 24 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


25 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Northview Intermediate School 4

Posted August 19, 2014
- a community member
This school is well organized and is a blast for the students and because of this, the test scores are low and pretty much the students run the school and can really get out of hand. Dances and other events can get inappropriate while this schools rewards the students with 2 breaks. The education is above average and that's great. Overall it's a average place for the average student.

Northview Intermediate School 5

Posted February 03, 2014
- a parent
Northview has been a pleasant surprise. After hearing so much negativity before we came here I can only think that the people who are complaining have never set foot on campus. The new cafeteria and locker rooms are beautiful. The teachers are engaged and the principal and office staff are very helpful and approachable. There are great extra curricular activities and I feel the kids are challenged and held accountable for their actions. All in all it has been great so far!


Northview Intermediate School 5

Posted August 27, 2013
- a parent
NORTHVIEW is the best kept secret in the San Gabriel Valley. The principal, teachers, staff & PTSA are all welcoming, friendly & dedicated. It has just as many programs to offer as schools twice its size. It's small enough so everyone knows everyone, like a family. The kids enjoy going to school instead of dreading it. The new campus is beautiful with a new cafeteria & new gym locker rooms, I don't know what else parents could ask for.

Northview Intermediate School 5

Posted May 16, 2013
- a parent
Northview has continued to raise the academic bar for students regarding test scores and homework accountability. The infraction system that has been implemented by the administration and teachers has worked to the advantage of the student by making the student accountable for their actions. With each infraction received by a student that doesn't follow the rules, they are less likely to partake in school activities which are granted towards students that strive to achieve academically, and with social consideration towards others. As a parent I've watched this system have a tremendous in-pack on not only students but parents as well. It is this accountability system that I believe has worked to Northview's advantage by way of higher test scores and API Test scores. I believe that with a little more time Northview will continue to grow becoming more academically competitive with the other intermediate schools around their area.

Northview Intermediate School 4

Posted February 28, 2012
- a parent
My five children have attended Northview and I must say that the school in the last 5 years has dramatically changed for the GOOD! The administration is fabulous, especially as they now have a principal devoted to ONE school. The teachers truly care that they provide the best foundation for the soon-to-come high school and college years. The infraction program (discipline) is designed to create responsible, productive, self-aware individuals. I can't say enough of the extra-curricular activities...debate team, sports program, mathletes, builders club, link crew- the list goes on. Thank you Northview, for providing an ethical, moral AND ethnically diverse beginning for our future adults.


Northview Intermediate School 5

Posted February 27, 2012
- a parent
Northview is a great school. The teachers work really hard to engage the students and are always willing to sit down with parents. Teachers participate in after school activities and many of the staff will respond to email or phone calls after hours. They have great programs for the students, all you have to do is ask. The parents who get involved (not nearly enough) are 100% behind the staff and do a lot to bring their kids and the rest of the student body a lot of great opportunities. Their test scores are so much better than this site would leave you to believe.

Northview Intermediate School 3

Posted September 08, 2009
- a student
I think that this school is heading in a new dirrection a better one.The test scores arent so good but that could depend on the student.I was a student and noticed that many of the did not care about their class work but more about the social aspect.I personaly did really good at this school and many of my friends did too its all a matter of the student.I had friends who had parents who would let them get away with D's and F's if your student does go here make sure to be strict with their grades.

Northview Intermediate School 1

Posted August 29, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Northview Intermediate School 4

Posted April 21, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Northview Intermediate School 1

Posted March 22, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Ask a question

Find out information and contribute your experiences, so parents can learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Northview Intermediate School
1401 Highland, Duarte, CA  91010
(626) 599-5600
Last modified Northview Intermediate School is a Public school that serves grades 7-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Northview Intermediate School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 25 reviews. Top