Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-8|Private
140 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
21 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (2 responses)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 35 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Foothill Oaks Academy 5

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Our daughter has been attending FOA since 1st grade and the growth we have witnessed in her academics and personal growth are astounding. The small class sizes, attentive teachers and challenging curriculum have brought out the very best in her. The school programs nurture the relationships between the older and younger students which helps create an empathy and bond among the student body that you will not find anywhere else. The science, math and language classes really challenge the kids and seem to be producing confident critical thinkers.

Foothill Oaks Academy
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
All the elementary teachers are such great teachers. As well as the middle school art, music, math and language teachers that teach them as well. I thank them all.


Foothill Oaks Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
The teachers are hard working and truly dedicated to these students. I am on campus very often and witness how hard they work and how attentive to the kids they are.

Foothill Oaks Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
I think the homework load is too heavy in 2nd and 3rd grade, but seemed more reasonable in 4th and 5th.

Foothill Oaks Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
When my daughter struggled with math, her teacher helped her build her confidence to achieve the A she so badly worked for.


Foothill Oaks Academy
Develops respect: Neutral

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
Although better than most schools, I would still like to see more respectful greeting of adults on campus by the student body. The younger kids are better than the older kids.

Foothill Oaks Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
The "Buddy" program in elementary school, helps create a bond between older and younger students that helps create a closeness that you don't see in public schools. It also helps the older students understand how their behavior can set an example for the younger kids that look up to them.

Foothill Oaks Academy
Develops honesty: Agree

Posted May 05, 2016
- a parent
As with any school, there are behavioral challenges addressed everyday. I think the administration does their best to handle things appropriately in this challenging politically correct society.


Foothill Oaks Academy 5

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
The small class size allows great student-to-teacher interaction and attention. The environment enables kids to grow and blossom to their full potential.

Foothill Oaks Academy 5

Posted January 12, 2015
- a parent
We have 3 sons, two of which are still at FOA, and the oldest (14) is at La Salle High School in Sierra Madre. We are so pleased with how prepared our oldest son was for high school - not only did he test into multiple honors classes, he earned straight A's his first report card in high school! Needless to say, we are thrilled with how well FOA prepared him for high school and highly recommend this school. There is a definite benefit to small classes and a serious curriculum.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Foothill Oaks Academy
822 Bradbourne Avenue, Duarte, CA  91010
Rating: 5 out of 5 based on 35 reviews. (626) 301-9809
Last modified Foothill Oaks Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Top