Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Quarry Lane School

Private | K-12 | 850 students

We are best known for accelerated curriculum.
 
 

 
 

Living in Dublin

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $425,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,980.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

School Official Point of View

Posted March 25, 2014

Greatschools.org is a wonderful place to post a review about a school. I love checking out reviews myself. I know, however, when I am investigating even something as trivial as a new restaurant, to take each review with a grain of salt. It seems that most people who post a review either love or are really dissatisfied with the business they re reviewing. Few people feel compelled to comment when they simply have a satisfying and fulfilling experience. It s the extremes that give folks the urge to post, especially on a website that protects their anonymity. We want everyone to have a fantastic experience at our school and are proud of our commitment to meeting the emotional and educational needs of our students to encourage further social and academic exploration. If a student or parent doesn t have the experience he or she expected we want to make it better, but we can only do so if you take advantage of our open dialogue and let us know. We realize that Quarry Lane isn t for everyone and that families have other choices. We are, however, just right for our 850 families who continue to re-enroll year after year. Additionally, we ve gotten great accolades from Bay Area Parent Magazine readers who voted our School the Best in the East Bay for several consecutive years. This magazine has a readership of over 130,000 in the East Bay and almost 8,000 ballots are completed for the Best of Bay Edition. Please visit our website at www.quarrylane.org and see the news feed that has an updated list of where our students have been accepted to college, a great measure of success. Feel free to contact me any time for any questions you might have. Casey Johnston, Director of Admissions, The Quarry Lane School, cjohnston@quarrylane.org.

44 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

I totally agree. Mrs. Brown was a great teacher for my daughter. So was Mr. Chow, the math enrichment and engineering teacher. Where else could you find a school where 4th graders get to take an engineering class? My daughter learned to solve problems because she needed to finish a project, not to finish a worksheet. The "special" classes like music, computers, and engineering really set this school apart from anything else out there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 25, 2014

My daughter is in 4th grade and we absolutely love her teacher, Mrs. Brown. My daughter has grown both academically and socially this year due to Mrs. Brown's teaching methods. She teaches the students to be critical thinkers instead of just memorizing facts. The music teacher and computer teacher are also great teachers and wonderful people. My child really feels safe and respected. As long as you don't need to deal with the authoritarian elementary principal, this is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 17, 2014

We have two kids at Quarry Lane School (5th and 9th) and we couldn't be happier that we made this school selection. We've been impressed by the staff professionalism, the dedicated teachers and challenging curriculum. My kids are not only challenged out of their comfort zones but enjoy regular and extracurricular offerings that explore and discover their strengths and passions outside the classroom. Additionally, my kids are now excited about Engineering and Robotics, when in the past they used to say math was just too hard. I credit this to the school s focus on teaching kids to solve real-world problems instead of textbook equations. Quarry Lane is also the only private school in the East Bay that offers the International Baccalaureate program, which I d like my children to enroll when they're older. The program focuses on critical thinking and knowledge application, while also encouraging international mindedness, a must have skill for any career in our global world. If you're looking for a stellar, highly-trained staff; challenging curriculum and small school environment, don't enroll your child anywhere else until you check out Quarry Lane.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2014

My experience at Quarry Lane School has been positive to varied. My child attended since elementary school and the programs with overall teacher/student ratio and educational/learning rate were very promising. The more experienced teaching staff were very good. My child had an advanced level of comprehension relative to other children in our neighborhood who attend public schools. However since the 3rd grade I have become concerned with a constantly changing/international student body. My child had many friends leave to return to their home country or leave for public school, and as parents we are very concerned about the lack of stability/sustainable friendships. We considered moving our child into their middle school but yet another year of more friends leaving and confirming that the graduating high school class was less than 15 local students and roughly the same number of foreign students, we opted to move to a public school. The move for my child has been very positive; along with having several advance placement classes that continue to provide a challenging learning environment there are also dozens of new friends that will now stay on through high school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 25, 2012

Love this school! My daughter learned so much and received the highest eduction we could ask for. So worth it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 7, 2012

Choosing a school can be one of the most challenging yet important decisions a parent can make. After meeting with the staff and teachers at QLS I knew I had made the correct choice by sending my daughter there for high school. The school offers a full range of honors courses, AP courses and the opportunity for an IB diploma. I believe Quarry Lane s focus on individual students needs, passionate, knowledgeable teachers and invested, professional administrators make THIS private high school worth every dollar spent on tuition.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 26, 2012

As a parent at Quarry Lane School, I can attribute the well balanced experience my children have received to the school administration and faculty. I want the best for my children and consider private school as the best way to invest in my children's future. I chose Quarry Lane School for the International Baccalaureate Program they offer. My kids are a step ahead of their neighborhood friends that attend public school and feel confident in my investment at Quarry Lane!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 9, 2012

We had to move my second grader from another school midyear. Quarry Lane made this potentially stressful and difficult transition extremely smooth for us. I am impressed with their curriculum and professionalism of school administration. There is a very clear communication from school to parents and I feel that our daughter has very clear rules and expectations from her teachers. She is being academically challenged and the structured environment helps her stay focused. I regret not putting my child into Quarry Lane earlier and instead selecting another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2011

As a non-teaching member of the Quarry Lane administrative team, I definitely have a unique outside-insider perspective. While I am a part of the everyday happenings of the school, my interaction with students is more sporadic. That being said, I am continually impressed with the overall level of respect that I see at this school. The students are completely open and are extremely friendly. I have encountered numerous students at both the lower school and upper school levels who look me in the eye and greet me, even just in passing. The teachers are enthusiastic about their work and truly thrive on their students progress. There is a definite sense of community that resonates throughout the school. I am truly proud to be a member of that community.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted July 30, 2011

I have a 3 year old in preschool and 5 year old in kindergarten - and they excelled academically! I think QLS is a great school - the kids are excited to learn and they make good friends. The teachers/staff listen to both the kids and the parents - and they really to want children to succeed. I would definitely recommend this school for bright, motivated kids and parents looking to give their children the best start possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 19, 2011

Our decision to switch from the Pleasanton public school track to QL was the best decision we've made for our daughter. She began at QL in middle school and will be entering 9th grade this coming school-year. When she began at QL, she was already 1 year behind the QL elementary school students in certain academic areas...especially math. She was floundering in Pleasanton elementary school and was also bullied substantially. At QL she has thrived academically and in self-confidence. The teachers, principal, and headmaster make extra efforts to know each student very well and help shape them to succeed. The Co-Directors of the Upper School, Ms. Paz-Rumore, and Dr. Tom Keating, are nothing short of phenomenal. And the Founder/Headmaster, Dr. Arac always has the students uppermost in mind as he steers his magnificent school into the future. This school is all about "applied learning" where mere knowledge gained from a textbook is not enough. Further, in addition to the AP classes, QL is the only private school in the East Bay that offers an International Baccalaureate (IB) program which will provide motivated students with an extra edge. Google IB to learn more. Thank you QL!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 6, 2011

Quarry Lane has the most well rounded program in the bay area. The curriculum is rigorous but interesting. The students have passion for what they re learning due to the expertise and enthusiasm of the teachers and administrators. I cannot believe some of the high level thinking my lower school student is doing! She has developed great communication skills too. The students at Quarry Lane aren t pushed to achieve by teachers and administrators. They move at their own pace but are consistently challenged. It s not just about test scores at Quarry Lane. While they teach at a gifted and talented level, they support students to get there. Many enrichment opportunities are also available. My child can develop creativity and showcase her writing, performing, and leadership skills. She can solve real world problems using the critical thinking skills she has developed at Quarry Lane. They provide a full education. The results prove it. Take a look at what the kids at Quarry Lane are doing. They aren t academic robots like students in other private schools. QLS kids are super stars!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 2, 2011

My son has been attending Quarry Lane for 3 years now. Preschool and Kindergarten were great experiences for him and us (as parents). We chose this school after being underwhelmed by Carden West. As time goes on, however, I have learned that Quarry Lane seems to be more concerned with making money and receiving the next accrediation rather than truly meeting the needs of each student. I completely agree with another post that states to look for other options from middle school and beyond. Even other parents in my son's class are looking to other schools for that time period. We are considering other options even for 2nd grade. Our son has excelled in all subjects up to this point, but his confidence is being crushed by his current teacher (and yes, we have addressed this concern on multiple occasions with his teacher and the lower school director to no avail). The fact that our son has gone from loving to not at all liking some of his subjects has us very concerned. He's in first grade and we think that the teachers should be making sure every child has a positive learning experience rather than pushing the student to over achieve for testing score purposes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2011

My daughter is attending the Pleasanton campus for Preschool and we are very happy with Quarry Lane! The school is very clean, the teachers are great and the classrooms are cheerful! I would recommend the school without reservation! As for the comments about it being a business; of course it's a business! Every school is, public or private! If you want a high level education for your child it is going to cost you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2010

I have been a parent at the Quarry Lane School for 7 years. My children began in the preschool programs and have continued thorugh the elementary and now are currently attend teh middle school program. Quarry Lane is more than a school to my family, it is their home away from home. The faculty makes such an effort to connect to each child individualizing thier experience. My children are very different in terms of performance in the classroom and both have been able to flourish in the Quarry Lane environment The acess to administration and their true dedication to the students is demonstrated in the classroom and thorugh the community events. The school is growing and there are changes, all positive. Every new faculty memebr brings a different educational and life experience to the community and the influx of new , motivated, and diverse students makes lunch time an education for your child i and of itself. Quarry Lane is an amazing place where my children have been led through their education with kindness, support, opportunities and passion. the vision of teh school is clear and once you join this community you will become part of that vision.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2010

It is interesting that reviews on Greatschools are bi-modal, love it or hate it. I guess "just satisfied" people do not write reviews. I am only familiar with the elementary school. In any case, I have been underwhelmed by our experience at Quarry Lane. This is truly a for-profit organization. It's hit or miss if you have a good teacher, leaving me with the impression that overall school procedures and standards are not well developed. There is strong evidence that the owner is a businessman, not an educator. Giving Quarry 2 stars might seem harsh, but I want to send an effective warning flag to other parents. Certainly if you are considering middle school and above, do not waste much time investigating Quarry; there are better options. I can't argue with parents who give this school 5 stars. Their teachers might be different, and the individual class environment for their children might be good. But it's possible that these parents and children would be better satisfied at a different school, we might never know.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2010

This is our families fourth year at Quarry Lane and we could not be happier. The teachers have been excellent-each year my child has been inspired to do her very best. The teachers expectation for behavior, academics and social interaction are always clear and consistent. The Lower School Director is truly invested in making the environment at this school positive and supportive of all students. Her goal of making sure that the best and the brightest teachers are employed has resulted in a staff that is dedicated to making the school great. The owners vision for creating an outstanding educational institution that will give students the ability to attend the college of their choice, is now a reality. He worked hard to build a K-12th campus and continues to seek the best teachers to offer the most opportunities to students-recently adding the IB program at the High School.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2010

As an involved parent at Quarry Lane School I can tell you first hand the dedication the administration and staff have for my children. They started as infants and are now in the elementary program. I pay the price literally, because I see results each year. As a type A personality I visited many schools before deciding on QLS. Montessori just wasn t my thing, I prefer a more traditional setting with teacher direction and group learning. I am not in to the faith based curriculum the local church schools offer. My only other choice was Carden West, but they didn t offer me the K-12 program Quarry does. Carden s class sizes drop dramatically in the elementary program, which makes me worry about their stability. I am proud of the progress my children have made and can t wait until they join the list of top universities the graduates of QLS attend.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 20, 2010

Quarry Lane Elementary School has been a great disapointment. They have a very high teacher turnover rate due to the difficulty to work with their Headmaster (owner of school). The school is more interested in quantity (tuition money) and not the "quality" of education. Their elective classes are hard to measure and are not frequent. The environment of the school is sterile and cold and the teachers are often not qualified.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 1, 2009

I am a parent of a Kindergarten student at QLS Dublin. I am very happy with the well-rounded curriculum at Quarry Lane. My son went from being unhappy, bored and unsure at school to being confident, independent and eager to learn. He is genuinely happy. The only reason I gave the school 3 stars instead of 5 is that the number of early dismissal/school's-out days seem to model those of public schools, which is A LOT. This poses major logistical difficulty to working parents with demanding jobs, and it is hard to rationalize considering the high tuition. Challenger has the competitive advantage here since it hardly has any dismissal/school's-out days when most companies are open. I really hope I don't have to make a switch, but since my job determines whether or not I can pay tuition, I might have to face that decision next year.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 40% 11%
White 40% 26%
Black 10% 6%
Hispanic 10% 52%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school The Quarry Lane Preschool
Colleges most students attend after graduation Harvard
Columbia
Stanford
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Dance teacher(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
German
Italian
Korean
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Best of the Best by Bay Area Parents Magazine (2011)
  • Best of the Best by Bay Area Parents Magazine (2012)
  • Best of the Best by Bay Area Parents Magazine (2013)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • National Honors Society (2013)
  • California Scholarship Federation (2013)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Rock band
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Dance club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
Clubs
  • Yoga club

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school
  • After school
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Sabri Arac
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • Infant
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NIPSA
Fax number
  • (925) 846-9495

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Advanced placement courses
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • International Baccalaureate (IB)
  • STEM
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Intensive - the school offers a full program for many languages and/or offers at least one very comprehensive program school-wide for at least 25% of our population

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • German
  • Italian
  • Korean
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
  • Tutoring
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • Community college courses
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • School-sponsored trips to college campuses
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Futsal
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Badminton
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Futsal
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Rock band
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Dance club
  • Debate
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Math club
  • Model UN
  • Model congress
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
  • Yoga club
School leaders can update this information here.

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Join PTO/PTA
More from this school
  • The Quarry Lane School is fully accredited by The National Independent Private Schools Association (NIPSA), The Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC), and an IB World School and prides itself on its outstanding faculty and staff. Our teachers have excellent educational backgrounds and experience. They are dedicated to the needs of the students both academically and emotionally and bring valuable experience to our school. We enjoy working with parents and welcome their involvement.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?

Students typically come from these schools
The Quarry Lane Preschool

What does it cost?

Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Harvard
Columbia
Stanford
College preparation / awareness offered
College prep programs/courses during the year
College presentations or information sessions
Community college courses
SAT/ACT prep classes
Summer college prep programs
School-sponsored trips to college campuses
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6363 Tassajara Road
Dublin, CA 94568
Website: Click here
Phone: (925) 829-8000

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Hacienda School
Pleasanton, CA


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT