Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Philip Lutheran School

Private | PK-8 | 150 students

Our school is best known for it's nurturing staff and great curriculum!
 
 

 

Living in Dublin

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $425,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,980.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 13 ratings
2013:
Based on 6 ratings
2012:
Based on 3 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

33 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 18, 2012

I highly recommend St Philip School. I'd suggest you make an appointment to come visit and interview the teachers and students. Come and observe for yourself. Our family has attended St Philip elementary school for two years so far. The teachers are so amazing. One of many great things about this school is parents get feedback from the teachers not only on the students' ongoing test results and progress, their strengths, and their behaviors, but also areas needed improvements on. They find ways to deliver lessons effectively and creatively. When the students already meet and exceed the state and school expectation, the teachers challenge the students to the higher levels. The students like it because they are proud of themselves. I believe that a good learning starts from early years of school. Better build a strong learning foundation so the kids don't get lost or discouraged with education. The school principal is always on top of things. Our family is returning to this school next year. We're also coming to the summer sessions. We hope you'd consider joining SPLS community. It's all about kids and their future.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 13, 2012

St Philip is absolutely the best school for educating my child! We started at St Philip because of their preschool. Then when my daughter was going into kindergarten, we stayed at St Philip because of the full-day kindergarten program. So then she went to public school for first grade. That was a full day class and we thought, "First grade is first grade--what's the difference?" Well, let me tell you, there is a difference! We thought maybe our daughter was ahead of the class because she had a great kindergarten experience at St Philip. But then we realized that everything that they were learning in public first grade was a repeat of what she learned in kindergarten at SPLS. So we went back to St Philip for second grade. Now she was behind. But the caring, nurturing teachers there helped bring her up to speed. The small class size lets them get individual attention! They also have combined classes there so the 8th graders are leaders and role models for the 7th graders, and so on. So now my girl is ready for middle school. We had thought that this might be the right time to transition into a larger public school environment, but NO WAY! She wants to stay at St Philip. Me too.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 12, 2010

St. Philip Lutheran School is an outstanding school. Besides an unmatched focus on values, personal responsibility, and religion -- SPLS educates kids to a higher standard. The teacher to student ratio is low and the core knowledge curriculum leads to greater comprehension in a well-rounded variety of subjects. Children are very engaged in school activities, and, due to the small class size, are encouraged to excel to their personal limits. Homework is significant but good, and parental involvement is expected/encouraged. St. Philip Lutheran School is a great place to send your kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2010

My daughter has gone to St. Philip for 3 years now, pre-school thru first grade and next year my son will start in their pre-school program. I cannot give enough praise to the teachers and staff at this school. The class size is extremely small which guarantees fabulous one on one time. Each child is praised for their successes. My child is reading so well, better, faster and with more expression than most 3rd graders I know that attend public schools. They have a great spanish program and offer a lot of extra curricular activities for a small private school. The children start every morning with prayer and the atmosphere is so loving and kind. I recomend every one to check this school out before opting to the larger Valley Christian or St. Raymonds that tend to pull in the larger crowds. You wont regret it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2010

St. Philip has been a blessing to our family. Our child has grown as a person and as a student. The teachers are loving and concerned about the student as a whole. The smaller class sizes help to assure that our child is getting the attention and help he needs every day. Excellent choice for any child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 29, 2009

I am very sorry for the most recent review. It is my opinion, as an educator, that St. Philip offers an excellent Christian education with high academic standards. Yes, growth is coming! My wife, my children, and I look forward to the bright future!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2009

The class size is very small at the school which is nice. Unfortunately we found that once we changed to public school our children had a very difficult time catching up on the learning to be equal with public standards. We heard the same thing from other parents whose children attended the school. I also found alot of gossip and that the staff didn't demonstrate guiding Christian principles when working with our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 21, 2008

We love the smaller class sizes in this school. It is a tremendous advantage for the students. They truly get the attention they need in order to grow academicly.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2008

Prior to coming to St. Philip I had taught in several other schools in CA. I am so impressed with this school. The staff is dedicated to their students and to one another. Each day is begun in prayer and encouragement. Families and students alike are spoken of with respect and care which is a wonderful environment to work in. I am encouraged at every level to grow and continue my education. I wouldn't want to teach anywhere else.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted February 18, 2008

St. Philip School has exceeded my expectations as a school to develop the two most important people in my life. My two daughters, who are vastly different from one another, and having different needs, are both excelling at St. Philip School in academics and social atmospheres. The school's challenging curriculum has helped my youngest daughter, who is currently in kindergarten and only attended preschool for a few months, to read at the 1st grade level. My oldest daughter to delevop her creativity, which academically is her strong suite. Both my daughters have developed great friendships at the school and also an understanding of the importance of helping one another. School projects such as conducting charity drives for the needy are developing my children to be the leaders of tomorrow. I would definitely recommend St. Philip School to any parent who wants the best for their
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 17, 2008

Our daughter attended a public school before she began attending St. Philip. The academic standards of St. Philip are well above what we experienced in the public school system. Both her reading and mathematical abilities are substantially ahead of the typical child at her grade level. Our daughter is not only maturing nicely academically but also socially thanks to St. Philip's nuturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2008

My daughter is doing very well because of the small class size and the caring staff. Execellent English, science, Spanish and social studies programs. She has been there since preschool. Private piano or singing lessons available at school. My daughter is a well rounded student that loves learning because of her education at St. Philip.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 28, 2007

This is my childs second year attending this school. He has made tremendous growth academically and socaially due to the caring staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 26%
Hispanic 11% 52%
Black 6% 6%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 1%
Two or more races 0% 3%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • WASC (2012)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
Clubs
  • Recycling club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen

Gifted & talented

Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Trudy Packard
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Lutheran Church (Missouri Synod)
Associations
  • WASC
Fax number
  • (925) 829-6672

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • I-20 school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • American sign language
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
  • Remediation
Transportation options
  • None
School facilities
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Recycling club
  • Student council/government
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Call us for a personal tour and to schedule a day for your child to "shadow" at SPLS.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


9 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
140
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
150

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $7000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Outside scholarships

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Valley Christian High School
Public High School
DeLaSalle
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

8850 Davona Dr
Dublin, CA 94568
Website: Click here
Phone: (925) 829-3857

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools




St. Raymond
Dublin, CA




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT